Elizabeth Gabriel

9 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Who Wants To Marry a Duke

Olivia’s scientific gifts will draw in and delight fans of bluestocking romances, such as Tessa Dare’s A Week To Be Wicked, still this classic Regency series will be most appreciated if read in order.
PREMIUM

Party of Two

Guillory’s latest in the “Wedding Date” series (after Royal Holiday) will tie in nicely to the 2020 political season and is sure to be on many reading lists, but overall the focus on the characters’ internal struggles, work, and food descriptions, plus the vagueness of Max’s political affiliation make for an uneven romance. Still, Olivia’s shining character will ultimately please readers who have enjoyed Guillory’s other popular works.
PREMIUM

About a Rogue

Linden (An Earl Like Me) begins her “Desperately Seeking Duke” series with a beautifully written, sensual tale that combines slow-burn heat, witty enemies-to-lovers banter, and lush details of Bianca’s career. This should please readers of Eva Leigh’s “Union of Rakes” series or Sally MacKenzie’s What Ales the Earl.
PREMIUM

Not That Kind of Guy

Readers who enjoy strong and prickly heroines such as Rhiannon from Alisha Rai’s The Right Swipe will root for Bridget as she works through her fears and desires without ever compromising herself or her beliefs.
PREMIUM

Forbidden Promises

Politics, passion, and family drama combine to make a deliciously soapy second-chance, brother’s-best-friend romance. Readers of Alisha Rai’s “Forbidden Hearts” series or Reese Ryan’s Engaging the Enemy will be tantalized and surprised by the many twists and turns.

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

This stunning romance tackles important topics, such as living with disability and surviving emotional abuse, without ever getting bogged down in despair. Hibbert’s prose sparkles, and the heat is high, making this new series launch, the author’s first with a mainstream publisher, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey’s “Hot & Hammered” series or Helen Hoang’s The Kiss Quotient. Hibbert’s extensive self-published backlist, especially the “Ravenswood” series, can fill demand while readers wait for her next “Brown Sisters” book.
PREMIUM

Bound in Flame

More of a coming-of-age tale than a romance, this debut’s lush early 1900s Hawaiian setting fails to overcome a meandering story full of details but lacking in focus. Magic is used as a convenient plot device to prop up a heroine of color who deserves to be extraordinary in her own right. Issues of racism, colonialism, and sexism are handled clumsily. Not recommended
PREMIUM

The Rogue To Ruin

This third and final book in the series (after Ten Kisses to Scandal) is filled with delicious, fiery dialog between Ainsley and Reed, making readers who enjoy smart and witty historicals such as Tessa Dare’s “Spindle Cove” series long for that first kiss and our enemies-to-lovers’ happily ever after. This makes up for some of the secondary characters and plot points that occasionally fall a bit flat comparatively, resulting in a satisfying conclusion to a clever and engaging series.

Dalliances & Devotion

Much like the author’s debut novel, Appetites and Vices, this romance does not shy away from the prejudices and hurdles Amalia, a Jewish American citizen, and David, a Russian Jewish immigrant, face in 1870s America, making this an important addition to the historical romance canon. Fans of Joanna Shupe’s Gilded Age “Four Hundred” series will fall in love with the flawed Amalia, who bravely takes charge of her own life. Highly recommended.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month