Davies, Dan

35 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Son of the Storm

Highly recommended for fans of epic fantasy based on non-European mythologies, like The Black Sun, by Rebecca Roanhorse; readers who enjoy protagonists on troubled journeys, like in Jenn Lyons’s The House of Always; or anyone who likes to chew on stories with complex shenanigans.
PREMIUM

Lying for Money: How Legendary Frauds Reveal the Workings of the World

General readers will be interested in many of the examples of fraud, but those without a background in finance might struggle with jargon or the lack of central narrative.

The Mission House

Part mystery, part romance, this charming story is set in the present but has the feel of an earlier time. Fans of Helen Simonson’s Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand and Rachel Joyce’s The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry will eat this spicy masala of a novel right up.
PREMIUM

Please Do Not Ask forMercy as a Refusal Often Offends

Dystopian novels are abundant these days, and this quirky entry feels timely and should appeal to readers who aren’t looking for romantic triangles or teen angst.
PREMIUM

Extreme Economies: What Life at the World’s Margins Can Teach Us About Our Own Future

Davies makes the science of economics accessible and personal by identifying trends connected to the communities and people he encountered across the globe, and by showing how their efforts and resilience hold promise for a better future. For all interested in the global economy.

PREMIUM

In at the Deep End

Touted as a “Bridget Jones for 2019,” this might be more aptly compared to the television show Girls with its combination of humor and a frank exploration of contemporary sexuality. [See Prepub Alert, 12/17/18.]
PREMIUM

The Montessori Toddler: A Parent's Guide to Raising a Curious and Responsible Human Being

With every page chock-full of plans for how to make one's home a haven for a youngster's intellectual and emotional growth, this valuable manual fills a gap on a topic not as frequently addressed in the literature on toddler development.
PREMIUM

Nervous States: Democracy

Academic, though accessible and of interest to all readers given the range of topics.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?