Social Sciences

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

In France Profound: The Long History of a House, a Mountain Town, and a People

Best suited for fans of Allman’s work, along with readers intrigued by a little-known French town, the author’s 800-year-old house, and the book’s contemporary elements. This will appeal to readers who enjoy Martin Walker’s “Bruno, Chief of Police” mystery series as well.

Oh No He Didn’t!: Brilliant Women and the Men Who Took Credit for Their Work

This exceptional book’s stories of plagiarism showcase persistence and the insidious and enduring ways in which sexism informs and shapes the contemporary world. Murphy will motivate readers to challenge stereotypes.

Invisible Labor: The Untold Story of the Cesarean Section

This inciting, empowering book shows the clear need not just to improve women’s access to health care but also to shift the paradigm about the restrictions placed on reproductive rights.
PREMIUM

The Striker and the Clock: On Being in the Game

A thoughtful and engaging exploration of life on and off the soccer field. It will resonate with readers interested in the human side of professional sports and fans of When Nobody Was Watching by Carli Lloyd with Wayne Coffey, Abby Wambach’s Forward, and Raised a Warrior by Susie Petruccelli.
PREMIUM

Catherine de’ Medici: The Life and Times of the Serpent Queen

An intriguing, highly recommended look at a powerful queen and her life.
PREMIUM

I Talk About It All the Time

This is an important and exceptional memoir that will give readers greater insight into and understanding of the pervasiveness of racism, bias, and discrimination against a person’s sexual orientation.
PREMIUM

Project Eagle: The Top-Secret OSS Operation That Sent Polish Spies Behind Enemy Lines in World War II

These reports on a relatively small part of the war offer a glimpse of the problems and successes of inserting agents into enemy territory. Recommended for large World War II collections.
PREMIUM

The Longest Con: How Grifters, Swindlers, and Frauds Hijacked American Conservatism

A worthy addition to the growing body of literature about the current state of U.S. politics. Pairs well with Sarah Posner’s God’s Profits: Faith, Fraud and the Republican Crusade for Values Voters and Maggie Haberman’s Confidence Man: The Making of Donald Trump and the Breaking of America.
PREMIUM

Yukikaze’s War: The Unsinkable Japanese Destroyer and World War II in the Pacific

This solid history of Japan’s Yukikaze naval destroyer is worth adding to collections.
7,544 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?