Elisabeth Clark

33 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Zoey Punches the Future in the Dick

Wong (“John Dies at the End”series) once again achieves the perfect balance between sardonic humor and satirical digs at the digital age in the sequel to his award-winning Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits. Filled with laugh-out-loud moments and philosophical and ethical questions about the nonstop advancements of technology, this novel reminds us of an oft-forgotten question: Just because we can do something, does that mean we should??
PREMIUM

Grave Secrets

James’s debut is a sometimes silly, often funny twist on the vampire romance genre. The delightfully written Toni is about the unlikeliest heroine one expects to encounter. Throw in a few zombies for good measure, and readers are left with a novel perfect for fans of Charlaine Harris and Gail Carriger.
PREMIUM

How To Rule an Empire and Get Away with It

Parker’s (Sixteen Ways To Defend a Walled City) latest epic fantasy proves that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and Parker himself is a master impresario. Readers will enjoy his comedic take on how politics are comprised of equal parts lies, incompetence, and the foolishness of humanity—with just enough flashes of brilliance to save the day. Recommended for fans of Terry Pratchett and Mary Gentle’s Grunts.
PREMIUM

Big Girl

Through the lens of sf/fantasy, Elison’s works bring to light topics we generally prefer to keep in the dark: obesity, body shaming, privilege, poverty, and governmental control. With concise, sharp prose and a satirical point of view, Elison take us places we never wanted to go, but in the end we are grateful that we went.
PREMIUM

Heart of Junk

Readers hoping for a Carl Hiaasen–esque view of the antiquing world will be disappointed. The characters are drawn with too heavy a hand; most of them are borderline hoarders who are more interested in their stuff than they are in forming or maintaining basic human connections.

System Failure

A great introduction to space opera for novices and a fun time for all. This novel can be read as a stand-alone, but starting with the previous two books in the series will offer the best experience.
PREMIUM

The Sisters of Summit Avenue

Cullen’s (Mrs. Poe) complex story of a family torn apart by jealousy, betrayal, and misunderstanding will resonate with all readers. Courageous and heart-wrenching, it is a tribute to mothers, daughters, and sisters that’s not to be missed.
PREMIUM

Supper Club

Williams’s first novel (after the short story collection A Selfie as Big as the Ritz) delivers a poignant tale of a woman finding her place in the world as she approaches the big three-oh. An homage to female rage and the bonds of friendship, this will entice readers like a gourmet feast and leave them just as satisfied.

PREMIUM

Echoes: The Saga Anthology of Ghost Stories

Horror and suspense aficionados will welcome this shiver-inducing collection.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month