Cleeves, Ann

13 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Heron’s Cry

Matthew Venn, introduced in The Long Call, is the primary detective in this installment, but Cleeves uses multiple voices, including those of Matthew’s team members, to show the personal effects of this troubling case. Fans of Cleeves’s “Vera Stanhope” and “Shetland” mysteries will be eager for her latest novel, where a police team struggles to cope with professional and personal lives.

The Darkest Evening

Superbly drawn characters, an absorbing plot, and a compelling narrative combine in a classic mystery that will delight both Cleeves’s fans and newcomers alike.

The Long Call

Fans of Cleeves lamenting the end of the “Shetland” series will find much to love in her new characters and setting. [See Prepub Alert, 3/4/19.]
PREMIUM

Wild Fire: A Shetland Island Mystery

Throughout the "Shetland Island" series, Cleeves lovingly depicts the Scottish island life, and this volume is no exception. Fans may be saddened but certainly not disappointed by this final installment.
PREMIUM

The Glass Room

Published for the first time in the United States, this fifth Vera Stanhope mystery (after Silent Hope) makes a satisfying addition to the series.
PREMIUM

The Seagull: A Vera Stanhope Mystery

In her eighth outing (after The Moth Catcher), DI Vera Stanhope investigates a cold case linked to her father based on information provided by John Brace, a now incarcerated ex-detective superintendent...
PREMIUM

Cold Earth

Plenty of suspects on a remote Scottish island mixed with the high quality of Cleeves's prose make this a solidly plotted whodunit for procedural and traditional mystery readers. The Crime Writers' Association (CWA) recently announced that Cleeves, a longtime advocate of libraries, is to receive the CWA Diamond Dagger, the highest honor in British crime writing. [See Prepub Alert, 10/17/16.]
PREMIUM

The Crow Trap: A Vera Stanhope Mystery

It would be foolish to discount Vera because she doesn't dress smartly
PREMIUM

The Moth Catcher: A Vera Stanhope Mystery

The way that Cleeves brings the rural English landscape to life will appeal to readers who appreciate the atmospheric mysteries of Ruth Rendell and Elly Griffiths. Fans of psychological mysteries or procedurals solved by introspective and curmudgeonly detectives (albeit a woman this time around) will also enjoy this series. [See Prepub Alert, 4/10/16.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?