Anitra Gates

29 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

When Truth Is All You Have: Memoir of Faith, Justice, and Freedom for the Wrongly Convicted

McCloskey and Lerman’s natural storytelling style make this an enjoyable read even when addressing tough subjects. This will be essential for collections focused on social justice, the wrongly convicted, and spiritual transformation.
PREMIUM

One Last Lunch: A Final Meal with Those Who Meant So Much to Us

A thought-provoking, albeit uneven, compilation with varied insights into grief, mourning, reconciliation, and forgiveness. Recommended where literary anthologies are popular.

PREMIUM

My Wife Said You May Want To Marry Me

Rosenthal’s grief journey is expressed with candor, humor, and gratitude. Fans of Amy Krouse Rosenthal will want to know about the next phase of Jason’s life. Also recommended for readers either experiencing grief or wanting to understand how to support someone experiencing loss.

PREMIUM

Good Boy: My Life in Seven Dogs

Boylan’s candor and distinctive writing style will appeal to readers of reflective memoirs. A solid choice for libraries looking to expand their LGBTQ biography collections.

PREMIUM

Think Like a Monk: Train Your Mind for Peace and Purpose Every Day

Listeners of Shetty’s podcast will be familiar with his conversational tone, and his style adapts into an easy-to-read, approachable guide. Recommended for readers interested in mindfulness and self-exploration guides.
PREMIUM

How To Eat: All Your Food and Diet Questions Answered

Based on a timely Grub Street article by the authors that went viral, the demand for this straightforward resource about the current state of nutrition should be high.

Nobody Will Tell You This But Me: A True (as Told to Me) Story

Striking a perfect balance between levity and poignancy, this is a standout debut. Readers looking for memoirs featuring strong family relationships with much love and laughter will be highly satisfied.
PREMIUM

Everything I Know About Love: A Memoir

This relatable reflection on love and the importance of friendship is an international best seller, so expect demand from readers interested in modern life as well as intimate, confessional memoirs. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]
PREMIUM

Mr. Nobody

Steadman (Something in the Water) strikes an engaging balance between character development and action in this satisfying, intricately plotted thriller that will appeal to fans of Sarah Pinborough and Ruth Ware. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.