Deas, Stephen

3 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Moonsteel Crown

This dark and gritty fantasy is recommended for readers wanting the scope of an epic with the grittiness of grimdark urban fantasy. It will be loved by those who are looking for stories that exhibit all the darkness at the heart of “Game of Thrones” set in the mean streets of the grittiest of fantasy cities, and/or those who like antihero protagonists stuck in a morally gray area.

Dragon Queen

First-time readers can go back and explore Deas's earlier works starting with Adamantine Palace, as well as venture straight on to the next title in this series, The Splintered Gods. The adult characters and brutality make this a better selection for mature readers.

The Order of the Scales

Deas's dragons are spectacularly alien, dangerous, seductive, and beautiful, with their own nonhuman morality. Fans of dragon fiction should appreciate his intriguing interpretation, which places this trilogy in a category with Anne McCaffrey's "Dragonriders of Pern," Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman's "Dragonlance," and Naomi Novik's "Temeraire" series.

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing