Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

U.S. Census Bureau Releases Updated Data Visualization Tool for College Graduate Employment and Earnings Outcomes

U.S. Census Bureau Releases Updated Data Visualization Tool for College Graduate Employment and Earnings Outcomes

GitHub Shares Plan For “Arctic Code Vault” to Preserve Open Source Software For 1,000 Years

Research Article: “Health Researchers’ Use of Social Media: Scoping Review”

Report: “Wikipedia Still Hasn’t Fixed its Colossal Gender Gap”

Journal Article: “Embedded Students? Can Libraries Benefit From Students Having Work Placements in the Library in Planning Library Instruction?”

New Data: Facebook, Instagram Pulled Millions of Posts for Violation

University of Texas Libraries Launch Texas GeoData Portal, Over 30,000 Publicly Available Geospatial Datasets Currently Available

C-SPAN Provides Near Real-Time Keyword Searchable Video of Today’s U.S. House Impeachment Hearing with William Taylor and George Kent

A New UN Report on Public Spaces and Human Rights Highlights Place of Libraries

Roundup (November 13, 2019)

Roundup (November 13, 2019)

More Best Books, Nov. 13, 2019 | Book Pulse

Libraries Respond to Macmillan Ebook Embargo with Boycotts, Advocacy

Branching Out, November 2019

The New School’s Digital Equity Lab Releases a “Manual for Libraries, CBOs, and Community Advocates: Preparing for the First Digital Census”

“New Landscapes on the Road of Open Science: 6 Key Issues to Address for Research Data Management in the Netherlands”

“Audio Augmented Reality (AAR) Technologies Are Now Coming To Market”

Report: 9th Circuit Court of Appeals Denies LinkedIn’s Request to Reconsider Data Scraping Decision

wikiview: A New Tool to Help Discover Images Available From Wikimedia Commons

A Quick Comment: Library E-Books, Reader Privacy, and Transparency

American Chemical Society Signs Their First Transformative Agreement with Hungarian EISZ Consortium

Springer Nature First Publisher to Implement Seamlessaccess.Org Service

Roundup (November 12, 2019)

Roundup (November 12, 2019)

Best Books of the Decade, Year, Month, & More, Nov. 12, 2019 | Book Pulse

Top 20 Best-Selling Chemistry Titles | Academic Best Sellers

A Letter to Librarians from Rufi Thorpe, Author of The Knockout Queen

A Letter to Librarians from Rufi Thorpe, Author of The Knockout Queen

Video: The Knight First Amendment Institute at Columbia University Hosts Conversation with Edward Snowden

Digital Privacy: “Google Has Secret Project Gathering Health Data”

Just Launched: Independent Documentary Filmmakers from China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan Web Archive

Video: “A Network of Science: 150 Years of Nature Papers”

Video: “A Network of Science: 150 Years of Nature Papers” (Data Visualization)

University of Iowa Libraries: An Introduction to the New Scholarly Impact Department

A Collection of Fast Facts and Statistics About the Veteran Population in the United States

Research Article: “GORC: A Large Contextual Citation Graph of Academic Papers” (Preprint)

Roundup (November 11, 2019)

Libraries Do Well at Polls, New Funding Lags

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Nov. 11, 2019 | Book Pulse

Spanish Publishing: Community, Culture, & Growth

Barbara’s Picks (André Gregory, Olivia Laing, Laura Lippman, & Jed Perl Plus More Essential Arts Titles: Arts Previews, May 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (MS-13, the Nonlinear Life, the Paradise Fire, Conditional Citizenship, Galileo, & Parenting and Grandparenting), Plus Self-Help and Final Nonfiction Titles: Nonfiction Previews, May 2020. Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Brooks, Moore, Mosse, & Straub, Plus Fiction Newcomers Burns and Serritella), with Historicals, Beach Reads, and Love/Family/Friends: Pop Fiction Previews, May 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Israel: Microsoft Implementing AI in Creating Archive Of David Ben-Gurion’s Handwritten Works

Article Preprint: “bioRxiv: the Preprint Server”

Report: Thousands Use George Washington University Libraries’ Social Media Archive Tool Six Years After Debut

Lin-Manuel Miranda Partners with Google to Digitize Art From Major Puerto Rican Museums

American Association of School Librarians (AASL) Releases OER Toolkit (Freely Available)

Snøhetta Reveals Its $100 Million Charlotte, North Carolina, Library

Webinar Video: “Generating Metadata with AI – Experience of the National Library of the Netherlands”

Video: Conference Keynote: Kumsal Bayazit, CEO, Elsevier, Delivers Keynote at The Charleston Conference 2019

Webrecoder.io Shares “Self-Hosted Archival Embeds” Proof of Concept

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

PREMIUM

Not Afraid: The Evolution of Eminem

Bozza’s eloquent tribute to Eminem will resonate with fans of hip-hop and enthusiasts of popular music biographies.

The Book of Gutsy Women: Favorite Stories of Courage and Resilience

Broad in scope, this will appeal to a wide audience owing to the range of women spotlighted. Given its length, this is a book to savor over multiple sittings, allowing readers to revisit well-known heroines or discover new ones among the pages.

The Spoilt Quilt and Other Frontier Stories: Pioneering Women of the West

Western literature has passed in and out of fashion; at present there’s a movement toward openness and candor regarding the U.S. march to the west. This compilation provides an excellent starting point for book club discussions of Americans in these times.
PREMIUM

Blossoms 666

The horrors of teen cliques as well as the machinations of demonic forces blossom throughout this latest from Bunn (Harrow County), Braga (Bombshells), and colorist Herms (Sonic Boom), unleashing a tense high school terror tale with vibrant visuals reminiscent of Patrick Nagel. [Previewed in Ingrid Bohnenkamp’s Graphic Novels spotlight, “Mass Appeal,” LJ 6/19.]
PREMIUM

The Clergyman’s Wife: A Pride & Prejudice Novel

Recommended for general fiction collections and Austen fans eager to revisit the popular characters and places in Pride and Prejudice.

PREMIUM

The Heap

Adams’s debut is an effective, jolting dystopic novel that should appeal widely. [See Prepub Alert, 10/22/19.]

Oprah Picks Olive and A Warning Arrives, also Page to Screen, Nov. 8, 2019 | Book Pulse

All the President’s Women: Donald Trump and the Making of a Predator

While many of the most shocking incidents discussed here are public knowledge, the significant new material and the book’s usefulness as a single-volume source on the topic make this not only a critical current read but one likely to become even more important in the future.

PREMIUM

Dirty Letters

Readers who can overlook a few stretched plot points in order to enjoy the sizzling chemistry will gravitate to the latest entry from acclaimed writing duo Keeland and Ward (Hate Notes; “Rush” series).
PREMIUM

Marfa Garden: The Wonders of Dry Desert Plants

Readers will be attracted to the surprising beauty of these dry desert plants and should consider using them to promote water conservation. An appealing choice for garden artists, landscapers, and home gardeners in the Southwest and elsewhere.

She Said: Breaking the Sexual Harassment Story That Helped Ignite a Movement

A compelling accounting of the events that helped ignite Me Too. Highly recommended for readers interested in social justice and the reporting process.
PREMIUM

Stealing Cinderella: How I Became an International Fugitive for Love

Though it occasionally (if stereotypically) sheds light on differences between American and South Korean cultures, this memoir cannot be recommended. Readers in search of an American’s experience in South Korea might want instead to turn to Elizabeth Rice’s Rituals of Separation.
PREMIUM

Doomsday Clock: Part 1

A tense and gripping homage to Watchmen’s dissection of costumed crime fighters that also seems interested in probing the limits of its ongoing influence. A must for series followers, and a boon for DC fans seeking next chapters in its ever-expanding universe.
PREMIUM

Smoke Screen

Plot twists and likable characters light up this latest romantic suspense from best-selling author Blackstock (“Run” series). Themes of redemption and grace mark this love story that will be a hit among fans of Christian fiction and clean romantic suspense.
PREMIUM

Protecting Tanner Hollow

Gripping and fast-paced romantic suspense recommended for readers of Dee Henderson, Dani Pettrey, and Colleen Coble.
PREMIUM

James Baldwin: Living in Fire

A clear, incisive writer, Mullen succeeds with providing a fresh perspective on an author he so obviously admires. Recommended for readers seeking a broader understanding of the opinions of one of the great writers of the 20th century.

120,000 Books Going Online for First Time as Part of Historic National Library of Israel – Google Collaboration

Watch: The Modernization of the Library of Congress is Focus of U.S. Senate Hearing

Association of Research Libraries (ARL) Announces Support for the MIT Framework for Publisher Contracts

Report: “Why Emma Boettcher’s ‘Jeopardy!’ Win Became a Celebration For Librarians”

Happy World Digital Preservation Day 2019!

Roundup (November 6, 2019)

New Bestsellers, Nov. 7, 2019 | Book Pulse

Digital Labor Forum Tackles Temp Jobs on Grant, Digitization Projects | Peer to Peer Review

Open Source FOLIO LSP Nears Launch, as Lehigh U. Library Partners with Index Data

NIH Releases Draft Data Management and Sharing Policy

New Issue Brief From Ithaka S+R: “What Do Our Users Need? An Evidence-Based Approach for Designing New Services”

Data Storage: Microsoft’s Project Silica Proof of Concept Stores Warner Bros. ‘Superman’ Movie on Quartz Glass

November 2019 Library Budget and Bond Issue Election Results Roundup

GPO Completes Digitization of 1,300 Congressional Hearings

Leaked Document on Elsevier Negotiations in the Netherland Sparks Controversy

Higher Education: A New and Improved Version of The Hechinger Report’s Tuition Tracker Tool

Higher Education: A New and Improved Version of The Hechinger Report’s Tuition Tracker Tool is Now Online

International Labor Organization (ILO) Launches New Statistics Portal

International Labor Organization (ILO) Launches New Statistics Portal

Ernest Gaines Dies, plus More Award News, Nov. 6, 2019 | Book Pulse

A Florida County Commission Refuses to Provide Library Access to NY Times, Calling it “Fake News”

Library Budget and Bond Issue Election Results Roundup

Library Journal Honored with 2019 Folio: Awards

New Report and Action Plan: “Toward a National Archival Finding Aid Network”

Freedom House Publishes “Freedom on the Net 2019” Report

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.