Birch, Will

7 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Cruel To Be Kind: The Life and Music of Nick Lowe

An enjoyable and personal look at a cult hero who is more working artist than rock star.

PREMIUM

Drawn from Life: Tips and Tricks for Contemporary Life Drawing

A great way for beginning- and intermediate-level artists to dip a toe into figure drawing without attending art school.
PREMIUM

Orphans of the Carnival

A secondary purchase for larger collections, though readers interested in performance or stage history will find the main story line intriguing. ["Memorable and affecting": LJ 11/15/16 review of the Doubleday hc.]
PREMIUM

Orphans of the Carnival

Though the main character remains somewhat of a cipher, this memorable and affecting novel illuminates a sad and strange forgotten historical figure. [See Prepub Alert, 5/2/16; a LibraryReads November pick.]
PREMIUM

The Facefaker's Game

This debut series opener is a natural fit for fans of Scott Lynch's The Lies of Locke Lamora and Brandon Sanderson's The Alloy of Law, although the supernatural system is not as well-developed, and the differences in magic types, while repeated several times, never really gels.
PREMIUM

Freehand: Sketching Tips and Tricks Drawn from Art

There is something in this guide for advanced, intermediate, and beginning artists alike.
PREMIUM

Jamrach's Menagerie

A young lad dashing through the streets of Victorian London runs smack into an escaped circus animal and nearly becomes its dinner...
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?