Barbara Conaty

57 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Woman of a Thousand Names

This novel by award-winning historical novelist Lapierre (Between Love and Honor) was first published in French in 2016. The story integrates verbatim quotes with imagined conversations and settings. Realistic yet fantastical in its account of the audacious Maria, this is a rewarding rediscovery of a memorable woman.
PREMIUM

The Body Outside the Kremlin

Solovetsky Island is where many of the techniques used in the Soviet labor camp system were developed to murderous effect. May’s writing seamlessly integrates his detailed research into this experimental prison camp with the intrigues of criminals intent on looting religious treasures. Tolya relates his terrible story years later, during Khruschev’s era of the thaw. May, the author of short fiction and reviews, has made this debut novel a masterful historical detektiv tale.
PREMIUM

Black Sun

Fans of Jason Matthews’s “Red Sparrow” series and Tom Rob Smith’s Child 44 will relish this incendiary take on nuclear weapons and the people who made them.

Chimes of a Lost Cathedral

Like a 19th-century avatar, Fitch gives a 360-degree view of the suffering caused by the Bolsheviks’ consolidation of power and tells a long and sweeping story without wasting a word. [See Prepub Alert, 1/23/19.]
PREMIUM

Very Nice

Powerful themes of mother love and daughter fidelity give this frothy novel a depth that lingers after the rush of enjoyment. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/19.]
PREMIUM

A Bend in the Stars

As with Boris Akunin's Erast Fandorin and David Downing's Jack McColl in two series about czarist Russia, Miri, Yuri and Vanya make an unforgettable impression. Their creator, a talented, confident new writer, transforms historical facts and traditions by adding propulsive action and convincing emotional insights. [See Prepub Alert, 11/19/18.]
PREMIUM

Savage News

Yellin was CNN's White House reporter and has solid journalism props. The nuances of current #MeToo issues are on display in this satirically deft, accurately chilling debut with a dollop of romance. Yellin is sure to attract a loyal readership for her next book. [See Prepub Alert, 10/29/18.]

The Malta Exchange

Thrillers abound, but Berry has the lock on making history zing with breathless suspense and galloping action. Malta and the Vatican are superb settings for this ecclesiastical extravaganza. [See Prepub Alert, 9/17/18.]
PREMIUM

Prague Spring

Billed as historical spy fiction, this newest work from Mawer (The Glass Room) succeeds as an infiltration into the nuanced territory of Alan Furst and Joseph Kanon. Though the sensuous attraction of lovers teasing each other could be a distraction, here it is a mirror of the interplay of youthful Czechoslovaks who believe in the burgeoning political springtime yet also fear it.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month