Sue O'Brien

89 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The River You Touch: Making a Life on Moving Water

A lyrical exploration of a beloved place and lifestyle steeped in the natural world, by a writer for whom quality of life supersedes the need for financial security. Will appeal to readers who relish memoirs that skillfully intertwine nature, the American West, and fishing.
PREMIUM

The Hidden Universe: Adventures in Biodiversity

Readers interested in biodiversity, the environment, or ecology will enjoy this fascinating work. Readers advisory: for accounts of current innovative projects underway to preserve or restore biodiversity, check out Kinari Webb’s Guardians of the Trees and Hannah Lewis’s Mini-Forest Revolution.
PREMIUM

What Your Food Ate: How To Heal Our Land and Reclaim Our Health

This fascinating look at how soil health affects the health of plants, livestock, and people will appeal to those interested in regenerative agriculture, the welfare of livestock, soil science, and more.
PREMIUM

Mini-Forest Revolution: Using the Miyawaki Method To Rapidly Rewild the World

An important and fascinating look at how small forests of native plants create corridors of habitat and provide ecosystem services. It will be relished by environmentalists, gardeners, and fans of Doug Tallamy’s Nature’s Best Hope.
PREMIUM

Soundings: Journeys in the Company of Whales

This memoir, with its vividly described events and locales, along with its natural history frame, will appeal to readers who enjoy narrative nonfiction or travel memoirs about women recreating themselves, natural history, Indigenous cultures, and whales. Fans of Margaret Renkl’s Late Migrations or Meredith May’s The Honey Bus will relish Cunningham’s story.
PREMIUM

What Bees Want: Beekeeping as Nature Intended

An informative, captivating look at natural beekeeping useful for backyard beekeepers and anyone fascinated by bees; however, not for those looking to maximize honey production.
PREMIUM

Sentient: How Animals Illuminate the Wonder of Our Human Senses

An engaging, thoroughly researched work for thoughtful readers that will appeal to those who wish to explore the senses, neuroscience, and the extraordinary abilities of animals. Higgins is a patient guide, and her writing is accessible throughout.
PREMIUM

The Book of Hope: A Survival Guide for Trying Times

An inspiring, personal, hopeful look at ways in which people can work towards solutions to serious problems to prevent further environmental disaster. This book will appeal to Goodall’s many fans, conservationists, and anyone who cares about the planet and needs a dose of hope.
PREMIUM

Fox and I: An Uncommon Friendship

A beautiful exploration of a human/wild animal relationship that intertwines Raven’s musings about her past, present, and future into a mostly factual, at times imagined, whole that will appeal to readers who enjoy natural history essays, memoirs, foxes, the American West, or stories about women discovering themselves.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?