Chris Wilkes

53 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Can’t Knock the Hustle: Inside the Season of Protest, Pandemic, and Progress with the Brooklyn Nets’ Superstars of Tomorrow

A must-read for its in-depth look at the mental, economic, and political tribulations of NBA players. A good complement to Ben Golliver’s Bubbleball that will give readers a full understanding of the struggles and dynamics of the 2019–20 NBA season.
PREMIUM

Letters to a Young Athlete

Readers seeking a memoir about Bosh’s life may be disappointed. Although the advice here is not revolutionary, this straightforward book will find an audience with high school athletes hoping to improve their game outside of practice.

Bubbleball: Inside the NBA’s Fight to Save a Season

Beyond basketball, this book is an important cultural artifact of the impacts of COVID-19 on American life, as well as the interconnection of social justice and sports. An instant classic.

PREMIUM

Let’s Talk about Hard Things

Besides listeners of her podcast, this will appeal to any adult struggling to broach these topics.

Leaving Isn’t the Hardest Thing

Although presented in essay format, this reads as a poignant, gripping memoir. A page-turning account of belonging and not belonging, and what it means to start over.

Press Reset

This standout book will appeal to readers of Kotaku, Polygon, and IGN, as well as viewers of NoClip’s YouTube documentaries. Beyond gamers, this well-researched account will also interest labor advocates.
PREMIUM

Bracketology: March Madness, College Basketball, and the Creation of a National Obsession

This reads as a self-promotional biography for Lunardi. The historical background is limited and there is no detailed comparative analysis highlighting differences between teams that make the tournament versus those that don’t. Not recommended.
PREMIUM

A Beginner’s Guide to America

Although narrated as advice for incoming immigrants, this personal, yet practical account is intended to challenge misconceptions and biases that native-born U.S. citizens have toward documented and undocumented immigrants. It is highly recommended for all.
PREMIUM

A Measure of Belonging: Twenty-One Writers of Color on the New American South

A wonderful, thought-provoking collection of essays that highlight the various experiences of immigrants, people of color, and women in the American South. Recommended for public and academic libraries.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?