Edward Goldberg

40 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Scavenger

Dickie’s transformation from addict to totally logical “operative” is one of several implausible plot points. While the use of street vernacular in dialog is reasonable, its use in narrative, as well as overzealous use of italicized Spanish, makes the story difficult to understand. The characters are not fleshed out and the action, at times, is comical.
PREMIUM

The Eighth Detective

Although the stories in this first collection have twists and turns, and the book itself has a surprise ending, neither the tales, nor the writing are compelling, the latter containing more similes than imagination. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/20.]
PREMIUM

Clean Hands

High-tech surveillance and cloak-and-dagger activity do not offset the anticlimactic ending or the mundane plot of the Brooklyn-based private investigator and author’s third outing (after Every Man a Menace). [See Prepub Alert, 11/25.19.]
PREMIUM

The Hook

The dynamic among Royce, Donne, and Allison is reminiscent of Spenser, Hawk, and Susan Silverman from Robert B. Parker’s “Spenser” novels. Fans of Parker and Ace Atkins will appreciate the smartly paced action the surprising denouement.
PREMIUM

The Big Lie

This 16th Swyteck political thriller (after The Girl in the Glass Box) parallels the current political climate with a tweet-happy president and a system in which a majority popular vote no longer means a win. A ruthless candidate might use this engrossing and scary book as a how-to manual. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

Wolves at the Door

Although this 20th “Varg Veum” mystery (after Wolves in the Dark), only some of which are available in English, stands alone, reading the backstory from its predecessor would be helpful. Action takes place primarily in the denouement, but the series’ signature strengths of well-developed characters and a engaging story line are on full display.
PREMIUM

Murder in Rat Alley

The seventh “Sam Blackman” mystery (Hidden Scars) has the right amount of action, humor, and intrigue. Fans of the humor of Robert B. Parker’s “Spenser” series with some North Carolina history thrown in will enjoy Sam’s relentless pursuit of the truth.
PREMIUM

Brooklyn Legacies

This fifth book in the “Erica Donato” series (after Brooklyn Wars) is fascinating primarily for the history of Brooklyn aspect. Erica is not a particularly endearing character, nor is she an astute detective—she acts before she thinks and fails to see evident facts. While this installment stands on its own, the series will attract Brooklynites and those interested in its history.
PREMIUM

Big Sky

This long-anticipated reappearance of fan-favorite Brodie (following 2011's Started Early, Took My Dog) is ultimately disappointing. Brodie takes a backseat throughout and the first half is a jumble of the various characters and their nefarious activities. The minimal action occurs toward the end, and the denouement feels contrived. Brodie has seen better days. [See Prepub Alert, 12/6/18.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month