Erin Shea

19 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Essential Titles for Supporting Patrons Who are Grieving | Collection Development

PREMIUM

Braver Than You Think: Around the World on the Trip of My (Mother’s) Lifetime

Part travelog, part grief memoir, this is for readers who want to experience the thrill of solo travel as experienced by someone slowly losing a parent. 

The Fixed Stars

An essential addition that will resonate with fans of Wizenberg’s earlier memoirs and anyone probing the complicated ways that sexuality and traditional family life overlap or diverge.

Wild Game: My Mother, Her Lover, and Me

Brodeur’s story explores the bond between mother and daughter and the ripple effect a family secret can have when passed among generations. Highly recommended.

PREMIUM

Blood: A Memoir

Fans of Moorer or Shelby Lynne’s music will recognize this story from their country songs. Recommended for libraries where country musicians’ biographies are popular.

PREMIUM

Nice Try: Stories of Best Intentions and Mixed Results

Fans of Gondelman will find these stories delightful, and readers unfamiliar with his comedy will still discover a connection to a nice guy making a nice try.

Once More We Saw Stars: A Memoir

After suffering an unimaginable loss, the author's ability to pursue fatherhood again while still honoring the daughter he lost is a testament to the resilience of the human spirit and its capacity to love. Heartbreaking and inspiring. [Prepub, 11/26/18]
PREMIUM

Joy Enough: A Memoir

Even though McColl's story fits neatly into the genre of "grief memoir," it is utterly hopeful. An unforgettable debut.
PREMIUM

All You Can Ever Know

This touching memoir explores issues of identity, racism, motherhood, and sisterhood with eloquence and grace. Highly recommended.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?