Bennett, Robert Jackson

6 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Vigilance

In a world where mass shootings are already a near-daily occurrence, this slim novel might be too grim and genuine for some, but Jackson's fast-paced, blistering look at how a nation's seductive myths about itself can lead to its downfall is an absolute must-read. Perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes, Richard K. Morgan, or the Netflix series Black Mirror.
PREMIUM

Foundryside

This engaging new series from Bennett ("Divine Cities" trilogy) features a masterly blend of fantastical magic with sf technology that will engage readers to the final page. [See Prepub Alert, 2/19/18].
PREMIUM

City of Miracles

Bennett explores the fascinatingly complex gods of the Continent and the magic they left in the world, bringing the series to a satisfying close.
PREMIUM

City of Blades

Building beautifully upon the richly detailed world introduced in the first book of the series, Bennett (The Troupe; American Elsewhere) serves a stew of fantasy and adventure with a healthy dose of humor and a ladle full of violence. Switching protagonists from sneaky Shara to the blunt soldier Turyin gives the sequel a fresh feel, and readers will be eager to read more books set in this fascinating universe.
PREMIUM

City of Stairs

In the city of Bulikov, the gods are dead and the conquered populace forbidden from talking or writing about their past...
PREMIUM

City of Stairs

The personalities of Shara and her hulking assistant Sigurd leap off the page, as do supporting characters such as Shara's former lover Vohannes Votrov and the gruff local Saypuri governor Mulaghesh. The world Bennett (The Troupe; American Elsewhere) has constructed is a complex political landscape of a subjugated people holding onto the memories of their glory days and protective gods and the conquerors reaping revenge for their own previous subjugation. An excellent spy story wrapped in a vivid imaginary world. [See Prepub Alert, 3/24/14.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.