Elisabeth Clark

37 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Big Dark Hole: And Other Stories

In this collection, Ford (“The Well-Built City” trilogy) serves up a variety of staples from the sci-fi/horror buffet: monsters, ghosts, fairies, and even a creepy carnival. Exacting language and well-drawn characters give these stories enough depth to satisfy both sci-fi/fantasy fans and literary fiction readers. Seamlessly blending the surreal with the mundane, Ford gives readers an innocuous ride to places they never knew they wanted to go. Recommended for fans of Neil Gaiman and Ursula Le Guin.
PREMIUM

Eye of the Sh*t Storm

The third installment in Ford’s “Frost Files” series, this novel is a non-stop adrenaline high. Fans of the series will eagerly awaitthe further adventures of Teagan and her cohorts, and newcomers will quickly fall in love with Jackson’s quirky cast of characters, imaginative storytelling, and wry wit.
PREMIUM

Situation Normal

Richardson’s (Constellation Games) new space opera is a satirical look at war, politics, megabrands, and cultural division. Seamlessly blending serious subject matter with humor, this book shines a light on today’s issues in a way that will have readers laughing one minute and wanting to cry the next.
PREMIUM

The Con

DeLuzio gives an up close and personal look at the sometimes feared, often mocked sf convention, only this one just might have real aliens in attendance. The double entendre title highlights the book’s deeper theme: How do we define what is real and what is fantasy? Some readers may be confused by the sf references and gaming jargon, but the quirky cast of characters and their relatable geekiness more than make up for it. Includes short stories “Troll Bridge” and “Do You See What I See?”

Zoey Punches the Future in the Dick

Wong (“John Dies at the End”series) once again achieves the perfect balance between sardonic humor and satirical digs at the digital age in the sequel to his award-winning Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits. Filled with laugh-out-loud moments and philosophical and ethical questions about the nonstop advancements of technology, this novel reminds us of an oft-forgotten question: Just because we can do something, does that mean we should??
PREMIUM

Grave Secrets

James’s debut is a sometimes silly, often funny twist on the vampire romance genre. The delightfully written Toni is about the unlikeliest heroine one expects to encounter. Throw in a few zombies for good measure, and readers are left with a novel perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Gail Carriger.
PREMIUM

How To Rule an Empire and Get Away with It

Parker’s (Sixteen Ways To Defend a Walled City) latest epic fantasy proves that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and Parker himself is a master impresario. Readers will enjoy his comedic take on how politics are comprised of equal parts lies, incompetence, and the foolishness of humanity—with just enough flashes of brilliance to save the day. Recommended for fans of Terry Pratchett and Mary Gentle’s Grunts.
PREMIUM

Big Girl

Through the lens of sf/fantasy, Elison’s works bring to light topics we generally prefer to keep in the dark: obesity, body shaming, privilege, poverty, and governmental control. With concise, sharp prose and a satirical point of view, Elison take us places we never wanted to go, but in the end we are grateful that we went.
PREMIUM

Heart of Junk

Readers hoping for a Carl Hiaasen–esque view of the antiquing world will be disappointed. The characters are drawn with too heavy a hand; most of them are borderline hoarders who are more interested in their stuff than they are in forming or maintaining basic human connections.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?