Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

A New Trailer for 'The Underground Railroad' | Book Pulse

2021 RWA Vivian Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

2021 Hugo Awards Finalists Announced | Book Pulse

How the Elements Were Named, Rainbow Palate, Pioneering British Women Chemists, and More in Chemistry | Academic Best Sellers

Read-Alikes for ‘Ocean Prey’ by John Sandford | LibraryReads

Jason Reynolds Is the Inaugural Honorary Chair of Banned Books Week | Book Pulse

Historical Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Seeking Justice and Equality: Social Science Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Voices from Prison: Nonfiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

From Consciousness & Cyberwar to Dogs, Antelopes & Octopuses: STEM Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Lighting Up the Holidays: Fiction Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Biography & Memoir Best Sellers, Apr. 2021 | Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

'Ocean Prey' by John Sandford Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Lighter Step-By-Step Instant Pot Cookbook

A handy resource that will most likely be as popular as Eisner’s previous books; this one has something for everyone.
PREMIUM

Letter to a Young Female Physician: Notes from a Medical Life

A candid account that will spark the interest of aspiring physicians.
PREMIUM

Good Dog: Celebrating Dogs Who Change, and Sometimes Even Save, Our Lives

A loving look at how dogs care for people.
PREMIUM

The Comfort Crisis: Embrace Discomfort to Reclaim Your Wild, Happy, Healthy Self

Despite some flaws, this is an engaging read, recommended for those who enjoy outdoor writing, as well as for armchair (therefore very comfortable) critics of the modern lifestyle.
PREMIUM

Count Down: How Our Modern World Is Threatening Sperm Counts, Altering Male and Female Reproductive Development, and Imperiling the Future of the Human Race

Well-researched, with an extensive bibliography and a useful glossary of key concepts. A fast-paced account that offers myriad recommendations for lifestyle changes to reduce exposure to the chemicals that Swan and Colino identify as threats to the future of humankind.
PREMIUM

Norman Jewison: A Director’s Life

A thoroughly enjoyable and detailed look at a memorable life in film.
PREMIUM

Why Wakanda Matters: What Black Panther Reveals About Psychology, Identity, and Communication

While academic in nature, these essays are accessible to general readers. Howard’s work is a solid addition to media studies sections in both public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

You’re History: The Twelve Strangest Women in Music

Those interested in music criticism will enjoy this in-depth study of unique women voices in pop music.
PREMIUM

In Teachers We Trust: The Finnish Way to World-Class Schools

For all readers, especially educators and parents, seeking a persuasive explanation for the excellent results of Finnish schools.
PREMIUM

Crime Time: Twenty True Tales of Murder, Madness, and Mayhem

This entertaining, concise collection will entice fans of true crime and history. Readers may also enjoy Mike Rothmiller’s True Crime Chronicles: Serial Killers, Outlaws, and Justice…Real Crime Stories from the 1800s.
PREMIUM

Lucky: How Joe Biden Barely Won the Presidency

Readers who enjoy political coverage of the election process and want to know more about Joe Biden’s campaign will be well informed by this book.
PREMIUM

Twilight Man: Love and Ruin in the Shadows of Hollywood and the Clark Empire

This is a definite must-read for fans of early Hollywood, and those interested in LGBTQ history, with plenty of scandals and gossip to grab interest.
PREMIUM

Psychiana Man: A Mail-Order Prophet, His Followers, and the Power of Belief in Hard Times

This bizarre, gripping, yet balanced account of a charismatic man and an enterprise that prospered under the guise of religion will appeal to true crime fans and those interested in religious cults, including readers of Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood and the Prison of Belief.
PREMIUM

Kin

Rodenberg writes with an evocative and unflinching style, despite sometimes jarring shifts in narrative. This is a richly nuanced portrait of people and place, along with the bounds of forgiveness. Good for biography readers eager to explore the complexities of family relationships, or readers interested in women’s lives in Appalachia.
PREMIUM

Black Snake: Standing Rock, the Dakota Access Pipeline, and Environmental Justice

A humanistic investigative documentation of the legal and political battle of DAPL. It will appeal to readers interested in Indigenous movements, environmental movements, and the historical significance of this protest.

The Profession: A Memoir of Community, Race, and the Arc of Policing in America

A candid, even-handed account that is highly recommended for popular collections. A natural fit for libraries where The Turnaround circulated well.
PREMIUM

The Nine: The True Story of a Band of Women Who Survived the Worst of Nazi Germany

A fast-paced account that is strongly recommended for lovers of action-oriented narrative nonfiction, and for women’s history collections.
PREMIUM

A Fire in the Wilderness: The First Battle between Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee

Reeves shows that battles can reveal heroism not through victories but at a basic level of survival. He has produced an evocative account of the human costs of the Civil War.

What the Devil Knows

The St. Cyr series, and this entry in particular (following Who Speaks for the Damned), is highly recommended for readers who want their history appropriately dark and gritty, their politics dirty and corrupt, and their mystery fascinating, convoluted, and just as relevant now as it was then. Sebastian St. Cyr, with his foot in the aristocracy and his eye on justice, is a hero to be followed into whatever dark corner he investigates.
PREMIUM

The Company

Spencer, author of various series featuring police officers (“Jennie Redhead”; “Monika Paniatowski”) offers an intense, convoluted stand-alone. It’s not always easy to piece together Rob’s twisted thoughts and the police investigation, but readers who enjoy Spencer’s works might want to try.
PREMIUM

A Fatal First Night

Readers who enjoy historical mysteries with a touch of romance will enjoy the period details and strong female characters, as well as Ella’s colorful parrot, Montezuma.

You Love Me

Fans of the series will want to read this book in one sitting. It’s wickedly full of twists, turns, and a dizzying array of pop culture references and witticisms.
PREMIUM

Five Ways To Disappear

This mystery has dark elements that contrast with the beautiful locale; it will please fans of the series, as well as those who appreciate noir novels in general. The characters are well developed, with their faults laid out for readers. The several strands of the plot are all brought together quite acceptably in the denouement, except for Cal’s earlier crime, which is left to readers’ imagination; the author intends this to be the last book in the series.
PREMIUM

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

A delightful read for fans of light paranormal romances or cozy romances in general.
PREMIUM

Open Your Heart

Readers who prioritize hot sex scenes and character-driven plots, as well as fans of Hodges’s previous novels, will enjoy this installment.

The Intimacy Experiment

Recommended for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, as well as fans of the author’s debut.

The Venice Sketchbook

This novel’s engaging entertainment is enhanced by its dual time line that uncovers Juliet’s secrets, and a plot enlivened by coincidences and romance. A must-read for Bowen fans and historical fiction enthusiasts.

C Pam Zhang, Brandon Taylor Among NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award Finalists | Book Pulse

A Lot Can Happen in the Middle of Nowhere: The Untold Story of the Making of Fargo

Much like the movie it dissects, this book is quirky and intelligent, with surprising revelations. A treat for cinephiles and fans of the Coen brothers.

PREMIUM

Dissent: The Radicalization of the Republican Party and Its Capture of the Court

This exhaustively detailed book will engage general readers interested in civic duty and privacy. Contemporary journalistic treatments of the confirmation will have to suffice until historical perspective produces what scholars may consider a definitive account.

'The Hill We Climb' by Amanda Gorman Tops Bestseller Lists | Book Pulse

Abolitionist Leaders | Social Sciences Reviews

'The Secret Lives of Church Ladies' Wins 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award | Book Pulse

Intimations, Becoming Human, Re-Enchanted, and More in Literary Criticism | Academic Best Sellers

Jackie O’s Secret Affair Revealed in

The French Paradox

Q & A with Nasim Marashi

Graphic Novels 2021 Preview: Read Between the Panels

Panels with a Purpose: An Interview with Mariko Tamaki

Read-Alikes for ‘Life’s Too Short’ by Abby Jimenez | LibraryReads

Jenna Bush Hager Picks 'Good Company' | Book Pulse

A Hillary Clinton/Louise Penny Thriller, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Child, Connolly, Nesbø, Rosenfield, Unger & More: Thriller Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Couric, Harjo, Ruhl, Sedaris & More: Memoir Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Reassessing the Past | History Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

HarperCollins Acquires Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

‘The Four Winds,’ ‘The Blacktongue Thief,’ and 55 Other Exceptional Titles | Starred Reviews, Apr. 2021

'Life's Too Short' by Abby Jimenez Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

The Beginner’s Guide to Growing Great Vegetables

Enthusiastically recommended for new and novice gardeners who want a straightforward, unfussy guide to growing their own food.
PREMIUM

David and Ameena

Rao (coauthor, Centaur) makes her solo debut with a novel rich in imagery and emotions. It challenges the reader to look deep into the characters through their actions, as an almost omniscient narrative voice hints at their future. Love or hate them, they are memorable. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Song of the Forever Rains

Mellow’s (The Animal Under the Fur) exciting premise is rather slow to start, and the romantic heat between Larkyra and Darius is tepid until the very end. Although the teenage heroine gives the book young adult crossover potential, readers will be left uncertain why Larkyra was in the dark as to Darius’s motives.
PREMIUM

I Thought You Said This Would Work

Over the course of the book, readers will discover what caused the rift between Holly and Samantha. However, the most engaging part of the story is how the characters dig themselves out of their ruts in order to give themselves a chance to look toward the future.

Lost in Paris

This debut novel will appeal to historical fiction readers, Francophiles, those who enjoy stories about mother-daughter relationships, and fans of Woody Allen’s 2011 movie, Midnight in Paris. The historical mystery, beautiful setting, and vivid characters make this a must-read.
PREMIUM

Death with a Double Edge

This atmospheric and fast-paced novel is a welcome addition to the series. Those who enjoy the interaction between Daniel and Miriam fford Croft may be disappointed since she only makes a brief appearance in this novel. Recommended to fans of historical British mysteries, such as those by Charles Finch and Charles Todd, as well as fans of Perry’s other series.
PREMIUM

Hour of the Witch

Bohjalian’s (Midwives) historical novel is full of twists and turns. Though not a typical suspense novel, the story has many of the page-turning plot lines of a thriller, and is sure to keep readers enthralled. Though it’s set in the 1600s, Mary’s story resonates today, as it addresses the role religious and societal expectations can play in the lives of individuals. A must-read and highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Transient Desires

Brunetti continues to delight, and this will do well in libraries where the series has proved popular.
PREMIUM

Local Woman Missing

The latest from Kubica (The Good Girl; The Other Mrs.) will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Gregg Olsen and readers who enjoy missing-persons novels. The twists, turns, and an unpredictable ending make it irresistible.

The Anatomy of Desire

For fans of true crime and podcasts such as Serial, this riveting mock podcast docudrama ratchets up the suspense as readers glimpse every angle of the story from a 360–degree view.
PREMIUM

The Watcher Girl

Kent’s (When I Was You) psychological suspense thriller delivers with an interesting premise, captivating characters, and unexpected twists.
PREMIUM

The Border: A Journey Around Russia Through North Korea, China, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Poland, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Norway, and the Northeast Passage

Will appeal to fans of travel books who enjoy additional background and history of destinations; particularly good for readers familiar with the areas around Russia.
PREMIUM

Out of the Shadows: Six Visionary Victorian Women in Search of a Public Voice

Brisk and entertaining, this biography should draw the attention of readers interested in the social effects of the Spiritualist movement, or in 19th-century women’s history.
PREMIUM

What Kind of Ancestor Do You Want To Be?

Recommended for readers interested in environmentalism, anthropology, sociology, history, philosophy, and Indigenous peoples in the U.S.
PREMIUM

Pregnant Girl: A Story of Teen Motherhood, College, and Creating a Better Future for Young Families

Lewis interweaves her own account of being a pregnant teen and her extensive research, to tie proposed solutions directly to facts. A complementary work is Melanie Watkins’s Taking My Medicine, although Watkins’s book is more memoir than research.
PREMIUM

Downeast: Five Maine Girls and the Unseen Story of Rural America

A sensitive paean to an oft-overlooked region of the United States and the young women who live there. Recommended for readers seeking books with a strong sense of place or about girls facing the challenges of the 21st century.
PREMIUM

Meade at Gettysburg: A Study in Command

An instructive book about Civil War generalship that will engage and inform anyone interested in the dynamics of command from the perspective of those in charge.
PREMIUM

Maverick: A Biography of Thomas Sowell

Based on interviews and ideas replete in Sowell’s innumerable books, this biography is seasoned with selections from the economist’s sardonic quips. While many will disagree with his proposals, few should disregard his impact.
PREMIUM

The Hidden Curriculum: First Generation Students at Legacy Universities

Gable’s suggestions are well written and thoughtfully conveyed; university administrators and others interested in higher education will find much to consider.
PREMIUM

Behold the Land: The Black Arts Movement in the South

A scholarly work recommended for readers interested in Black history and culture in the U.S.
PREMIUM

Music, Math, and Mind: The Physics and Neuroscience of Music

Spending time inside the brain of this talented scholar and artist is worth the price of admission; a truly joyful experience.
PREMIUM

Todd Webb in Africa: Outside the Frame

Although it’s fascinating as a history, Webb’s body of work is artistically underwhelming; it resembles a really good Life magazine photo-essay, but it lacks the éclat of photographers like Henri Cartier-Bresson or Malick Sidibé. This narrative of Webb’s photos and their creation will engage primarily readers who are already interested in the medium and the message.
PREMIUM

Elizabeth and Monty: The Untold Story of Their Intimate Friendship

A well-researched work that will appeal to readers who like their celebrity biographies juicy.
PREMIUM

A Wonderful Guy: Conversations with the Great Men of Musical Theater

This funny, charming, and inspiring look into the world behind the footlights will delight fans of musical theater and those hoping to see their own names in lights someday.
PREMIUM

The Most Beautiful Disaster: How God Makes Miracles out of Our Mistakes

While there is a bit of a reliance on “the enemy” to explain bad behavior, Carpenter’s message is basically a hopeful one that emphasizes her concept of God’s love.

I Believe I’ll Go Back Home: Roots and Revival in New England Folk Music

Curren’s work is both historically important and vital reading for the present moment. Our need for a spiritual and cultural revival is, it would seem, as essential and natural as our need to sing. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Summer Movies: 30 Sun-Drenched Classics

This fun compendium will delight trip planners who like their vacations movie-oriented, as well as everyone who loves classic films.

Ebony Magazine Considers ‘Fiction’s New School of Black Women Heroines’ | Book Pulse

X Troop: The Secret Jewish Commandos of World War II

Readers interested in World War II tales of bravery and heroism or Jewish studies will enjoy this.

PREMIUM

Soundbite: The Admissions Secret That Gets You into College and Beyond

Occasionally the author’s promotion of her approach comes across like an infomercial. Overall, however, the inclusion of exercises, examples, and Soundbites from real students results in an extremely useful guide for parents, students, counselors, and educators.
PREMIUM

American Republics: A Continental History of the United States, 1783–1850

This insightful and engaging survey is essential reading for scholars as well as casual readers of history.
PREMIUM

Digital Body Language: How To Build Trust and Connection, No Matter the Distance

Written in an approachable style, and organized such that readers can pick and choose sections that apply to their situation, this will be a useful resource for anyone who struggles with online communication.
PREMIUM

Susan, Linda, Nina & Cokie: The Extraordinary Story of the Founding Mothers of NPR

Readers interested in feminism, women’s history, and biography will be rewarded with a great story that deserves to be widely known.
PREMIUM

How to Be Human: An Autistic Man’s Guide to Life

A unique memoir showing the importance of diversity of thought. Fleming also makes clear the lasting impacts of language. An ideal complement to I Have Been Buried under Years of Dust, by Valerie Gilpeer and Emily Grodin.
PREMIUM

Besharam: On Love and Other Bad Behaviors

A phenomenal debut, ideal for readers interested in women’s issues and women’s voices.
PREMIUM

Wait, I’m Working with Who?!? The Essential Guide to Dealing with Difficult Coworkers, Annoying Managers, and Other Toxic Personalities

A very practical book. Highly recommended for anyone in the workforce, as well as business students who are studying management techniques and organizational behavior.
PREMIUM

Low Country

Jones’s gift for spinning a tale is readily apparent, and her intertwining the history of the Low Country with her own familial history gives the book depth. A haunting memoir with poetic prose that will appeal to a large audience, owing to its interesting subject and skillful writing.
PREMIUM

Permission to Dream

This fable-like tale, which blends biography and self-help, is an inspirational reminder to dream big and dream often. Gardner’s latest memoir will especially resonate with readers of Mitch Albom and Paulo Coelho.
PREMIUM

Crying in H Mart

Zauner has created a memoir that is distinctly her own, but it will leave a mark on anyone who reads it
PREMIUM

Everything Is Fine

Granata’s skills, as a writer and former English teacher, shine here; he not only brings a personal perspective to living alongside a family member with mental illness, but also shows that there isn’t a right way to grieve. A welcome memoir.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?