Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

University of Iowa Libraries: An Introduction to the New Scholarly Impact Department

A Collection of Fast Facts and Statistics About the Veteran Population in the United States

Research Article: “GORC: A Large Contextual Citation Graph of Academic Papers” (Preprint)

Libraries Do Well at Polls, New Funding Lags

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Nov. 11, 2019 | Book Pulse

Spanish Publishing: Community, Culture, & Growth

Barbara’s Picks (MS-13, the Nonlinear Life, the Paradise Fire, Conditional Citizenship, Galileo, & Parenting and Grandparenting), Plus Self-Help and Final Nonfiction Titles: Nonfiction Previews, May 2020. Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Brooks, Moore, Mosse, & Straub, Plus Fiction Newcomers Burns and Serritella), with Historicals, Beach Reads, and Love/Family/Friends: Pop Fiction Previews, May 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (André Gregory, Olivia Laing, Laura Lippman, & Jed Perl Plus More Essential Arts Titles: Arts Previews, May 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Israel: Microsoft Implementing AI in Creating Archive Of David Ben-Gurion’s Handwritten Works

Article Preprint: “bioRxiv: the Preprint Server”

Report: Thousands Use George Washington University Libraries’ Social Media Archive Tool Six Years After Debut

Lin-Manuel Miranda Partners with Google to Digitize Art From Major Puerto Rican Museums

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Releases OER Toolkit (Freely Available)

Snøhetta Reveals Its $100 Million Charlotte, North Carolina, Library

Webinar Video: “Generating Metadata with AI – Experience of the National Library of the Netherlands”

Video: Conference Keynote: Kumsal Bayazit, CEO, Elsevier, Delivers Keynote at The Charleston Conference 2019

Webrecoder.io Shares “Self-Hosted Archival Embeds” Proof of Concept

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

PREMIUM

Not Afraid: The Evolution of Eminem

Bozza’s eloquent tribute to Eminem will resonate with fans of hip-hop and enthusiasts of popular music biographies.

The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience

Broad in scope, this will appeal to a wide audience owing to the range of women spotlighted. Given its length, this is a book to savor over multiple sittings, allowing readers to revisit well-known heroines or discover new ones among the pages.

The Spoilt Quilt and Other Frontier Stories: Pioneering Women of the West

Western literature has passed in and out of fashion; at present there’s a movement toward openness and candor regarding the U.S. march to the west. This compilation provides an excellent starting point for book club discussions of Americans in these times.
PREMIUM

Blossoms 666

The horrors of teen cliques as well as the machinations of demonic forces blossom throughout this latest from Bunn (Harrow County), Braga (Bombshells), and colorist Herms (Sonic Boom), unleashing a tense high school terror tale with vibrant visuals reminiscent of Patrick Nagel. [Previewed in Ingrid Bohnenkamp’s Graphic Novels spotlight, “Mass Appeal,” LJ 6/19.]
PREMIUM

The Clergyman’s Wife: A Pride & Prejudice Novel

Recommended for general fiction collections and Austen fans eager to revisit the popular characters and places in Pride and Prejudice.

PREMIUM

The Heap

Adams’s debut is an effective, jolting dystopic novel that should appeal widely. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/19.]

Oprah Picks Olive and A Warning Arrives, also Page to Screen, Nov. 8, 2019 | Book Pulse

All the President’s Women: Donald Trump and the Making of a Predator

While many of the most shocking incidents discussed here are public knowledge, the significant new material and the book’s usefulness as a single-volume source on the topic make this not only a critical current read but one likely to become even more important in the future.

PREMIUM

Dirty Letters

Readers who can overlook a few stretched plot points in order to enjoy the sizzling chemistry will gravitate to the latest entry from acclaimed writing duo Keeland and Ward (Hate Notes; “Rush” series).
PREMIUM

Marfa Garden: The Wonders of Dry Desert Plants

Readers will be attracted to the surprising beauty of these dry desert plants and should consider using them to promote water conservation. An appealing choice for garden artists, landscapers, and home gardeners in the Southwest and elsewhere.

She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement

A compelling accounting of the events that helped ignite Me Too. Highly recommended for readers interested in social justice and the reporting process.
PREMIUM

Stealing Cinderella: How I Became an International Fugitive for Love

Though it occasionally (if stereotypically) sheds light on differences between American and South Korean cultures, this memoir cannot be recommended. Readers in search of an American’s experience in South Korea might want instead to turn to Elizabeth Rice’s Rituals of Separation.
PREMIUM

Doomsday Clock: Part 1

A tense and gripping homage to Watchmen’s dissection of costumed crime fighters that also seems interested in probing the limits of its ongoing influence. A must for series followers, and a boon for DC fans seeking next chapters in its ever-expanding universe.
PREMIUM

Smoke Screen

Plot twists and likable characters light up this latest romantic suspense from best-selling author Blackstock (“Run” series). Themes of redemption and grace mark this love story that will be a hit among fans of Christian fiction and clean romantic suspense.
PREMIUM

Protecting Tanner Hollow

Gripping and fast-paced romantic suspense recommended for readers of Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and Colleen Coble.
PREMIUM

James Baldwin: Living in Fire

A clear, incisive writer, Mullen succeeds with providing a fresh perspective on an author he so obviously admires. Recommended for readers seeking a broader understanding of the opinions of one of the great writers of the 20th century.

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

Watch: The Modernization of the Library of Congress is Focus of U.S. Senate Hearing

Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Announces Support for the MIT Framework for Publisher Contracts

Report: “Why Emma Boettcher’s ‘Jeopardy!’ Win Became a Celebration For Librarians”

Happy World Digital Preservation Day 2019!

Roundup (November 6, 2019)

New Bestsellers, Nov. 7, 2019 | Book Pulse

Digital Labor Forum Tackles Temp Jobs on Grant, Digitization Projects | Peer to Peer Review

Open Source FOLIO LSP Nears Launch, as Lehigh U. Library Partners with Index Data

New Issue Brief From Ithaka S+R: “What Do Our Users Need? An Evidence-Based Approach for Designing New Services”

Data Storage: Microsoft’s Project Silica Proof of Concept Stores Warner Bros. ‘Superman’ Movie on Quartz Glass

November 2019 Library Budget and Bond Issue Election Results Roundup

GPO Completes Digitization of 1,300 Congressional Hearings

Leaked Document on Elsevier Negotiations in the Netherland Sparks Controversy

Higher Education: A New and Improved Version of The Hechinger Report’s Tuition Tracker Tool

Higher Education: A New and Improved Version of The Hechinger Report’s Tuition Tracker Tool is Now Online

International Labor Organization (ILO) Launches New Statistics Portal

International Labor Organization (ILO) Launches New Statistics Portal

Ernest Gaines Dies, plus More Award News, Nov. 6, 2019 | Book Pulse

A Florida County Commission Refuses to Provide Library Access to NY Times, Calling it “Fake News”

Library Budget and Bond Issue Election Results Roundup

Library Journal Honored with 2019 Folio: Awards

New Report and Action Plan: “Toward a National Archival Finding Aid Network”

Freedom House Publishes “Freedom on the Net 2019” Report

Reference: New Annotated Webliography: “Mental Health Awareness: Resources for Everyone”

Two Silicon Valley Congresswomen Propose a New Federal Agency to Enforce Online Privacy Rights

Indiana University’s Lilly Library Releases Online Finding Aid for Collection of 900 Historic Periodicals and Newspapers

Journal Article: Cracking the Copyright Dilemma in Software Preservation Protecting Digital Culture through Fair Use Consensus

Library Design: At Cornell’s New Fine Arts Library, the Book Sets the Standard

Ohio University: Alden Library’s Budget Reduced by $800,000 Over Past 3 Years

Book Digitization: Better World Books is Now Owned by a Non-Profit Affiliated with the Internet Archive

New Web Report Provides International Comparisons of U.S. 8th Graders’ Computer and Information Literacy

The OAPEN Library of Open Access Books Introduces “Collection View”

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) Removes Seal of Outstanding Best Practice From More Than 40 Journals

Journal Article: Automatically Appraising the Credibility of Vaccine-Related Web Pages Shared on Social Media: A Twitter Surveillance Study

Association Of Southeastern Research Libraries (ASERL) Launches Shared Exhibit to Recognize 400th Anniversary of the Arrival of First Enslaved Persons in English Colonies

Wake Up, Your House Is on Fire | Sustainability

Academic Librarians and the Pursuit of Happiness | From the Bell Tower

November Book Picks and More Awards Announced, Nov. 5, 2019 | Book Pulse

Report: Ten State Librarians and the Executive Director of COSLA Meet with John Sargent, CEO of Macmillan

Microsoft AI Tool Turns a Business’s Data Into Wikipedia-Like Snapshots

Standards: Adobe, The New York Times Company and Twitter Announce Content Authenticity Initiative to Develop Industry Standard for Content Attribution

Library of Congress Formally Announces Four New Digital Collections (History of Women’s Suffrage, Civil War, Landscape Architecture and Monetary Policy)

Collection Development: Reference Resources Roundup #16 (A Curated Collection of Recently Published or Updated Data-Rich Reports Available on the Open Web)

Roundup (November 4, 2019)

A Conversation with Kiley Reid about Such a Fun Age

Barbara’s Picks (Ackerman, Ford, Lacey, McBride, Marcom, Mason, Millet, Shriver), Plus Writers on the Rise: Literary Fiction Previews, May 2020, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Gaige, Gye, Levin, Swift, Tyler): Literary Fiction Previews, Last-Minute April Titles | Prepub Alert

Three Significant Biographies: Nonfiction Previews, May 2020, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Nov. 4, 2019 | Book Pulse

Barbara’s Picks (Bailyn, Dallek, Jerkins, Van Meter), Plus American History, World War II, and the Big Picture: History Previews, May 2020, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

2

Hunters Point Library Confronts Accessibility Issues

1

On Reclamation | Editorial

1

New Report Shares Results of California’s K-12 Online Content Project First Year

Report: UNSILO Publishes Results From “AI in Academic Publishing Survey 2019”

Florida County Commission Refuses to Provide Library Access to NY Times, Calling it “Fake News”

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.