Dan Forrest

101 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Bark of Night

Fans of the series will enjoy this latest installment, and newcomers won’t be put off since not too much prior information is required to jump in. One shortcoming of the book is that Truman, the catalyst for the whole plot, is whisked offstage to the Tara Foundation, Carpenters’ dog-rescue center, until his happy ending. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/19.]
PREMIUM

Bite Club

Fans of the series will enjoy this outing, and newcomers will find a satisfying mystery and plenty of canine content, including behind-the-scenes secrets of dog shows, which will make them seek further volumes about Melanie and her pack of poodles.

PREMIUM

The Body in the Castle Well

This will satisfy fans of the series, and also those who enjoy intricate mysteries in unique settings with plenty of local details.
PREMIUM

The Last Dog on Earth

Fans of both dog tales and postapocalyptic fiction will flock to this latest from Walker (The End of the World Running Club). Lineker's vulgar matter-of-factness lends the perfect tone to this near future when politics has led folks further astray.
PREMIUM

A Dog Called Jack

This new title from Pembroke (A Wedding on Christmas Street) will appeal to fans of light fiction and the cable channel movies popular around the time of the story's climax.
PREMIUM

Akashic

With its breadth of contributors, this latest volume in the publisher's city noir series will satisfy both the fan of contemporary African fiction and the newcomer interested in discovering some new voices.
PREMIUM

Out of the Shadow of a Giant: Hooke, Halley, and the Birth of Science

Devotees of the history of science as well as those interested in Restoration England will find this book fascinating.
PREMIUM

Resurrection Bay

Winner of the 2016 Ned Kelly Award for Best Debut, this is a compelling mystery with an even more compelling detective. Caleb's disability hinders his work at times, but many of the skills he has learned to compensate help him read people and situations in ways others cannot. Fans of Australian crime writers such as Peter Temple and Jane Harper will want this.
PREMIUM

Weeping Waters

Winner of the University of Johannesburg Debut Prize, this strong South African crime novel will appeal to fans of gritty yet exotic small-town settings and complicated mysteries that turn on local knowledge as much as procedure and intuition. A good read-alike for Jassy Mackenzie's Bad Seeds and Martin Steyn's Dark Traces.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.