Elizabeth Gabriel

4 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

This stunning romance tackles important topics, such as living with disability and surviving emotional abuse, without ever getting bogged down in despair. Hibbert’s prose sparkles, and the heat is high, making this new series launch, the author’s first with a mainstream publisher, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey’s “Hot & Hammered” series or Helen Hoang’s The Kiss Quotient. Hibbert’s extensive self-published backlist, especially the “Ravenswood” series, can fill demand while readers wait for her next “Brown Sisters” book.
PREMIUM

Bound in Flame

More of a coming-of-age tale than a romance, this debut’s lush early 1900s Hawaiian setting fails to overcome a meandering story full of details but lacking in focus. Magic is used as a convenient plot device to prop up a heroine of color who deserves to be extraordinary in her own right. Issues of racism, colonialism, and sexism are handled clumsily. Not recommended
PREMIUM

The Rogue To Ruin

This third and final book in the series (after Ten Kisses to Scandal) is filled with delicious, fiery dialog between Ainsley and Reed, making readers who enjoy smart and witty historicals such as Tessa Dare’s “Spindle Cove” series long for that first kiss and our enemies-to-lovers’ happily ever after. This makes up for some of the secondary characters and plot points that occasionally fall a bit flat comparatively, resulting in a satisfying conclusion to a clever and engaging series.

Dalliances & Devotion

Much like the author’s debut novel, Appetites and Vices, this romance does not shy away from the prejudices and hurdles Amalia, a Jewish American citizen, and David, a Russian Jewish immigrant, face in 1870s America, making this an important addition to the historical romance canon. Fans of Joanna Shupe’s Gilded Age “Four Hundred” series will fall in love with the flawed Amalia, who bravely takes charge of her own life. Highly recommended.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month