Becky Spratford

29 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

Devolution: A Firsthand ­Account of the Rainier Sasquatch Massacre

Brooks’s creative and well-executed conceit will have readers searching Wikipedia to look up names and events, even the parts they know are not based on reality. An obvious choice for Bigfoot fans, also suggest this to readers who enjoyed Alma Katsu’s The Hunger and those who appreciate nonfiction survival stories such as Hampton Sides’s In the Kingdom of Ice.
PREMIUM

The Unsuitable

A weird and bloody ghost story combining the terror of mental illness with body horror that, while set in a gothic world, features a sensibility more at home in the 21st century. Similar in appeal to the intense psychological suspense of Sarah Waters’s The Little Stranger mixed with the real-life horror of the domestic abuse and self-harm at the heart of Gillian Flynn’s Sharp Objects.

Wonderland

Reminiscent of the severe disorientation and trauma in Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves and the nature-seeking revenge theme of Stephen Graham Jones’s The Only Good Indians—with elements of and nods to Shirley Jackson’s works

The Living Dead

A true gift to horror fans. Pairs well with Nights of the Living Dead, edited by Romero and others, with appeal for fans of apocalyptic epics such as Chuck Wendig’s Wanderers and Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven.
PREMIUM

Final Cuts: New Tales of Hollywood Horror and Other Spectacles

The unique themes and diverse array of stories make this anthology appealing to a variety of horror readers and is a great introduction to new readers looking for work by a range of authors.
PREMIUM

Out of Body

Nebula and Shirley Jackson Award winner Ford (A Natural History of Hell, The Girl in the Glass) offers a short, captivating tale about strength and sacrifice. For fans of Neil Gaiman’s Ocean at the End of the Lane, Samanta Schweblin’s Fever Dream, and Keith Donohue’s The Motion of Puppets.
PREMIUM

Dracula’s Child

This novel is nestled perfectly within the popular pantheon of stories that use the frame and style of Stoker’s classic to create original and entertaining stories that add to the lure and enjoyment of the source material. Hand to readers who liked Steven Hopstaken and Melissa Prusi’s Stoker’s Wilde or Lauren Owen’s The Quick.
PREMIUM

The Book of Koli

This first installment in a planned trilogy is a disorienting look at a dystopian future that is firmly rooted in the concerns and issues of our current moment. Likely to appeal to fans of Jeff Vandermeer’s novels and Carrie Vaughn’s “Bannerless” trilogy.

Author Daniel Kraus Discusses the Future of Horror & His Unique Collaboration with the Late, Great George A. Romero

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month