Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

'Ocean Prey' by John Sandford Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Lighter Step-By-Step Instant Pot Cookbook

A handy resource that will most likely be as popular as Eisner’s previous books; this one has something for everyone.
PREMIUM

Norman Jewison: A Director’s Life

A thoroughly enjoyable and detailed look at a memorable life in film.
PREMIUM

In Teachers We Trust: The Finnish Way to World-Class Schools

For all readers, especially educators and parents, seeking a persuasive explanation for the excellent results of Finnish schools.
PREMIUM

Crime Time: Twenty True Tales of Murder, Madness, and Mayhem

This entertaining, concise collection will entice fans of true crime and history. Readers may also enjoy Mike Rothmiller’s True Crime Chronicles: Serial Killers, Outlaws, and Justice…Real Crime Stories from the 1800s.

What the Devil Knows

The St. Cyr series, and this entry in particular (following Who Speaks for the Damned), is highly recommended for readers who want their history appropriately dark and gritty, their politics dirty and corrupt, and their mystery fascinating, convoluted, and just as relevant now as it was then. Sebastian St. Cyr, with his foot in the aristocracy and his eye on justice, is a hero to be followed into whatever dark corner he investigates.
PREMIUM

Dissent: The Radicalization of the Republican Party and Its Capture of the Court

This exhaustively detailed book will engage general readers interested in civic duty and privacy. Contemporary journalistic treatments of the confirmation will have to suffice until historical perspective produces what scholars may consider a definitive account.
PREMIUM

Lucky: How Joe Biden Barely Won the Presidency

Readers who enjoy political coverage of the election process and want to know more about Joe Biden’s campaign will be well informed by this book.
PREMIUM

Twilight Man: Love and Ruin in the Shadows of Hollywood and the Clark Empire

This is a definite must-read for fans of early Hollywood, and those interested in LGBTQ history, with plenty of scandals and gossip to grab interest.
PREMIUM

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

A delightful read for fans of light paranormal romances or cozy romances in general.
PREMIUM

Letter to a Young Female Physician: Notes from a Medical Life

A candid account that will spark the interest of aspiring physicians.
PREMIUM

Why Wakanda Matters: What Black Panther Reveals About Psychology, Identity, and Communication

While academic in nature, these essays are accessible to general readers. Howard’s work is a solid addition to media studies sections in both public and academic libraries.
PREMIUM

Good Dog: Celebrating Dogs Who Change, and Sometimes Even Save, Our Lives

A loving look at how dogs care for people.
PREMIUM

The Company

Spencer, author of various series featuring police officers (“Jennie Redhead”; “Monika Paniatowski”) offers an intense, convoluted stand-alone. It’s not always easy to piece together Rob’s twisted thoughts and the police investigation, but readers who enjoy Spencer’s works might want to try.
PREMIUM

The Comfort Crisis: Embrace Discomfort to Reclaim Your Wild, Happy, Healthy Self

Despite some flaws, this is an engaging read, recommended for those who enjoy outdoor writing, as well as for armchair (therefore very comfortable) critics of the modern lifestyle.
PREMIUM

Psychiana Man: A Mail-Order Prophet, His Followers, and the Power of Belief in Hard Times

This bizarre, gripping, yet balanced account of a charismatic man and an enterprise that prospered under the guise of religion will appeal to true crime fans and those interested in religious cults, including readers of Lawrence Wright’s Going Clear: Scientology, Hollywood and the Prison of Belief.
PREMIUM

Kin

Rodenberg writes with an evocative and unflinching style, despite sometimes jarring shifts in narrative. This is a richly nuanced portrait of people and place, along with the bounds of forgiveness. Good for biography readers eager to explore the complexities of family relationships, or readers interested in women’s lives in Appalachia.
PREMIUM

Black Snake: Standing Rock, the Dakota Access Pipeline, and Environmental Justice

A humanistic investigative documentation of the legal and political battle of DAPL. It will appeal to readers interested in Indigenous movements, environmental movements, and the historical significance of this protest.
PREMIUM

A Fatal First Night

Readers who enjoy historical mysteries with a touch of romance will enjoy the period details and strong female characters, as well as Ella’s colorful parrot, Montezuma.

A Lot Can Happen in the Middle of Nowhere: The Untold Story of the Making of Fargo

Much like the movie it dissects, this book is quirky and intelligent, with surprising revelations. A treat for cinephiles and fans of the Coen brothers.

The Profession: A Memoir of Community, Race, and the Arc of Policing in America

A candid, even-handed account that is highly recommended for popular collections. A natural fit for libraries where The Turnaround circulated well.
PREMIUM

The Nine: The True Story of a Band of Women Who Survived the Worst of Nazi Germany

A fast-paced account that is strongly recommended for lovers of action-oriented narrative nonfiction, and for women’s history collections.
PREMIUM

Open Your Heart

Readers who prioritize hot sex scenes and character-driven plots, as well as fans of Hodges’s previous novels, will enjoy this installment.
PREMIUM

Count Down: How Our Modern World Is Threatening Sperm Counts, Altering Male and Female Reproductive Development, and Imperiling the Future of the Human Race

Well-researched, with an extensive bibliography and a useful glossary of key concepts. A fast-paced account that offers myriad recommendations for lifestyle changes to reduce exposure to the chemicals that Swan and Colino identify as threats to the future of humankind.
PREMIUM

You’re History: The Twelve Strangest Women in Music

Those interested in music criticism will enjoy this in-depth study of unique women voices in pop music.

The Intimacy Experiment

Recommended for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, as well as fans of the author’s debut.

You Love Me

Fans of the series will want to read this book in one sitting. It’s wickedly full of twists, turns, and a dizzying array of pop culture references and witticisms.
PREMIUM

A Fire in the Wilderness: The First Battle between Ulysses S. Grant and Robert E. Lee

Reeves shows that battles can reveal heroism not through victories but at a basic level of survival. He has produced an evocative account of the human costs of the Civil War.
PREMIUM

Five Ways To Disappear

This mystery has dark elements that contrast with the beautiful locale; it will please fans of the series, as well as those who appreciate noir novels in general. The characters are well developed, with their faults laid out for readers. The several strands of the plot are all brought together quite acceptably in the denouement, except for Cal’s earlier crime, which is left to readers’ imagination; the author intends this to be the last book in the series.

The Venice Sketchbook

This novel’s engaging entertainment is enhanced by its dual time line that uncovers Juliet’s secrets, and a plot enlivened by coincidences and romance. A must-read for Bowen fans and historical fiction enthusiasts.

C Pam Zhang, Brandon Taylor Among NYPL Young Lions Fiction Award Finalists | Book Pulse

'The Hill We Climb' by Amanda Gorman Tops Bestseller Lists | Book Pulse

Abolitionist Leaders | Social Sciences Reviews

'The Secret Lives of Church Ladies' Wins 2021 PEN/Faulkner Award | Book Pulse

Intimations, Becoming Human, Re-Enchanted, and More in Literary Criticism | Academic Best Sellers

Jackie O’s Secret Affair Revealed in

The French Paradox

Read-Alikes for ‘Life’s Too Short’ by Abby Jimenez | LibraryReads

Jenna Bush Hager Picks 'Good Company' | Book Pulse

Couric, Harjo, Ruhl, Sedaris & More: Memoir Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

HarperCollins Acquires Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

Graphic Novels 2021 Preview: Read Between the Panels

Panels with a Purpose: An Interview with Mariko Tamaki

A Hillary Clinton/Louise Penny Thriller, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Child, Connolly, Nesbø, Rosenfield, Unger & More: Thriller Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Reassessing the Past | History Previews, Oct. 2021, Pt. 3

Q & A with Nasim Marashi

'Life's Too Short' by Abby Jimenez Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

‘The Four Winds,’ ‘The Blacktongue Thief,’ and 55 Other Exceptional Titles | Starred Reviews, Apr. 2021

PREMIUM

I Thought You Said This Would Work

Over the course of the book, readers will discover what caused the rift between Holly and Samantha. However, the most engaging part of the story is how the characters dig themselves out of their ruts in order to give themselves a chance to look toward the future.

Lost in Paris

This debut novel will appeal to historical fiction readers, Francophiles, those who enjoy stories about mother-daughter relationships, and fans of Woody Allen’s 2011 movie, Midnight in Paris. The historical mystery, beautiful setting, and vivid characters make this a must-read.
PREMIUM

Death with a Double Edge

This atmospheric and fast-paced novel is a welcome addition to the series. Those who enjoy the interaction between Daniel and Miriam fford Croft may be disappointed since she only makes a brief appearance in this novel. Recommended to fans of historical British mysteries, such as those by Charles Finch and Charles Todd, as well as fans of Perry’s other series.
PREMIUM

Hour of the Witch

Bohjalian’s (Midwives) historical novel is full of twists and turns. Though not a typical suspense novel, the story has many of the page-turning plot lines of a thriller, and is sure to keep readers enthralled. Though it’s set in the 1600s, Mary’s story resonates today, as it addresses the role religious and societal expectations can play in the lives of individuals. A must-read and highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Transient Desires

Brunetti continues to delight, and this will do well in libraries where the series has proved popular.
PREMIUM

Local Woman Missing

The latest from Kubica (The Good Girl; The Other Mrs.) will appeal to fans of Lisa Jackson and Gregg Olsen and readers who enjoy missing-persons novels. The twists, turns, and an unpredictable ending make it irresistible.

The Anatomy of Desire

For fans of true crime and podcasts such as Serial, this riveting mock podcast docudrama ratchets up the suspense as readers glimpse every angle of the story from a 360–degree view.
PREMIUM

The Watcher Girl

Kent’s (When I Was You) psychological suspense thriller delivers with an interesting premise, captivating characters, and unexpected twists.
PREMIUM

The Border: A Journey Around Russia Through North Korea, China, Mongolia, Kazakhstan, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Ukraine, Belarus, Lithuania, Poland, Latvia, Estonia, Finland, Norway, and the Northeast Passage

Will appeal to fans of travel books who enjoy additional background and history of destinations; particularly good for readers familiar with the areas around Russia.
PREMIUM

Out of the Shadows: Six Visionary Victorian Women in Search of a Public Voice

Brisk and entertaining, this biography should draw the attention of readers interested in the social effects of the Spiritualist movement, or in 19th-century women’s history.
PREMIUM

What Kind of Ancestor Do You Want To Be?

Recommended for readers interested in environmentalism, anthropology, sociology, history, philosophy, and Indigenous peoples in the U.S.
PREMIUM

Pregnant Girl: A Story of Teen Motherhood, College, and Creating a Better Future for Young Families

Lewis interweaves her own account of being a pregnant teen and her extensive research, to tie proposed solutions directly to facts. A complementary work is Melanie Watkins’s Taking My Medicine, although Watkins’s book is more memoir than research.
PREMIUM

Downeast: Five Maine Girls and the Unseen Story of Rural America

A sensitive paean to an oft-overlooked region of the United States and the young women who live there. Recommended for readers seeking books with a strong sense of place or about girls facing the challenges of the 21st century.
PREMIUM

Meade at Gettysburg: A Study in Command

An instructive book about Civil War generalship that will engage and inform anyone interested in the dynamics of command from the perspective of those in charge.
PREMIUM

X Troop: The Secret Jewish Commandos of World War II

Readers interested in World War II tales of bravery and heroism or Jewish studies will enjoy this.
PREMIUM

Maverick: A Biography of Thomas Sowell

Based on interviews and ideas replete in Sowell’s innumerable books, this biography is seasoned with selections from the economist’s sardonic quips. While many will disagree with his proposals, few should disregard his impact.
PREMIUM

The Hidden Curriculum: First Generation Students at Legacy Universities

Gable’s suggestions are well written and thoughtfully conveyed; university administrators and others interested in higher education will find much to consider.
PREMIUM

Behold the Land: The Black Arts Movement in the South

A scholarly work recommended for readers interested in Black history and culture in the U.S.
PREMIUM

Music, Math, and Mind: The Physics and Neuroscience of Music

Spending time inside the brain of this talented scholar and artist is worth the price of admission; a truly joyful experience.
PREMIUM

Todd Webb in Africa: Outside the Frame

Although it’s fascinating as a history, Webb’s body of work is artistically underwhelming; it resembles a really good Life magazine photo-essay, but it lacks the éclat of photographers like Henri Cartier-Bresson or Malick Sidibé. This narrative of Webb’s photos and their creation will engage primarily readers who are already interested in the medium and the message.
PREMIUM

Elizabeth and Monty: The Untold Story of Their Intimate Friendship

A well-researched work that will appeal to readers who like their celebrity biographies juicy.
PREMIUM

A Wonderful Guy: Conversations with the Great Men of Musical Theater

This funny, charming, and inspiring look into the world behind the footlights will delight fans of musical theater and those hoping to see their own names in lights someday.
PREMIUM

The Most Beautiful Disaster: How God Makes Miracles out of Our Mistakes

While there is a bit of a reliance on “the enemy” to explain bad behavior, Carpenter’s message is basically a hopeful one that emphasizes her concept of God’s love.

I Believe I’ll Go Back Home: Roots and Revival in New England Folk Music

Curren’s work is both historically important and vital reading for the present moment. Our need for a spiritual and cultural revival is, it would seem, as essential and natural as our need to sing. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

Summer Movies: 30 Sun-Drenched Classics

This fun compendium will delight trip planners who like their vacations movie-oriented, as well as everyone who loves classic films.

The Beginner’s Guide to Growing Great Vegetables

Enthusiastically recommended for new and novice gardeners who want a straightforward, unfussy guide to growing their own food.
PREMIUM

David and Ameena

Rao (coauthor, Centaur) makes her solo debut with a novel rich in imagery and emotions. It challenges the reader to look deep into the characters through their actions, as an almost omniscient narrative voice hints at their future. Love or hate them, they are memorable. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Song of the Forever Rains

Mellow’s (The Animal Under the Fur) exciting premise is rather slow to start, and the romantic heat between Larkyra and Darius is tepid until the very end. Although the teenage heroine gives the book young adult crossover potential, readers will be left uncertain why Larkyra was in the dark as to Darius’s motives.

Ebony Magazine Considers ‘Fiction’s New School of Black Women Heroines’ | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Kraftwerk: Future Music from Germany

This provocative and stimulating, yet readable narrative unearths the social and musical importance of an iconic band, both for general readers and fans.

Being a Ballerina: The Power and Perfection of a Dancing Life

Dancing “full out” means going all out during practice rather than saving energy for the performance. In this memoir Larsen is writing full out, and we are the lucky audience of her performance. Balletomanes, dance students, and aspiring dancers will applaud this absorbing account.
PREMIUM

Broadway Goes to War: American Theater During World War II

An engaging, thorough, slightly academic work about an overlooked period of American drama, perhaps best reserved for theater historians and course-specific studies.
PREMIUM

Kengo Kuma: My Life as an Architect in Tokyo

With observations on urbanism that are more inspiring than those in the late, peripatetic architect Michael Sorkin’s Twenty Minutes in Manhattan, this text benefits from monochromatic photographs and delicate, understated, textural pencil sketches, which will inspire design students to express their ideas more abstractly. For all architecture libraries.
PREMIUM

Brat: An ’80s Story

Students of acting will appreciate learning about McCarthy’s versions of method acting and his struggles with performing for a camera. Fans of ’80s cinema will love the chance to reminisce.
PREMIUM

Driven: Rush in the ’90s and “In the End.”

This third installment’s heartfelt exploration of the hobbies, obsessions, and families of the members of Rush more than compensates for missing some of the sparkle evident in the first two volumes. Popoff is to be congratulated for this herculean effort.
PREMIUM

Songbooks: The Literature of American Popular Music

For readers interested in music media or cultural scholarship.
PREMIUM

The Hard Crowd: Essays 2000–2020

There is a great deal of variety and personality in this essay collection, especially for readers with an eye for art, music, and literature. Those who enjoy Kushner’s novels will gravitate to this collection, and readers new to the author’s writing will be drawn in as well.

The Golden Age of the American Essay: 1945–1970

In this collection, readers might see the value of the essay format as a way to share opinions. Lopate’s collection is a worthwhile slice of the history of the essay and its lasting contribution to American writing.
PREMIUM

Lev’s Violin: A Story of Music, Culture and Italian Adventure

Lyrical and exquisitely detailed. For listeners and players of violin music and readers interested in the history of things.
PREMIUM

Radical Vision: A Biography of Lorraine Hansberry

A scholarly yet accessible account of the life of a singular American artist and activist. Recommended for enthusiasts of American literature, and anyone who is interested in learning more about this transformational woman, whose vision for the country is as relevant today as ever.
PREMIUM

Word for Word: A Writer’s Life

Lisle’s limited discussion of her own creative process may leave some readers wanting, but others will enjoy the frank discussion of her successes and disappointments pursuing a “writer’s life.”
PREMIUM

Sunshine Girl: An Unexpected Life

A deeply reflective narrative that will appeal to both Margulies’s fans and anyone who enjoys a warm and well-crafted memoir.
PREMIUM

Family of Origin, Family of Choice: Stories of Queer Christians

These moving narratives, offering firsthand perspectives from a racially diverse group of LGBTQ Christians and their families, will resonate with many.
PREMIUM

The Reshaping of America’s Game: Major League Baseball After the Players’ Strike

Soderholm-Difatte’s great strength lies in his examination of the steroid era and the damages it wrought, representation of non-white people in baseball management, and new baseball analytics which look for the most productive players through statistical scrutiny. An engaging overview of the sport.
PREMIUM

Turning Pointe: How a New Generation of Dancers Is Saving Ballet from Itself

Required reading for anyone who loves ballet and cares about its future.
PREMIUM

Reparations: A Christian Call for Repentance and Repair

A thoughtful approach to a vital topic. It will especially appeal to fans of Jemar Tisby’s The Color of Compromise.

The Duke Undone

Impeccably researched, Lowell’s latest emphasizes justice. This love story tackles weighty issues but remains suspenseful and spellbinding.

People We Meet on Vacation

Henry’s latest will appeal to readers who are drawn to stories with emotion, poetic language, and a strong sense of place, like Kate Clayborn’s Love Lettering.

Hana Khan Carries On

Readers won’t be able to put this Own Voices Muslim romance down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

Talk Bookish to Me

The inclusion of the “book within a book” plot device, where the historical romance that Kara is writing mirrors her own relationship, took time away from the central romance. Meanwhile, a sudden third-act surprise reveal and a location change, from New York City to Italy, may leave some readers struggling to believe in Ryan and Kara’s happily-ever-after. This novel will suit readers who enjoy romances like Emily Henry’s Beach Read that focus on personal growth and change.
PREMIUM

A Wicked Bargain for the Duke

The protagonists can be annoyingly stubborn (an honest conversation would easily clear up the central conflict), but fans of Frampton and her detail-rich historicals will find themselves pleasantly transported.
PREMIUM

The School I Deserve: Six Young Refugees and Their Fight for Equality in America

This uplifting story, which played out during bleak years for refugees in the U.S., will resonate with readers concerned about immigration and education policy, and those engaged by courtroom narratives.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?