Estleman, Loren D

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Indigo

Fans of Estleman and this series (Brazen) will enjoy the wealth of film detail that fills out the story without weighing it down. Classic noir tropes are deployed in a modern-day Hollywood with levels of glitz and power that Spade and Marlowe never imagined. [See Prepub Alert, 10/21/19.]
PREMIUM

The Ballad of Black Bart

This low-key tale of a legendary outlaw and his pursuer will delight the author's fans as well as readers who fancy Westerns about notorious figures of the Old West.
PREMIUM

Nearly Nero: The Adventures of Claudius Lyon, the Man Who Would Be Wolfe

This title should appeal to Rex Stout admirers, but new readers might also be led to the canon by these light crime stories solved with good humor.
PREMIUM

Brazen: A Valentino Mystery

UCLA film archivist Valentino is good friends with Beata Limerick, who left Hollywood because of the curse on blonde actresses who tragically died young...
PREMIUM

Detroit Is Our Beat: Tales of the Four Horsemen

An engaging look at World War II Detroit and the men who were left to safeguard it while others fought overseas. Estleman's marvelous collection showcases his knowledge of this gutsy city, both past and present, that is guaranteed to please crime noir fans as well as history buffs. The "Recommended Sources" section at the end is a bonus that is worth a read and clearly demonstrates the author's dedication to his subject.
PREMIUM

Don't Look for Me: An Amos Walker Novel

The winner of the 2013 Lifetime Achievement Award from the Private Eye Writers of America isn't resting on his laurels...
PREMIUM

The Confessions of Al Capone

A tense and thoughtful historical thriller, recommended for all fans of crime fiction and historical novels. [Previewed in Kristi Chadwick's "Following the Digital Clues: Mystery Genre Spotlight," LJ 4/15/13.—Ed.]
PREMIUM

Alive!: A Valentino Mystery

The UCLA-based film detective series, now at number three (after Alone) packs an impressive amount of film history into a tidy amateur sleuth entry. Leisurely paced and impressively researched, this is just the ticket for film buffs. [See Prepub Alert, 11/04/12.]
PREMIUM

Infernal Angels

While this mystery can be read as a stand-alone, it is more enjoyable when the reader is familiar with the cast of characters from past adventures. Gritty and full of depressing facts about an American city that has seen better days, this would strongly appeal to fans of Raymond Chandler, Ross MacDonald, and other authors of hard-boiled detective fiction.

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.