Donna Bachowski

52 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Kitchen Yarns: Notes of Life, Love, and Food

Recommended where food-based memoirs by authors such as Ruth Reichl, Calvin Trillin, and Laurie Colwin are popular, though the print version will be a better fit for those who want to cook from it rather than just enjoying the essays. ["This warm, humorous, touching, and wonderfully readable book will appeal to food lovers and fans of culinary biographies": LJ Winter 2018 starred review of the Norton hc.]
PREMIUM

Transcription

Recommended for fans of Atkinson, Tana French, and Emily St. John Mandel. ["With a fascinating cast of characters, careful plotting, and lyrical language in turns comical and tragic, Atkinson's complex story carefully unveils the outer demands and inner conflicts that war inflicts": LJ 6/15/18 starred review of the Little, Brown hc.]
PREMIUM

A Duke by Default

Recommended where patrons like contemporary happily ever afters. ["A lively, upbeat escapade rich with humor and heart": LJ 8/18 review of the Avon pap.]
PREMIUM

Wicked River

This book will appeal to those who like their outdoor adventures mixed with a bit of terror. ["This novel will appeal to fans of psychological suspense as well as those who enjoy trips to the backcountry": LJ 1/18 review of the Sourcebooks Landmark hc.]
PREMIUM

Tell Me More: Stories About the 12 Hardest Things I'm Learning To Say

Recommended for libraries where lighter self-improvement and parenting books are popular. ["A user's manual to tough conversations": Memoir 10/20/17 review of the Random hc.]
PREMIUM

The Rules of Magic

With Hoffman's perennial popularity and all those readers who fondly remember the aunts from the original book, this is going to be in high demand. ["Admirers of Practical Magic and readers who…prefer to be kept at something of a remove from the grittiness of life's tragedies will relish this book": LJ 9/1/17 starred review of the S. & S. hc.]
PREMIUM

Dear Fahrenheit 451: Love and Heartbreak in the Stacks

A must for anyone who has ever worked in a library or has ever read a book. ["While flavored with a good dose of librarian, it's perfect for any bibliophile and terrifically funny": LJ 7/17 starred review of the Flatiron: Macmillan hc.]
PREMIUM

Coming to My Senses

Suggested only for local interest. ["An engaging and entertaining memoir that will appeal to culinary fans as well as general readers": LJ 10/1/17 starred review of the Clarkson Potter: Crown hc.]
PREMIUM

The Most Dangerous Place on Earth

Destined to become a book club sweetheart. ["Johnson's polished debut novel puts a human face to the details of today's daily headlines of teen life…. This bleak, potent picture will scare the pants off readers": LJ 10/15/16 starred review of the Random hc.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.