Elizabeth Masterson

19 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

If It Bleeds

Longtime readers and new King fans alike will love the fresh tales in this wonderful collection. [See Prepub Alert, 10/28/19.]
PREMIUM

Bryant & May: The Lonely Hour

Fowler’s 17th installment in the series (following Hall of Mirrors) has all the idiosyncrasies and dark humor of its predecessors but stands alone well. Perfect for fans of police procedurals with nontraditional, especially older, detectives.
PREMIUM

Alphabet Squadron

Freed (Rogue One; Battlefront Twilight Company) offers a traditional “Star Wars” story told from the point of view of the five recruits and a couple of Imperial holdouts. Fans of the political intrigue, pitched space battles, and interpersonal humor of the original movie trilogy will rush to consume this first of a new trilogy.
PREMIUM

The Widening Gyre

Fans of David Weber or Elizabeth Moon will enjoy this debut, and experienced sf readers will catch some winks at other series.
PREMIUM

We Are Mayhem

Virtuous but flawed characters who take on enormous, hopeless odds feature in this story that is perfect for anyone who enjoys "Star Wars" and quests of good vs. evil told in scenes alternating between quiet moments and pitched battles.—Elizabeth Masterson, Mecklenburg Cty. Jail Lib., Charlotte, NC
PREMIUM

Warning Light

Readers of le Carré, Ludlum, Len Deighton, and other authors of Cold War-era espionage thrillers will enjoy this action-packed adventure.
PREMIUM

The Saint of Wolves and Butchers

Fans of Jack Higgins, Lee Child's Jack Reacher, and early Dean Koontz will enjoy this, as will anyone who appreciates mysterious stranger stories.[See Prepub Alert, 10/22/17; "Editors' Spring Picks," LJ 2/1/18.]
PREMIUM

Zero Day

Apocalyptic novels usually follow a pattern, and this one is no exception. All the elements are here. There are enough twists to keep it interesting, and fans of the genre and followers of the trilogy will love it. [See Prepub Alert, 8/28/17.]
PREMIUM

Killer Choice

Although the protagonist falls just short of being sympathetic, the story moves along rapidly. Fans of Harlan Coben or Mary Kubica will want to add this promising author to their lineup of favorites. [See Prepub Alert, 7/24/17.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month