Donna Marie Smith

90 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Super Volcanoes: What They Reveal about Earth and the Worlds Beyond

With references to pop culture (like Doctor Who) and a literary flair, this is the Baedeker of volcanoes, guiding readers through the world of volcanology.
PREMIUM

Going Virtual: Programs and Insights from a Time of Crisis

While the premise of the book is interesting, the omission of details about cost, supplies, outcomes, and other helpful data makes this slim, pricey title a marginal purchase.
PREMIUM

Back to Earth: What Life in Space Taught Me about Our Home Planet—and Our Mission To Protect It

Part memoir, part inspirational manual for living, Stott’s book encourages readers to seek out their own “Earthrise” moment and to take time to enjoy the beauty and value in the world.
PREMIUM

The Star Builders: Nuclear Fusion and the Race To Power the Planet

Turrell’s enthusiasm for the topic, as well as his clear and easy-to-understand explanations of the physics involved in nuclear fusion, make this a thought-provoking read for anyone interested in learning about the cutting-edge technology that’s being applied to solving the climate crisis.

Test Gods: Virgin Galactic and the Making of a Modern Astronaut

Schmidle, whose father was a marine fighter pilot and instructor, applies his personal interest in aerospace subjects to this book’s extensive research and in-depth interviews. For fans of The Right Stuff or Top Gun.

Cosmic Queries: StarTalk’s Guide to Who We Are, How We Got Here, and Where We’re Going

Casual readers and science buffs alike will appreciate Tyson’s folksy approach to explaining difficult scientific concepts. An engaging work that will have wide appeal.
PREMIUM

The Disordered Cosmos: A Journey Into Dark Matter, Spacetime, and Dreams Deferred

Part introduction to quantum mechanics and cosmology, part memoir, and part sociological study, this work challenges readers to question the nature of how science is done in contemporary society, as well as what it means when everyone has a seat at the cosmological table. For general science readers, gender and feminist studies students, and those concerned about the role feminist and racial politics plays in STEM professions.
PREMIUM

All About the Story: News, Power, Politics, and the Washington Post

With the recent denigration of journalists by government officials and purveyors of fringe media, stories such as Downie’s are important. Aspiring journalism students and readers of the Post would especially appreciate this biography.
PREMIUM

The Last American Hero: The Remarkable Life of John Glenn

While Glenn and Nick Taylor’s biography John Glenn: A Memoir and Tom Wolfe’s The Right Stuff offer more details about NASA and Glenn’s role in the Space Race, George provides interesting insights into the mark he left on American culture.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?