Black, Benjamin

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Secret Guests

This elegant novel will satisfy all readers who appreciate a good story, well told. [See Prepub Alert, 7/15/19.]
PREMIUM

Holy Orders

Not recommended; fans of mysteries and thrillers would be disappointed.
PREMIUM

The Black-Eyed Blonde: A Philip Marlowe Novel

This latest incarnation of Chandler's sleuth will appeal to fans of Chandler and Marlowe, but newcomers to one of the first great PIs in crime fiction will find much to enjoy here as well. [See Prepub Alert, 10/15/13.]
PREMIUM

Holy Orders: A Quirke Novel

Overall, Black's latest Quirke mystery (Christine Falls; A Death in Summer; Vengeance) is an exhausting and airless read. [See Prepub Alert, 2/25/13; library marketing.]
PREMIUM

A Death in Summer

Black's mysteries are not black and white with cut-and-dried villains behind bars at the conclusion. However, readers looking for more character development and ambiguity than Stieg Larsson's popular Scandinavian thrillers offer will enjoy getting to know Quirke and Hackett by picking up this book and Black's previous works. [See Prepub Alert, 12/12/10; library marketing.]—Christine Perkins, Bellingham P.L., WA

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.