Attenberg, Jami

5 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

All This Could Be Yours

Contemporary family sagas don’t get much better than this novel, which should appeal to fans of Jonathan Franzen’s The Corrections or Jennifer Egan’s Manhattan Beach. [See Prepub Alert, 3/25/19.]
PREMIUM

All Grown Up

Attenberg's novel is layered and deceptive, as is her heroine. You'll enter Andrea's world for the throwaway lines and sardonic humor, but stay for the poignancy and depth. Recommended for readers who like complicated characters à la Jennifer Egan and Maria Semple. [See Prepub Alert, 10/3/16.]
PREMIUM

Saint Mazie

A very enjoyable novel with great character, this work will be of particular interest to fans of women's fiction, fiction set in New York City, and historical fiction set during World War I, Prohibition, and the Great Depression. [See Prepub Alert, 12/8/14.]
PREMIUM

The Middlesteins

While flashback and the nonlinear story are common literary devices, these elements seem somewhat superfluous in this story. Narration by Molly Ringwald lacks the fire that might be expected in this emotional tale. Still, readers of general fiction will enjoy this book. Recommended. ["Attenberg seamlessly weaves comedy and tragedy in this warm and engaging family saga of love and loss," read the review of the New York Times best-selling Grand Central hc, LJ 7/12.—Ed.]
PREMIUM

The Middlesteins

Attenberg seamlessly weaves comedy and tragedy in this warm and engaging family saga of love and loss.

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.