Cynthia Jensen

34 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Black Flags, Blue Waters: The Epic History of America's Most Notorious Pirates

A colorful and diverting history of piracy in its heyday; will be of general interest and to pirate buffs. ["A colorful and well-researched study of piracy's glory days, rooted in historical context. Sure to appeal to pirate enthusiasts as well as serious researchers": LJ 8/18 review of the Norton hc.]
PREMIUM

Where the Crawdads Sing

A selection of Reese Witherspoon's book club, this should be a popular addition for most fiction collections despite its flaws.

Meg, Jo, Beth, Amy: The Story of Little Women and Why It Still Matters

An excellent addition to most library collections. ["Highly recommended for all readers interested in Alcott and her masterpiece's legacy": LJ 8/18 starred review of the Norton hc.]
PREMIUM

Valley of Genius: The Uncensored History of Silicon Valley (as Told by the Hackers, Founders, and Freaks Who Made It Boom)

An optional purchase. Most suitable for people with a deep interest in technology. ["This behind-the-scenes account of modern start-up culture will interest technology geeks and business historians alike": LJ 5/15/18 review of the Grand Central hc.]
PREMIUM

An American Princess: The Many Lives of Allene Tew

This audiobook will be of interest to listeners who are fans of history and the stories of women's lives.
PREMIUM

Auntie Poldi and the Sicilian Lions

Recommended for those who enjoy a light mystery with quirky characters. Fans of Agatha Raisin and Mrs. Pollifax should find Auntie Poldi equally appealing. ["While the mystery is well plotted and red herrings abound, the true draw of the book is the Sicilian setting and the eccentric Auntie Poldi. Fans of quirky stories such as Alan Bradley's "Flavia de Luce" series may enjoy this amusing romp": LJ 2/1/18 review of the Houghton Harcourt hc.]
PREMIUM

Son of a Midnight Land: A Memoir in Stories

Recommended for fans of the television program and those interested in inspirational memoirs.
PREMIUM

The Secrets of Great Mystery and Suspense Fiction

Recommended for audiences with an interest in adult enrichment education, students who want to supplement their course work, and to those who homeschool.
PREMIUM

Scent of Triumph

The contrived plot and cardboard characters make this a nonessential purchase.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.