Law & Crime

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Ghosts of the Orphanage: A Story of Mysterious Deaths, a Conspiracy of Silence, and a Search for Justice

An important look into the dark past of orphanages globally. It’s also a deep dive into the ways these horrific stories were kept out of the public eye for so long.
PREMIUM

Tremors in the Blood: Murder, Obsession, and the Birth of the Lie Detector

True crime fans will likely want to read this book, especially those interested in the history of criminal science.
PREMIUM

Satellite Boy: The International Manhunt for a Master Thief That Launched the Modern Communication Age

Amelinckx’s book is ideal for both true-crime and technology buffs.
PREMIUM

All That Is Wicked: A Gilded-Age Story of Murder and the Race To Decode the Criminal Mind

This audio is for listeners seeking a candid and complex historical biography that is alarming and alluring, though the depth may be daunting to the casual true-crime crowd. Recommended for fans of Erik Larson and Dean Jobb.
PREMIUM

The Angel Makers: Arsenic, a Midwife, and Modern History’s Most Astonishing Murder Ring

True crime readers are sure to enjoy this debut.
PREMIUM

Truth and Repair: How Trauma Survivors Envision Justice

An intriguing exploration of alternative methods of justice for trauma survivors.

Lady Justice: Women, the Law, and the Battle To Save America

Inspiring and sobering, this is an essential purchase for all libraries.
PREMIUM

I Know Who You Are: How an Amateur DNA Sleuth Unmasked the Golden State Killer and Changed Crime Fighting Forever

Rae-Venter describes other cases she helped solve, which is fascinating, but she uses genealogical terms that may be challenging for some readers to follow. Nevertheless, this book belongs in libraries that have a solid true crimes collection.
PREMIUM

Nothing To Fear: Alfred Hitchcock and the Wrong Men

Come for the Hitchcock, stay for the history. Fascinating.
345 articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?