Elizabeth Masterson

23 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Outré

Wilson’s (Natural Complexions) latest is a wild, surreal modern trip down the rabbit hole. Anyone who enjoys stream-of-consciousness stories, as well as fans of artists Salvador Dalí and René Magritte, will enjoy this hallucinatory dreamscape. Modern cultural elements are supernaturally twisted, while the movie industry is satirized. Logophiles will love the imaginative uses of obscure words.
PREMIUM

Prodigal Son

Fans of Tom Clancy or Lee Child will love this latest installment of the “Orphan X” series by Hurwitz (“Tim Rackley” series), which offers twists and turns, danger and adrenaline, and gadgetry worthy of James Bond. There is an underlying examination of the meaning of family that lends extra depth to the book.
PREMIUM

Set My Heart to Five

Stephenson’s (Let Not the Waves of the Sea) novel will appeal to fans of Philip K. Dick or Isaac Asimov. Through frequent allusions to movies and novels, the story is also made accessible to almost anyone who enjoys romance, intrigue, or outsider tales.

Spellbreaker

Those who enjoy gentle romance, cozy mysteries, or Victorian fantasy will love this first half of a duology. The cliffhanger ending will keep readers breathless waiting for the second half.

If It Bleeds

Longtime readers and new King fans alike will love the fresh tales in this wonderful collection. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/19.]
PREMIUM

Bryant & May: The Lonely Hour

Fowler’s 17th installment in the series (following Hall of Mirrors) has all the idiosyncrasies and dark humor of its predecessors but stands alone well. Perfect for fans of police procedurals with nontraditional, especially older, detectives.
PREMIUM

Alphabet Squadron

Freed (Rogue One; Battlefront Twilight Company) offers a traditional “Star Wars” story told from the point of view of the five recruits and a couple of Imperial holdouts. Fans of the political intrigue, pitched space battles, and interpersonal humor of the original movie trilogy will rush to consume this first of a new trilogy.
PREMIUM

The Widening Gyre

Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series.
PREMIUM

We Are Mayhem

Virtuous but flawed characters who take on enormous, hopeless odds feature in this story that is perfect for anyone who enjoys "Star Wars" and quests of good vs. evil told in scenes alternating between quiet moments and pitched battles.—Elizabeth Masterson, Mecklenburg Cty. Jail Lib., Charlotte, NC
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?