SOCIAL SCIENCES

More: A Memoir of Open Marriage

Doubleday Jan. 2024. 304p. ISBN 9780385549455. $28. MEMOIR
COPY ISBN
Winter shares her and her husband’s deeply personal, candid story about deciding to make their relationship non-monogamous. She describes their marriage as a roller coaster of emotions that follows the ebb and flow of new partners, breakups, and changes in their lives. Their marriage comes to exemplify the most important elements in any relationship: communication, love, and respect. This memoir reads like a novel narrated in the first person—impossible to put down and sometimes sexually explicit. What will really captivate readers, however, is Winter’s journey of introspection, a quest to understand herself and her needs and to find self-love and self-acceptance. Through her easily accessible, quickly devoured narrative, readers become something like confidants to Winter, rather than voyeurs.
VERDICT An honest look at how an open marriage can work, an excellent read for people interested in self-discovery or ethical non-monogamy. Recommended for readers of Dossie Easton and Janet Hardy’s The Ethical Slut and Eve Rickert and Franklin Veaux’s More Than Two.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?