Castillo, Linda

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

A Simple Murder: A Kate Burkholder Short Story Collection

As with any collection, some stories are stronger than others, and the author doesn’t have much opportunity to develop the plot. Castillo shines when she focuses on the Amish lifestyle, and in the longer stories with more opportunity to delve into the plot. Kate Burkholder fans will want to pick this up while waiting for the next full-length offering from the author.
PREMIUM

Outsider

Castillo’s 12th “Kate Burkholder” novel (after Shamed) is a suspenseful, culture-melding nail-biter mixing nonstop action, a timely plot, and street-tough dialog, delivering a gritty crime drama with a realistic look at the Amish lifestyle. Fans of the series and crime dramas à la Marta Perry and Lisa Gardner will find this hard to put down. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]
PREMIUM

Shamed

Castillo’s latest, following A Gathering of Secrets, is another violent, fascinating story. Readers who are unfamiliar with the gritty series may be surprised that this is not an Amish cozy, but fans of Castillo’s “Kate Burkholder” series will be satisfied with this recent installment. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/19.]
PREMIUM

Down a Dark Road: A Kate Burkholder Novel

Kate is a likable cop and the Amish setting is infinitely fascinating. Series fans will appreciate this solid outing. [See Prepub Alert, 1/30/17]
PREMIUM

After the Storm: A Kate Burkholder Novel

Series fans as well as first-time readers will be enthralled by this compelling and atmospheric mystery set in the heart of Amish country. [See Prepub Alert, 2/2/15.]
PREMIUM

The Dead Will Tell

Highly recommended for audio mystery collections. ["Castillo weaves a taut mystery…that will keep suspense fans glued to their books and ereaders," read the starred review of the Minotaur: St. Martin's hc, LJ 6/15/14.]
PREMIUM

The Dead Will Tell: A Kate Burkholder Novel

Castillo weaves a taut mystery in her sixth series title (after Her Last Breath) that will keep suspense fans glued to their books and ereaders.
PREMIUM

Her Last Breath

In her fifth installment (after Gone Missing), Castillo combines the simple Amish lifestyle with dizzying hairpin twists and turns, and the result is a mind-blowing read that will keep her fans and mystery readers engrossed. [As a tie-in, Castillo is releasing an e-original short story "Long Gone."—Ed.]
PREMIUM

Gone Missing

This mystery is recommended for Castillo’s fans and those interested in similar stories in this setting. [“This fast-paced thrill ride through the always fascinating Amish country of Ohio should appeal to readers of Karin Slaughter, Betty Webb, and Lisa Jackson. Devotees of this series won’t want to miss it,” read the review of the New York Times best-selling Minotaur: St. Martin’s hc, LJ Xpress Reviews, 6/22/12.—Ed.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?