Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher
PREMIUM

A Time for Swords

For readers who enjoy historical adventures, especially those set in the Viking Age.
PREMIUM

Death on Ocean Boulevard: Inside the Coronado Mansion Case

An absorbing chronicle of a bizarre story, this is the perfect addition for true crime sections.
PREMIUM

The Orphans of Davenport: Eugenics, the Great Depression, and the War Over Children’s Intelligence

A remarkable unsung history, told with empathy, nuance, and a knack for character-driven storytelling.
PREMIUM

The Tiny Bee That Hovers at the Center of the World

A dreamlike, wandering meditation on place and memory. Readers of literature or poetic prose will enjoy riding along paths of the Southwest and wondering about bygone eras with Searcy.
PREMIUM

All Made Up: The Power and Pitfalls of Beauty Culture, from Cleopatra to Kim Kardashian

While at times this book can feel jumbled because of how much content it seeks to cover, the topic and analysis are welcome and insightful, and the global nature of the coverage is especially appreciated.
PREMIUM

The Truth About the O. J. Simpson Trial: By the Architect of the Defense

Headstrong and unwavering, Bailey centers himself as the brains of the Dream Team and reiterates main points of the Simpson case in a cogent, if biased fashion.
PREMIUM

Resistance

Thought-provoking elements fail to cohere in this underwhelming graphic novel.
PREMIUM

The Man in the Iron Mask: The True Story of Europe’s Most Famous Prisoner

Dense with detail, this comprehensive work requires some knowledge or interest in this specific period of French history.
PREMIUM

The Atlas of Disappearing Places: Our Coasts and Oceans in the Climate Crisis

While the case studies themselves are fairly discouraging, the beautiful maps and hopeful vignettes about the future temper this important book about climate change in our world.
PREMIUM

What a Happy Family

This contemporary Indian American family drama with a strong dose of psychology will have readers rooting for the characters despite their human shortcomings.
PREMIUM

Careless Whispers

Readers who crave a romance set amidst family drama and high-stakes business deals will find their perfect match.
PREMIUM

From the River to the Sea: The Untold Story of the Railroad War That Made the West

This is not just the story of two bitterly determined railroad companies; it’s also a portrait of a violent and visionary strain of the American psyche, one that Sedgwick argues is very much still with us. This will primarily appeal to readers interested in railroad history.

After Francesco

In this highly recommended novel, the pain and rage felt by Kevin and those in the trenches with him is palpable and uncomfortable and real. So too is the love and warmth of spirit they manage to nurture in order to survive.

Dedicated: The Case for Commitment in an Age of Infinite Browsing

This title is an excellent purchase for all public libraries.
PREMIUM

Kennedy’s Avenger: Assassination, Conspiracy, and the Forgotten Trial of Jack Ruby

This account makes the trial accessible and presents Ruby sympathetically, as a man victimized by lawyerly theatrics, a media hungry for a conviction, and a nation grieving over the loss of Kennedy. The book will fascinate nonfiction courtroom drama readers and JFK assassination buffs still looking for a conspiracy link between Oswald and Ruby.

PREMIUM

All the Things I Meant To Tell You

Readers needn’t have read the first book about Hahna, Twila, and Kimberly to be immediately caught up in this story. The longtime best friends deal with wedding, sorority sister, and relationship drama, as they maintain composure and appearances and keep all hell from breaking loose.
PREMIUM

The Cult of We: WeWork, Adam Neumann, and the Great Startup Delusion

This juicy cautionary tale, which complements the 2021 documentary WeWork: Or the Making and Breaking of a $47 Billion Unicorn, will appeal to fans of high drama in business and commerce.

PREMIUM

Family Reunion

Another winner from Thayer, this upbeat women’s fiction will be enjoyed by many.

Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

Hall does it again with this culturally relevant, wonderfully escapist foray into the baking world. This is a must-buy for any library.

PREMIUM

Berlioz: A Listener’s Guide

A concise and accessible introduction. For classical music listeners, particularly those seeking familiarity with Berlioz’s work.
PREMIUM

Animal

Offering a gutsily refocused look at the male–female power exchange, Taddeo brings Joan to awareness and some agency, challenging women to reconsider assumptions and desires framed by men even as she viscerally registers all the reasons for women’s anger. A brilliant if uncomfortable provocation, sometimes messily intense but willing to take risks; likely to stir talk--and argument.

PREMIUM

Two Boys at Breakwater

The highlight of this story is the friendship between Guy and Dean; forged through murder and crime, their loyal bond is a high point in a gritty read.
PREMIUM

The Day the Markets Roared: How a 1982 Forecast Sparked a Global Bull Market

Readers interested in economics and finance will find this memoir of compelling interest, and it has the potential for a wide audience with the general public as well.

The 2021 ASFS Nommo Awards Longlists Are Announced | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Director: My Years Assisting J. Edgar Hoover

Readers should compare Letersky’s book with Hoover’s FBI by Cartha DeLoach, a 25-year FBI veteran who became number three in the agency (outranked only by Clyde Tolson); The Real J. Edgar Hoover by former assistant FBI director Ray Wannall; and the controversial book J. Edgar Hoover by Curt Gentry.

Movie Workers: The Women Who Made British Cinema

Highlighting the often-unseen but important accomplishments of women in film, this is a comprehensive, necessary addition to any cinephile’s collection.
PREMIUM

William Greaves: Filmmaking as Mission

Combining critical essays by filmmakers and academics and fascinating articles by Greaves, this is an important addition to the history of American filmmaking.

33rd Annual Triangle Award Winners Are Announced | Book Pulse

Hidden Valley Road, How Millennials Became the Burnout Generation, Rethinking Gender and More in Psychology | Academic Best Sellers

Painting, Photography, Pottery & T-Shirts: Visual Arts Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Studying Dostoevsky, Revisiting Highsmith & More: Literature Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone’: Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

From Akpan to Yun: Literary Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Brackston, Bradford, Steel & More: Historical Fiction, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

LeVar Burton Launches Book Club | Book Pulse

U.S. Book Show To Replace Book Expo, Offers Library Track | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘People We Meet on Vacation,’ by Emily Henry | LibraryReads

Must-Have Manga | Collection Development

Cooking Best-Sellers, May 2021 | The Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

'People We Meet on Vacation' by Emily Henry Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Tragedy Plus Time: National Trauma and Television Comedy

A must for media and communication studies departments, this work will also appeal to many comedy fans, traumatologists, and the generally curious.
PREMIUM

How To Kidnap the Rich

Debut author Raina’s gritty description of Ramesh’s downward spiral and the story’s over-the-top action give this novel a cinematic feel. Ramesh has a singular voice, and readers will come to understand how and why he has made the decisions he has. This tale should appeal to fans of the 2021 Netflix series The White Tiger, or possibly films such as Parasite and Slumdog Millionaire; the latter is referenced in the novel.
PREMIUM

The Mastermind

Lane’s narrative bounces around timelines, and introduces an abundance of characters and backstories quickly. The reunion of Danny and Felix happens early, so some suspense is lost. At its heart, this is a family drama that flounders a bit in the structure of the narrative.

Everybody: A Book about Freedom

There are moments in this book that may feel too theoretical; yet, when Laing explores and expresses the ways in which our bodies are full of power, she offers a form of support we could all use more of as we navigate our own bodies and relearn what it means to value them. This is worthwhile, reflective reading.
PREMIUM

The Cave Dwellers

A fascinating, gossipy glimpse into the lives of the one percent (with footnotes) that should appeal to readers who enjoyed The Assistants, by Camille Perri, or Capital Girls, by Ella Monroe.
PREMIUM

In My Own Time: An Autobiography

Burton’s autobiography is as rich and dense as his prolific career. Those with a serious interest in classical music will be delighted.
PREMIUM

Arctic Storm Rising

Filled with detailed descriptions of weapons and aircraft, as well as Brown’s trademark action and suspense, this series starter should take off like its numerous predecessors.
PREMIUM

The Photographer

Despite the heightened emotional state and slow burn throughout the novel, readers will be disappointed by Carter’s sudden, surprisingly dull conclusion.
PREMIUM

The Rules of Arrangement

The bustling city of Mumbai comes alive through Bhatia’s sparkling narrative of a young woman finding her place in the world and in her family while maintaining her identity.

Love at First

This well-written novel moves quickly, and readers will be unable to put it down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

Notes on Grief

A worthwhile mediation on coming to terms with grief. Especially as we continue to reckon with loss, this reflective account will be valuable to the many people unexpectedly grieving from afar.
PREMIUM

Madam Speaker: Nancy Pelosi and the Lessons of Power

Page has written a comprehensive biography of Pelosi that follows her entire career in politics and describes how early family experiences influenced her policies and political leadership style.
PREMIUM

Highway Blue

The narrative is replete with brooding description and a sense of studied ennui. A detachment from a real sense of place causes a feeling of floating through amorphous existence. Recommended for fans of the indeterminate.

Anyone for Edmund?

There are many laugh-out-loud moments as the characters blunder their way through this wonderful story. Edge mixes politics, history, mysticism, and humor in this engrossing read, which will appeal to fans of political fiction with a twist.
PREMIUM

Life, Unscheduled

Rockaway’s newest standalone offers an honest and open look at the mental health and relationship struggles of a modern career woman. Nicole’s struggles are real and relatable, while her happy ending is hard-earned and sweet.
PREMIUM

Mentoring Each Other: Teachers Listening, Learning, and Sharing To Create More Successful Classrooms

This well-researched book provides an excellent guide to the literature on this topic.
PREMIUM

Tables & Spreads: A Go-To Guide for Beautiful Snacks, Intimate Gatherings, and Inviting Feasts

Ideal for party planners, this cookbook offers a score of ideas. A useful addition for libraries looking for more books on entertaining.
PREMIUM

The Mysteries of Cinema: Movies and Imagination

Academic libraries that wish to expand their film criticism section might consider this work, but general collections should avoid it.
PREMIUM

Asadora!, Vol. 2

Answers remain elusive as to how Asa’s story connects to the modern-day kaiju rampage depicted in volume one of the series, but Urasawa’s masterful storytelling and brisk pacing result in an entertaining page-turner.
PREMIUM

Widespread Panic

There’s energy in this book, as in all of Ellroy’s fiction, but here it wears the reader down as much as it excites.
PREMIUM

Young Blood

Winner of the prestigious Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa when it was first published 10 years ago, this raw coming-of-age novel will resonate with its new audiences for its all-embracing tale of young people eager to escape poverty but with too few choices.
PREMIUM

The Black Ghost

An appealingly gritty, hard-boiled tale reminiscent of classic pulp thrillers, featuring a charismatic, complex, and deeply human protagonist. This volume collects five issues originally available online through Comixology.

Fictional Father

Ollmann (The Abominable Mr. Seabrook) explores dysfunctional family dynamics and the sometimes complex motivations behind artistic expression with incredible empathy. An absorbing, enthralling work.
PREMIUM

The Last Night in London

Reminiscent in tone of the past/present romantic suspense of Lauren Willig’s “Pink Carnation” series, White’s (“Tradd Street” series) novel’s wartime intrigue and contemporary romantic clash of characters will appeal to many. Recommended for readers who enjoyed Jennifer Robson’s The Gown or Jeanne Mackin’s The Last Collection.

V for Victory

In our own troubled times, it can’t hurt to be reminded of the spirit and resilience of those who endured a world at war. With warmth and humor to spare, this book is a balm.
PREMIUM

Little Victories: Autism through a Father’s Eyes

This charming depiction of a father’s quest to understand his son’s needs arrives having already garnered multiple awards, including the Best Biography Award from the Disability Fund and Society.
PREMIUM

The Optimist: A Case for the Fly Fishing Life

A lovely, ruminative book about a venerable sport; it bears comparison to Adrian Smith’s Monsters of Rivers and Rock. Coggins’s enthusiasm for fly fishing is so infectious that the book will readily hook non-fishers as well.
PREMIUM

War on the Border: Villa, Pershing, the Texas Rangers, and an American Invasion

A thorough overview of an often-overlooked period in history that helps put present-day U.S.–Mexico relations into context.
PREMIUM

Seven Secrets, Vol. 1

Taylor (Suicide Squad: Bad Blood) provides a propulsive, action-packed plot without sacrificing character development, and builds to an unexpected cliffhanger ending that’s sure to leave readers excited for future installments.
PREMIUM

Ariadne

Readers of mythology and human relations will enjoy this book. Highly recommended.

Why We Love The Matrix

A geeky celebratory short read that is sure to be a collectible volume for serious followers of The Matrix for years to come.
PREMIUM

Ticking Clock: Behind the Scenes at 60 Minutes

News buffs will love the behind-the-scenes stories, and journalism students will find advice direct from legendary reporters.

Book Time Outside: Titles For Outdoor Adventures

LAMBDA Literary Releases a List of May’s Most Anticipated LGBTQ Literature | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Beginner’s Mind

Anyone who has been influenced by a beloved teacher will savor this work; educators will especially appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Blind Tiger

A solid start to the series, although some readers may find it too quick a read.
PREMIUM

The Secret Bridesmaid

Fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary or Four Weddings and a Funeral will love this quirky, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy with heart.
PREMIUM

Hard To Break: Why Our Brains Make Habits Stick

Readers looking for easy advice on habit change can turn to plenty of other options in the popular psychology genre. Those who are deeply interested in the brain and neuroscience research should enjoy this stimulating work.
PREMIUM

The Paris Betrayal

Hannibal (Chasing the White Lion) writes a fast-paced, quick read thriller with crossover romantic elements loosely based on the Book of Job. Ben is often told to rely on faith, but otherwise this could be a secular novel, since the faith isn’t implicitly religious. Recommended for libraries where Hannibal’s books are popular.

The Day the World Stops Shopping: How Ending Consumerism Saves the Environment and Ourselves

An insightful account offering a starting point for change that is highly recommended for all libraries.

Clear, Hold, and Destroy: Pacification in Phú Yên and the American War in Vietnam

This academic yet highly readable study will appeal to readers interested in the Vietnam War and its failures and lessons.
PREMIUM

What Fresh Hell Is This? Perimenopause, Menopause, Other Indignities, and You

This newest work by Corinna is an excellent option for readers experiencing menopause or living alongside someone who is. While it is not as scientifically rigorous as The Menopause Manifesto by Jen Gunter, this book still offers a helpful overview, with up-to-date research and friendly advice on accepting one’s new body.

2021 James Tait Black Prize Shortlists Announced | Book Pulse

Tree Story, Reimagining Capitalism, a History of Pollutions, and More in Environmental Sciences | Academic Best Sellers

'Hour of the Witch' by Chris Bohjalian is B&N May Book Club Selection | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘21st Birthday’ by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro | LibraryReads

Jenna Bush Hager Picks 'Great Circle' | Book Pulse

Listening In Lockdown | Audio Spotlight

Hot-Shot Thrillers, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

U.S. Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2

World Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

Novels of War, Identity, and Power | Fiction Roundup

Last Mysteries, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The 1619 Project: History Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

World War II Perspectives: History Previews, Nov. 2021 | Prepub Alert

‘A Master of Djinn,’ ‘The Atmospherians,’ and 74 Other Exceptional Titles | Starred Reviews, May 2021

'21st Birthday' by James Patterson & Maxine Paetro Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Drawing Is for Everyone: Simple Lessons To Make Your Creative Practice a Daily Habit; Explore Infinite Creative Possibilities in Graphite, Colored Pencil, and Ink

Ewing delivers a solid introduction to drawing that will capture the interest of hesitant beginners, as well as more experienced artists looking for new and different projects.

African Europeans: An Untold History

Meticulously researched and beautifully written, this is an essential work of historical scholarship that is highly recommended for all public and academic libraries.

The Personal Librarian

This fictional account of Greene’s life feels authentic; the authors bring to life not only Belle but all those around her. An excellent piece of historical fiction that many readers will find hard to put down.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?