Birch, Will

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Cruel To Be Kind: The Life and Music of Nick Lowe

An enjoyable and personal look at a cult hero who is more working artist than rock star.

PREMIUM

Drawn from Life: Tips and Tricks for Contemporary Life Drawing

A great way for beginning- and intermediate-level artists to dip a toe into figure drawing without attending art school.
PREMIUM

Orphans of the Carnival

A secondary purchase for larger collections, though readers interested in performance or stage history will find the main story line intriguing. ["Memorable and affecting": LJ 11/15/16 review of the Doubleday hc.]
PREMIUM

Orphans of the Carnival

Though the main character remains somewhat of a cipher, this memorable and affecting novel illuminates a sad and strange forgotten historical figure. [See Prepub Alert, 5/2/16; a LibraryReads November pick.]
PREMIUM

The Facefaker's Game

This debut series opener is a natural fit for fans of Scott Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora and Brandon Sanderson's The Alloy of Law, although the supernatural system is not as well-developed, and the differences in magic types, while repeated several times, never really gels.
PREMIUM

Freehand: Sketching Tips and Tricks Drawn from Art

There is something in this guide for advanced, intermediate, and beginning artists alike.
PREMIUM

Jamrach's Menagerie

A young lad dashing through the streets of Victorian London runs smack into an escaped circus animal and nearly becomes its dinner...

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.