Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

MIT’s Open Access Task Force Releases Final Recommendations

Library and Archive Organizations Including ACRL, ALA, ARL, and SAA File Amicus Brief Promoting Digital Preservation

Harvard Crimson Editorial: “Changing Libraries — But Not Too Much”

The Internet Archive Launches a New Music Player: Access 1 Million+ Recordings, View Liner Notes, Discover Related Tracks, and More

ARL Releases Proceedings of the 2018 Library Assessment Conference: Building Effective, Sustainable, Practical Assessment

Open Access: The First Transformative Agreement for Australia and New Zealand

Report: “UF (University of Florida) Reprimands Book-Hungry Prof Over 2017 Behavior”

Roundup (October 17, 2019)

Roundup (October 17, 2019)

New Bestsellers Arrive, Oct. 17, 2019 | Book Pulse

UK Libraries Receive £125 Million in Additional Funding

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) and JSTOR Partner to Make South Asian Materials Openly Available Online

New Report: “Access My Info Measuring Data Access Rights Around the World”

Controlled Digital Lending in Canada: “Protecting Unique Canadiana Works” at the Hamilton Public Library

Book Chapter: “Teaching Students to Critically Evaluate Textbooks”

Open Publishing Awards Announced

From eBooks to Films: Former ProQuest and ebrary Exec, Kevin Sayar, Named CEO of Kanopy

White House Plans to Nominate Hugh Nathanial Halpern as Government Publishing Office (GPO) Director

Roundup (October 16, 2019)

Authors in Conversation, Oct. 16, 2019 | Book Pulse

Father Columba Stewart on Digitizing Endangered Manuscripts, Provisional Metadata, and Hope

“Education Before Regulation: Empowering Students to Question Their Data Privacy”

Report: “Crawl Data Analysis of 2 Billion Links From 90 Million Domains Offer Glimpse Into Today’s Web”

Bowker Releases “Self-Publishing in the United States, 2013-2018” Report

Association of University Presses (AUPresses) Issues Statement Condemning a Book Burning Incident at Georgia Southern University

Roundup (October 15, 2019)

ALA’s eBooksForAll Petition Exceeds 100,000 Signatures

Margaret Atwood & Bernardine Evaristo Win the Booker Prize, Oct. 15, 2019 | Book Pulse

Top 20 Best-Selling Literary Criticism Titles | Academic Best Sellers

Top 20 Best-Selling Literary Criticism Titles | Academic Best Sellers

A Master Burglar’s Rip-Roaring Heist

Report: “UF (University of Florida) Reprimands Book-Hungry Prof Over 2017 Behavior”

Amazon Makes Another $1 Million Gift to the Wikimedia Endowment to Help Ensure Long-Term Sustainability of Wikipedia

New Book: Knowledge Exchange Publishes “Open Scholarship and the Need for Collective Action”

Penn. State University: Dean of University Libraries Barbara Dewey to Retire August 2020

Digital Privacy News Roundup

Roundup (August 14, 2019)

Roundup (October 14, 2019)

ALA Annual 2020 Coupon Booklet

A Conversation with Afia Atakora, Author of Conjure Women

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Oct. 14, 2019 | Book Pulse

Women’s, SF/Fantasy, Historical: Top Pop Fiction Previews, Apr. 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Ishmael Beah, Christina Dalcher, Paulette Jiles, & Ian McGuire), Plus More Titles with Literary–Popular Crossover: Fiction Previews, Apr. 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (From Jennifer Finney Boylan to Jessica Ward), Plus Arts, Science, Business, & Health: Nonfiction Previews, Apr. 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

John Rothman, Electronic Information Pioneer, Dies

1

Big Update! The Internet Archive Adds 2,500 More MS-DOS Games to Play Online

Oxford English Dictionary Adds More Than 650 New Words, Senses, and Subentries Including Chillax, Cyptocurrency, Fake News, and Jedi Mind Trick (October 2019 Update)

United States Army Defends Decision to Close its Historic 57-Year-Old Space and Technical Library at Redstone Arsenal.

More Than 1,700 Maps Added to USGS Historical Topographic Map Collection

New Data on Postsecondary Tuition, Fees and Degrees in the United States From the Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System (IPEDS)

New Report: “The Market of Disinformation”

Now Available Online: The “Digital Collections Management Compendium (DCMC)” From the Library of Congress

Interview: UNC at Chapel Hill University Librarian Elaine Westbrooks on Academic Publishing, Open Access, and Elsevier

PREMIUM

Code of Conduct

In a pulse-pounding story featuring a captivating interracial couple paired with a riveting adventure, this strong series launch from White (An Urchin of Means) casts equally original and intriguing supporting characters, who will hopefully headline future entries. A thrill for readers of Sandra Brown or Kristen Ashley.
PREMIUM

Citizen 865: The Hunt for Hitler’s Hidden Soldiers in America

A general purchase recommended for public libraries.
PREMIUM

999: The Extraordinary Young Women of the First Official Jewish Transport to Auschwitz

Against the backdrop of World War II, this respectful narrative presents a compassionate and meticulous remembrance of the young women profiled throughout.
PREMIUM

Fighting Churchill, Appeasing Hitler: Neville Chamberlain, Sir Horace Wilson, & Britain’s Plight of Appeasement: 1937–1939

This fascinating study is a model of historical sleuthing. Vigorously researched, it should appeal widely to history buffs.
PREMIUM

The Founding Fortunes: How the Wealthy Paid for and Profited from America’s Revolution

Overall, the work presents a commendable treatment of pecuniary matters during this country’s embryonic stages and is recommended for readers interested in fiscal matters and American economic habits.
PREMIUM

The Girl at the Door

In a story reminiscent of The Scarlet Letter but with a more salacious vocabulary, emotional polarities abound while the accused expresses no remorse, only self-interest. Provocative reading for the brave. [See Prepub Alert, 2/4/19.]
PREMIUM

The Nanny

Macmillan (What She Knew) is a master of suspense, and this latest engrossing tale does not disappoint. Stock up on multiple copies. [See Prepub Alert, 3/11/19.]
PREMIUM

Murder Off the Page

Lehane successfully manufactures drama and intrigue and offers up plausible red herrings, surprising readers as often as bewildering them with questionable character choices, but this quick read is mostly for patrons who enjoy modern murder mysteries and can withstand some well-worn tropes and stereotypes. [See Prepub Alert, 4/22/19.]
PREMIUM

The Bodies in the Library

The heroine of this new series from Wingate (“Potting Shed” series) is a pushover for anyone with more confidence, including her daughter, her boyfriend, the secretary at the library, and the writers. Owing to her lack of knowledge and insecurity, the book feels too long. Fans of Golden Age mysteries would do better to read the authors themselves.
PREMIUM

The Man Who Came Down the Attic Stairs

Sporting elusive black-and-white art that utilizes the power of the comic form to heighten the emotional resonance of the story, Loup (Bad Boyfriends) creates a strikingly literary horror by externalizing and incarnating the miasma of postpartum depression. A solid addition for adult graphic novel collections.

Kindness and Wonder: Why Mister Rogers Matters Now More Than Ever

All readers will find inspiration in this uplifting book, particularly in today’s complex world. Pair with Maxwell King’s The Good Neighbor for a multifaceted look at an innovator of children’s television. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]
PREMIUM

Wham!, George Michael and Me: A Memoir

This fond memoir of friendship and fame will appeal to fans of Wham! and 1980s pop. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]
PREMIUM

The Theology of Liberalism: Political Philosophy and the Justice of God

While ultimately Nelson is unable to refute nonideal critiques of his position, even readers leery of his conclusions will learn much from his attempt.
PREMIUM

Listening for America: Inside the Great American Songbook from Gershwin to Sondheim

While Kapilow doesn’t quite make his case, he has written an engaging, informative, and provocative book that is recommended for fans of Broadway musicals.

Roundup (October 11, 2019)

Roundup (October 11, 2019)

Little Voices

Fast paced and psychologically complex, this debut mystery has plenty of twists and turns that will appeal to fans of Gillian Flynn, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.
PREMIUM

When Reagan Sent in the Marines: The Invasion of Lebanon

Complementary to Benis Frank’s thoroughly researched U.S. Marines in Lebanon, 1982–1984 and John Laffin’s The War of Desperation: Lebanon 1982–1984, this smoothly written assessment of a modern American military disaster will be a worthwhile addition to most history collections.

Know My Name: A Memoir

A much-needed memoir giving voice to those who must be heard. Miller’s writing stands apart.
PREMIUM

Bound in Flame

More of a coming-of-age tale than a romance, this debut’s lush early 1900s Hawaiian setting fails to overcome a meandering story full of details but lacking in focus. Magic is used as a convenient plot device to prop up a heroine of color who deserves to be extraordinary in her own right. Issues of racism, colonialism, and sexism are handled clumsily. Not recommended

Page to Screen, Oct. 11, 2019 | Book Pulse

Home Work: A Memoir of My Hollywood Years

A frank and intimate storyteller whose radiant spirit fills these pages, Andrews chronicles the peaks and valleys of her life and career. This event-packed memoir is a must for fans of Andrews’s life and work, students of cinema history, and anyone who is curious about musical film production. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]

Permanent Record

For those fascinated by electronic spying or impassioned by the issue of privacy rights, Snowden’s memoir casts an enlightening view of the U.S. intelligence community despite sometimes being marred by cumbersome jargon.

What College Students Want (in the library), Lasers!, and Going Fine Free | Around the Web, Oct. 11, 2019

2

Climate Change: National Audubon Society Releases “389 Bird Species on the Brink” Report & “Bird and Climate Visualizer”

Research Article: “Library Catalog Analysis and Library Holdings Counts: Origins, Methodological Issues and Application to the Field of Informetrics” (Preprint)

Research Article: “The NIH Open Citation Collection: A Public Access, Broad Coverage Resource”

205 Unique Data Sources From Around the Globe Added to U.S. Census HIV/AIDS Surveillance Data Base

Video: Watch the 2019 IMLS National Medals Ceremony

Journal Article: “The Diverse Niches of Megajournals: Specialism Within Generalism”

Report: Public to Get Access to Nuremberg Trials Digital Recordings

Roundup (October 10, 2019)

Preservation: Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) Awards $405,353 for 13 Recordings at Risk Projects

New Research Tools: “State Firearm Law Navigator” From RAND

8,000 Images From the Digital Image Collection of the Folger Shakespeare Library Now Available via “Open Artstor”

Latest Version of Amazon Kindle App for iOS Adds “Public Library” Filter

First Large-Scale Survey on Grant Peer Review Published By Publons

PREMIUM

Job Search Strategies | Placements & Salaries 2019

PREMIUM

The LIS Pipeline | Placements & Salaries 2019

PREMIUM

Survey Methods | Placements & Salaries 2019

New Bestsellers and the Nobel Prizes in Literature, Oct. 10, 2019 | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Jobs by Region | Placements & Salaries 2019

PREMIUM

Work Settings and Skills | Placements & Salaries 2019

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.