Anitra Gates

21 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Mr. Nobody

Steadman (Something in the Water) strikes an engaging balance between character development and action in this satisfying, intricately plotted thriller that will appeal to fans of Sarah Pinborough and Ruth Ware. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
PREMIUM

If She Were Dead

For readers seeking an unsympathetic portrayal of “the other woman,” but with the ample offerings of domestic thrillers available, this is an optional purchase.
PREMIUM

Pretty As a Picture

Little (Dear Daughter) once again delivers a dark, witty thriller. Movie fans will be delighted with the behind-the-scenes setting and the numerous cinematic references. While there are some twists, this character-driven whodunit is mainly propelled by Marissa, an intelligent, charming protagonist whose neurodiversity is well portrayed. Recommended for mystery fans drawn to amateur sleuths and quirky, realistic protagonists.
PREMIUM

Finding Chika: A Little Girl, an Earthquake, and the Making of a Family

Albom’s memoir is a lens into his grief but also a celebration of Chika’s spirit and lessons gleaned from their time together as a family. The heartbreaking but uplifting story is a testament to the bravery and resilience of children and the power of love. Essential for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

Letters to a Dead Friend about Zen

Warner’s voice is much needed in American Buddhism. Readers seeking a straightforward explanation of the religious aspects with a critical eye toward the mystical will be grateful for his insights.
PREMIUM

Murder at Kensington Palace

Penrose deftly intertwines the politics of navigating Regency-era society, scientific progress, and the deepening relationship between the protagonists. Series fans will enjoy revisiting the lively cast of characters, while historical fiction readers will be satisfied by the immersive, richly detailed mystery.
PREMIUM

Two Buddhas Seated Side by Side: A Guide to the Lotus Sutra

While scholarly in nature, this work’s engaging, thoughtful manner serves its subject well. Essential for readers with academic-level interest in Buddhist studies.

PREMIUM

True Virtue: The Journey of an English Buddhist Nun

Recommended for communities with a strong focus in Buddhism, women’s spirituality, and/or local connections to this sect; otherwise, an optional purchase.

PREMIUM

Knife

Dark, gritty, and clever, this is quintessential Nesbø, a powerhouse of a storyteller. Familiarity with the characters is beneficial, but not required, to appreciate this well-plotted mystery. Series fans will either love or hate this, but either way it’s a must-read. [See Prepub Alert, 1/14/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month