Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

The Apollo Murders

Hadfield draws on his expertise as an astronaut to add authenticity and realism to his debut thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler and Andy Weir will enjoy this genre-bender combining military fiction, the detective novel, and techno-thriller.

Far From the Light of Heaven

A clever, haunting read from Arthur C. Clarke–winner Thompson.
PREMIUM

When Two Feathers Fell from the Sky

Readers of general fiction will enjoy.
PREMIUM

Our American Friend

Viewers who followed the TV series The Americans will recognize and enjoy its thrilling hallmarks in this exciting novel about the erstwhile first couple.
PREMIUM

Midnight, Christmas Eve

Clapp’s novel will resonate with readers searching for peace in a busy holiday season, as a gentler take on the Book of Hosea’s lesser-known redemption parable, which was also retold in Francine Rivers’s classic Redeeming Love.
PREMIUM

Wolf Point

An intriguing sequel, though it could do without some of the details of Chicago and golf; fans of Stephen Mack Jones’s “August Snow” mysteries will enjoy.
PREMIUM

I Am Not Who You Think I Am

Rickstad ratchets up the suspense, filling Wayland’s investigations with misdirection, shadowy characters, and gothic elements. There’s a sense of dread throughout the book, but the final plot twist is a jaw-dropper. Recommended for readers who like their thrillers dark and twisted.
PREMIUM

In the Company of Witches

Wallace’s wonderful Connecticut setting and quirky characters make this a fun new cozy mystery series.
PREMIUM

Dark Tarot

Feehan’s 31st entry in the “Dark” series (after Dark Song) is simultaneously a jumping-in point for new readers since it sets up a new story line, and a place for long time fans to enjoy a new couple and revisit old favorites. Required for libraries where Feehan is popular.

Don’t Cry for Me

A deeply perceptive evocation of what it has meant to be a man and especially a Black man in the United States, all the more affecting for not being shouted out but told with quiet, sturdy intimacy.
PREMIUM

Sleepless

Hausmann’s ominous psychological suspense tale masterfully uses restraint, inserting a continual flow of small but significant clues to create tension and a heavy tone. The multidimensional characters will keep readers questioning what they know. For fans of Fiona Barton and Gillian Flynn.
PREMIUM

Tales from the Cafe

These tearful stories hit hard but ultimately lead to a beautiful ending. Fans of Matt Haig’s Midnight Library will enjoy this quick read with touches of magical realism and soul-searching.

Isolate

Readers will be caught up in Modesitt’s world, which is just close enough to reality to make the lessons feel real, and just fantastic enough to provide distance and interest. The gas lamp setting will draw in plenty of steampunk readers, while anyone who likes to delve into the way worlds work will be riveted.

Where the Drowned Girls Go

The message of owning one’s truth instead of losing one’s individuality will resonate. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Pretty Little Lion

An optional purchase where the first book is popular.

Payback’s a Witch

With a satisfying end to the tournament, and smart, funny characters who support one another, Harper’s series is off to a fantastic start. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Nanny Dearest

Mercifully avoiding the sexual clichés of many other domestic thrillers, Collins’s debut illustrates the sometimes obsessive and terrifying nature of love and the shattering consequences of its betrayal. Nanny services across the country may see a dip in demand when this intensely emotional psychological roller coaster is released.
PREMIUM

A Wanton for All Seasons

Fans will enjoy seeing these former lovers come together once again, but those new to the series should start with the first “Wantons of Waverton” book, Someone Wanton His Way Comes.
PREMIUM

The Best Horror of the Year, Vol. 13

An essential purchase for the quality of stories included in the volume, as well as for Datlow’s extensive “Summation” section, in which she recaps the year in awards, key publications, and horror news. Readers will not find a more comprehensive (yet still easily digestible) snapshot of the entire genre anywhere else.
PREMIUM

Hidden Treasures

For readers who enjoy romantic suspense.

Small Things Like These

Keegan’s beautiful prose is quiet and precise, jewel-like in its clarity. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Undertakers

Glover has written another fast-paced story of luck, fate, and betrayal. Readers will be engrossed by its celestial magic, hidden tunnels leading to unexpected places, and cliffhanger ending.
PREMIUM

Dark Stars: New Tales of Darkest Horror

Most readers will focus on the epic table of contents, but ardent horror fans will appreciate this volume’s ode to the seminal out-of-print Dark Forces anthology edited by Kirby McCauley.Dark Forces similarly strove to bring horror to a wider audience in the 1980s and featured both an early Campbell story and Stephen King’s The Mist (which many consider to be his best novella).

Pearl

Malerman delivers with another completely different yet equally crowd-pleasing and awesome horror novel that is not to be missed. Fans of tales as varied as Eden by Tim Lebbon, Tender Is the Flesh by Agustina Bazterrica, or The Night of the Mannequins by Stephen Graham Jones will all find something to savor and enjoy here.

A Thorn in the Saddle

If Weatherspoon isn’t already on autobuy, now’s the time.

Queen of Teeth

This is a fun page-turner on its surface, but as soon as readers pause for breath, the real-world issues at play will wrap their tentacles around them. Readers who like old school science fiction dystopias (à la Philip K. Dick), with a healthy dose of cosmic awe (as in Caitlin Kiernan’s “Tinfoil Dossier” series) and a few dashes of kaiju mayhem, will be in horror heaven with this mesmerizing, original, and breathtaking debut.
PREMIUM

The Cure for What Ales You

Fans of Kate Carlisle and Ellery Adams will love Alexander’s latest Sloan Krause cozy mystery; enjoy with a cold beer.

The Ex Hex

Recommended for all public library collections.

Betrayal on the Bowery

An action-packed historical mystery with a strong female protagonist and hints of future romance.
PREMIUM

As the Wicked Watch

Hall’s decades of field experience lend a lot of credibility to the story and provide a strong footing for an intriguing new crime series.

Count Your Lucky Stars

A warm hug of a queer contemporary romance with sparkling prose, heartfelt dialogue, and delicious dirty talk. Fans of the series will be delighted by the returning characters and the steamy heat between Margot and Olivia, while new readers who liked Tessa Bailey’s It Happened One Summer or Karelia Stetz-Waters’s Satisfaction Guaranteed will find much to love. Highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Hold Me Down

A mystery that explores character motivations rather than the murder itself. For fans of Alexander McCall Smith and Janet Evanovich.

Mango, Mambo, and Murder

The character-driven debut introduces a fresh protagonist, a Cuban American woman trying to maintain her culinary heritage and Spanish language while attempting to find friends and a killer.

Sistersong

Holland crafts a tale tied to folklore, history, and song, bringing rich detail and imagination to characters and setting. Give it to readers who have enjoyed Arthurian retellings or Madeline Miller’s Circe.
PREMIUM

Miss Moriarty, I Presume

Existing fans will appreciate the romantic plot developments, while new readers could treat this as a standalone but would be better served by starting with book one, A Study in Scarlet Women. Suitable for those who enjoy Deanna Raybourn’s “Veronica Speedwell” mysteries.

The Perks of Loving a Wallflower

This clever novel will delight readers looking for queer historical romances and or a series featuring a group of unconventional romantic leads.
PREMIUM

A Line To Kill

Horowitz’s latest reveals vulnerability in the condescending Daniel. Fans of the series or and Agatha Christie will relish character-driven mystery set on an isolated island.
PREMIUM

The Starless Crown

An interesting blend of science and magic, flying ships and prophetic gods, propel this fantasy into epic territories.

Our Country Friends

Both the definitive COVID-19 novel and not, this work captures an uncertain modernity and speaks to the existential peril of contemporary life.
PREMIUM

The Forest

Quigley, cohost of the award-winning Ladies of the Fright podcast, is well-versed in active contemplation of the horror genre itself, and it shows here with a story line that could be described as a 21st-century update to Shirley Jackson’s “The Lottery.” Fans of Hex, by Thomas Olde Huevelt, and The Twisted Ones, by T. Kingfisher, will find a kindred spirit in Quigley’s debut.
PREMIUM

Even Greater Mistakes

This fascinating, emotional collection is a welcome addition showcasing Anders’s range and prose.
PREMIUM

After Dark with the Duke

Long continues her “Palace of Rogues” series (after I’m Only Wicked with You) with another strong heroine and the entertaining residents of the Grand Palace. A must-buy for libraries that own the series.
PREMIUM

Shiloh

A pass except where fans of the first book need to know what happens next.
PREMIUM

Three Sisters

Readers of historical and World War II fiction will be gripped by the conclusion to Morris’s trilogy.
PREMIUM

Such a Pretty Smile

An obvious choice for fans of female-driven psychological horror (e.g., Sarah Pinborough’s Cross Her Heart and Rachel Harrison’s The Return). Also a good suggestion for readers who want to explore the trauma and inequalities in mental health treatment (like in Victor LaValle’s The Devil in Silver).

Under Color of Law

Clark’s ripped-from-the-headlines police procedural should make readers uncomfortable. It’s a frightening, tragic tale.
PREMIUM

A Reckless Match

Historical romance readers will love this steamy, star-crossed enemies-to-lovers adventure featuring a strong, intelligent heroine and a hero who learns to support her.

Flowers for the Sea

Rocklyn has written an astounding story that will leave readers begging for more, recalling other critically acclaimed novellas like Priya Sharma’s Ormeshadow and P. Djèlí Clark’s Black God’s Drum.
PREMIUM

Elder Race

Recommended for lovers of portal fantasy, lost colony science fiction, and stories on the border between the two genres.
PREMIUM

Never Fall for Your Fiancée

Readers will relish this engaging, late Regency romcom’s witty duo as they navigate escalating mishaps and growing feelings. Heath (“The King’s Elite” series) has set the stage for an enjoyable new series.

The Love Con

Recommended for all public library collections.
PREMIUM

Trinity

Fans of Jack Campbell’s “Lost Fleet” series will enjoy Bara’s latest.
PREMIUM

Noor

Okorafor packs swift action and harsh emotions into this slim novella, showing her strengths once again as a speculative fiction writer.
PREMIUM

Brothers of the Wind

Recommended for fans of old-school epic fantasy and anyone who remembers Williams’s 1988 classic The Dragonbone Chair with fondness.

Last Girl Ghosted

Unger keeps readers guessing, with revelations that will make them stop and question what they thought they knew. She might also make them think twice about online dating. Recommended for those who like psychological thrillers with women protagonists, such as Andrea Bartz’s We Were Never Here.
PREMIUM

Femlandia

A no-holds-barred thriller and thought-provoking read for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Naomi Alderman’s The Power, and Kim Liggett’s The Grace Year.
PREMIUM

Thanatrauma

Tem has won just about every major speculative fiction prize (including a 2015 Bram Stoker Award for Blood Kin), but he has slipped through the cracks because his work doesn’t fit neatly into established genre boxes. Library workers can make up for this oversight by confidently suggesting this collection to fans of creepy, weird fiction by the likes of Carmen Maria Machado and John Langan.
PREMIUM

Death in a Desert Garden

For fans of cozy mysteries in Southwestern settings.

Doctors and Friends

Some readers will find that it hits too close to reality, but there is beauty in Martin’s gem of a story that confirms that friendship is a powerful force.

Repentance

A tense debut thriller with excellent characters and a timely, satisfying plot; knowledge of recent Argentinian history would help readers contextualize the violence Díaz depicts. For fans of Philip Kerr’s “Bernie Gunther” novels.
PREMIUM

The Savage Kind

Copenhaver’s latest is jam-packed with noir themes and plot twists. Sure to please fans of queer fiction and twisty mysteries.
PREMIUM

A Spindle Splintered

Sleeping Beauty crashes into the multiverse in Harrow’s queer, subversive, explicitly feminist retelling. This story of power, agency, and sisterhood is recommended.

Read-Alikes for ‘Beautiful World, Where Are You’ by Sally Rooney | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Child of Light

Brooks’s (The Last Druid) latest series launches in an exciting new world filled with juxtapositions of magic and machine, Fae and human, and introduces the one young woman who may be able to bridge the gaps.
PREMIUM

Fight Night

Swiv’s narrative voice, by turns angry, sardonic, and full of both love and exasperation for her mother and grandmother, provides much of the charm and appeal of the novel. Elvira is a force of nature, charming everyone around her with her zest for life. Despite the dark elements in the story, the humor and love between the characters shine through. Recommended.
PREMIUM

We Know You Remember

While still full of very grim crimes, this mystery’s setting in the countryside during the summer makes for a less bleak setting than usual for the genre. Alsterdal plots enough twists to keep the police procedural interesting and writes a great woman protagonist; fans of international mystery will be happy to discover her.

The Wrong End of the Telescope

The great strength of this latest novel from National Book Award finalist Alameddine (An Unnecessary Woman) lies in how it deftly combines the biographical with the historical; the small, more personal moments often carry the most weight. A remarkable, surprisingly intimate tale of human connection in the midst of disaster.
PREMIUM

The Missing Hours

The plot is intriguing but doesn’t quite hit the gritty climax readers might expect. Still, Dahl provides a timely story about an always relevant topic.
PREMIUM

Never Saw Me Coming

Readers won’t want to put down this fast and engaging debut novel, and they’ll root for the characters who’ve been cast as villains; Chloe is a particular paradox, simultaneously deplorable and charming. Kurian seamlessly interweaves multiple perspectives, though there are enough different points of view to overwhelm some readers. Those with a strong sense of justice might also be turned off by the fact that Chloe’s crimes go unpunished.
PREMIUM

The Man Who Died Twice

This entertaining follow-up to Osman’s first mystery reveals more about the main characters’ lives, especially Elizabeth’s. Excerpts from Joyce’s diary provide many humorous moments, as well as another perspective of the events of the novel. Recommended for fans of British cozies, especially Simon Brett’s “Fethering” series and Ann Purser’s “Lois Meade” series.
PREMIUM

Don’t Look Now

With plenty of possible suspects, Burton’s (Never Look Back) latest will appeal to readers who want light romance and heavy suspense.
PREMIUM

Faraway

While the plot appears to be highly dramatic, Lo’s writing is far from it. The contemplative narrative has some merit in addressing relationships between fathers and sons, including Lo’s role as a father to his own son, but the prose is often flat and meandering

A Marvellous Light

Marske’s debut is a delightful blend of Edwardian fantasy and romance, with enough twists and questions to have readers clamoring for the next in the planned series.

Portrait of a Scotsman

Dunmore (Bringing Down the Duke; A Rogue of One’s Own) delivers a novel that is delectably sexy and profoundly romantic at its core. It’s sure to delight fans of the series as well as new readers, thanks to Dunmore’s trademark mix of historical fiction, British feminist history, and steamy Victorian romance.

The Italian

Winner of the 2015 International Prize for Arabic Literature, this first novel by Tunisian university professor Mabkhout deftly illustrates how government repression and culture clashes have affected an entire generation of idealistic young people. In this accomplished translation, it can now be appreciated by a wider audience.
PREMIUM

A Seaside Summer

Fans of classic Regency romance will fall for these charmingly sweet summertime love stories and seek out more by Kilpack (“A Culinary Mystery” series), Keyes (The Road Through Rushbury), and Moore (The Paper Daughters of Chinatown).

The Book of Mother

In this touching tribute to her eccentric mother’s life and death, which also offers a wild view of swinging Paris during the 1960s and 1970s, Huisman is sardonic, furious, and sometimes humorous but always affectionate toward her mother. Her prose seems urgent, pulling the reader along, as if she’s trying to outrun her grief. Highly recommended.

Five Tuesdays in Winter

A series of beautifully written character studies brimming with insight into the human condition.
PREMIUM

First Love, Take Two

Patel’s formulaic companion to The Trouble with Hating You leans too hard on tropes, though it’s recommended for readers who enjoyed the first book and want an HEA that wraps up conflict.
PREMIUM

The Stolen Lady

Morelli (The Night Portrait) explores the power of art and ideas to expand the world, even in the darkest times. As Anne works with the French Resistance and museum staff to save an enduring work of art, readers will understand how vital art is to our understanding of ourselves. And the enigmatic Mona Lisa remains, with her soft smile, wearing mourning clothes

The Finder of Forgotten Things

In a hardscrabble 1930s setting, complex characters wrestle with justice, mercy, inequality, honesty, and the fact that they are all prodigals still searching for the way home. Loudin Thomas (The Right Kind of Fool) delivers a stunning tale of one of the worst industrial disasters in U.S. history, underlined with a moral imperative to love one’s neighbor that still hits home today.
PREMIUM

The Heart Principle

Readers of Hoang’s other “Kiss Quotient” books may be surprised by this third installment’s heavy plot points, which weigh down the narrative. Hoang writes a sparkling romance between Quan and Anna, but this novel is very much about Anna’s finding her voice and setting boundaries.

The Dark Remains

An essential purchase to complete crime fiction collections or where international police novels are popular.

The Ninja Betrayed

Eldridge’s series just keeps getting better. While readers can enjoy this book without having read the first two, a series highlight is Lily’s evolution and the complexity and growth of her relationships. Highly recommended for readers who enjoy strong heroines forging their own paths, like Deanna Raybourn’s Victoria Speedwell, S. J. Rozan’s Lydia Chin, and Gigi Pandian’s Jaya Jones.

Bright Burning Things

Through Harding’s realistic writing, one feels the profound desperation and pain of addiction. Readers won’t soon forget this viscerally raw immersion into addiction.
PREMIUM

The Orphan Witch

The novel’s intricate Western European–inspired worldbuilding and layered characters make it a fit for fans of Alice Hoffman and Deborah Harkness.

Striking Range

Mizushima’s follow-up to Hanging Falls still leaves questions about Mattie’s past. The tension and drama of this series installment will satisfy fans of K-9 partners and solid police procedurals.

Smile and Look Pretty

Readers will cheer Pellegrino’s shattering of the glass ceiling in this fast-paced, millennial-centric, you-go-girl novel about workplace empowerment.
PREMIUM

The Night of Many Endings

Payne (Memories in the Drift) has crafted an emotional, character-driven novel about addiction, perceptions of others, and learning to let go. The Night of Many Endings is ultimately one of hope as the darkness brings forth the dawn of many beginnings.

Crossroads

Much like Updike, Franzen is keenly aware that human struggle is defined by understanding and acceptance and that it is generational, ideas he admirably captures here.
PREMIUM

The House of Ashes

A considerable departure from the author’s well-known police series, this psychological thriller is not for the fainthearted.
PREMIUM

Love in the Big City

Centering on relationships (or the lack thereof), this work offers readers honest characterizations of flawed individuals from different walks of life who are all looking to find contentment regardless of their circumstances. Park’s writing is introspective and relatable, and the broad-ranging themes make this a good candidate for book group discussions.
PREMIUM

After the Sun

Set in a dystopian universe, the stories describe each character’s attempt to find meaning and intimacy as an antidote to loneliness and alienation. Eika’s ability to combine foreboding with magic realism generates excitement in this English-language debut.

Miss Eliza’s English Kitchen: A Novel of Victorian Cookery and Friendship

Abbs (The Joyce Girl) has written a fascinating, long overdue tribute to the unconventional Eliza Acton, the woman who revolutionized the English cookbook. Ann’s and Eliza’s drives for independence is inspiring, and their passion for cooking will awaken readers’ inner chef.
PREMIUM

A Single Rose

Barbery takes risks in creating a self-involved and somewhat irritating main character. Yet with elegant and careful prose, she offers descriptions of Kyoto and Japanese culture that transcend the genre of a travelogue. This novel will appeal to readers who long for happy endings and escape.
PREMIUM

The Singles Table

This third novel in Desai’s “Marriage” series (after The Dating Plan) can be read as a standalone. Recommended for all public library collections.

Bewilderment

Writing with the same remarkable attention to detail found in his Pulitzer Prize–winning The Overstory, Powers has created a world and characters that will suck readers in and keep them fixed until the literally bitter end.
PREMIUM

The Matzah Ball

A fun read and a good addition to holiday romance collections.

The Fastest Way To Fall

Williams’s sophomore effort (after How To Fail at Flirting) is a body-positive, feel-good romance with highly relatable protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Lost Notebook of Édouard Manet

Reminiscent of Victorian fiction, this epistolary novel reads as intimately as a found artifact from Manet himself. Readers may find it difficult to extract themselves from the story to recall that this is not in fact a primary source but rather a constructed narrative. This compelling and revealing book furthers a cultural understanding of Manet’s place in time and art, a difficult task for a difficult character. Very well done.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?