Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Billie Jean King's Memoir 'All In' Coming This Summer | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Keepsake Sisters

Wilde’s second novel set in Moonglow Cove (after The Moonglow Sisters) is a redemptive story of the healing power of unconditional familial love and the potential to grow through life’s struggles. It’s sure to please the author’s many devoted readers, and fans of similar authors, like Susan Mallery and Kristan Higgins.
PREMIUM

Fat Chance: Diet Mania, Greed, and the Infamous Fen-Phen Swindle

The rotating cast of unscrupulous lawyers may exhaust readers’ patience; as the author notes early on, there are no heroes in this book. Still, it’s an absorbing tale that’s sure to hold the interest of those interested in books on corporate crime.
PREMIUM

The Wisdom of Old Dogs: Lessons in Life, Love and Friendship

Tears will be inevitable while reading this title, but readers will be served well by this addition to pet collections.
PREMIUM

Karma: A Yogi’s Guide to Crafting Your Destiny

A must for devotees of Sadhguru. This work will also be of interest to those trying to explore the complex topic of karma in a more conversational form. However, readers seeking an academic exploration of karma may want to consider other resources.
PREMIUM

The Garden of Angels

A good read for those who love their World War II thrillers with a bit of history included. Followers of Donna Leon’s “Commissario Brunetti” mysteries may appreciate the atmosphere and the intrigue.
PREMIUM

Maybe Next Time

Jones returns to the setting of her “High Stakes” series with this steamy series launch. Readers unfamiliar with the characters may be a bit lost at first, and Denver comes across as arrogant at the beginning, but Jones’s writing will pull readers in, and they’ll be asking for the backstory. Recommended for libraries owning the “High Stakes” series or able to purchase all titles together.
PREMIUM

The Next Everest: Surviving the Mountain’s Deadliest Day and Finding the Resilience To Climb Again

Davidson’s latest will appeal to readers interested in Everest and mountain climbing and to those seeking stories about overcoming setbacks.
PREMIUM

200

A promising, playful sci-fi noir, this title isn’t perfect or particularly original, but it buzzes with neon energy that leaves readers eager for more.
PREMIUM

Whisper Down the Lane

This clever, creepy roller-coaster ride is perfect for fans of fast-paced horror with the flavor of true crime.
PREMIUM

Uprooted: Recovering the Legacy of the Places We’ve Left Behind

While Olmstead successfully creates a full portrait of her family, especially her grandpa, her calls to rediscover the land fall a little short.
PREMIUM

The Consequences of Fear

A must-read for Maisie Dobbs fans, this is an excellent fit for readers of historical and thoughtful mysteries.
PREMIUM

Certain Dark Things

This vampire crime thriller with romance elements will have wide appeal, especially among the author’s many fans.
PREMIUM

Wicked All Night

Frost’s “Night Rebel” series continues to shine as the duo face new enemies and balance an explosive love with an intolerant society. While new readers can likely jump in with no issues, appearances by old friends are sure to drive readers to Frost’s backlist.
PREMIUM

A Dog’s Hope

This title will certainly appeal to fans of W. Bruce Cameron’s dog books, but especially to his young adult fans. As Toby matures through his late teens, Buddy remains wholly doggish throughout their journey together.
PREMIUM

Chanel Eternal Instant

Given the price of this book, and its narrow focus, this title is recommended primarily for watch aficionados and collectors.
PREMIUM

Wild Sweetness: Recipes Inspired by Nature

Ho’s poetic writing will spark the interest of bakers looking to incorporate more fruits and herbs into their treats.
PREMIUM

The Motherlode: 100+ Women Who Made Hip-Hop

An appealing survey that highlights many unsung heroines along with the superstars. For hip-hop fans and music historians alike.
PREMIUM

Rosa: The Story of the Rose

While not a strictly a gardening or history book, this resource will amuse and delight gardeners and lovers of floral design and art history.
PREMIUM

Surviving Savannah

Callahan (Becoming Mrs. Lewis) tells a harrowing tale of survival and courage, fate and chance, bringing the actual tragedy of the Pulaski to vivid life.
PREMIUM

Floret Farm’s Discovering Dahlias: A Guide to Growing and Arranging Magnificent Blooms

Benzakein is a celebrity and best-selling author in the flower farming world, with an upcoming show on Magnolia TV. Her first book, Floret Farm’s Cut Flower Garden, is an essential title, and her large fan base will clamor for her newest as well.
PREMIUM

Stampede: Gold Fever and Disaster in the Klondike

Readers who enjoy history, adventure, and nature writing, and fans of Egan, Candice Millard, and Jack London, will savor this page-turner.

Never Far Away

Fans of the author’s previous works will be on the edge of their seats as they follow his characters’ attempts to survive vicious assassins. As he often does, Koryta (If She Wakes) provides strong character development, believable dialogue, and a fast-paced narrative. Keen observers will notice a brief sighting of two brothers (and evil murderers) who were introduced in Koryta’s Those Who Wish Me Dead.
PREMIUM

The Politics of Vulnerability: How to Heal Muslim-Christian Relations in a Post-Christian America: Today’s Threat to Religion and Religious Freedom

From a sociological perspective, Uddin’s analysis is spot-on. However, there are other facets to this discussion, including the problem of asking people who are marginalized to reach out, which means these recommendations are primarily useful/actionable/practicable for people with privilege.

'The Four Winds' by Kristin Hannah Is 'NYT' Audio Fiction Bestseller | Book Pulse

Reese Witherspoon Picks 'Infinite Country' by Patricia Engel for March Book Club | Book Pulse

Sexual Assault on Campus, Saving America's Public Schools, Learning Online, and More in Education | Academic Best Sellers

Crime and Comfort: 90 Mysteries for Our Times Promise Escape and Coziness | Mystery Preview 2021

'What's Mine and Yours' by Naima Coster Is the March 'Read With Jenna' Pick | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for “Dark Sky” by C. J. Box | LibraryReads

Pandemic & Politics: Ongoing Concerns; Nonfiction Previews, Sept. 2021, Pt. 2 | Prepub Alert

The Ladies of the Secret Circus

Highly recommended for lovers of timeslip fiction, readers who enjoy their genres very bent indeed, and those who have dreamed of running away to the circus.
PREMIUM

Paris Without Her

Although slated as a memoir, this touching work is just as much a love story and travel diary. It processes the pain of loss through the lens of beautiful scenery and will appeal to many readers, but especially fellow Francophiles eager to follow the road less traveled.
PREMIUM

The 80/80 Marriage: A New Model for a Happier, Stronger Relationship

The book offers helpful insights into the dated preconceptions many couples have when they get married, and positive ways to shift to a new paradigm.

Her Here

Elena’s narrative-within-a-narrative nicely reveals the creative process, while Dennis’s larger story confirms the value of living boldly even as we step back to frame our experiences. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

A Whole World: Letters from James Merrill

This sumptuously produced collection of letters will appeal mostly to literary enthusiasts.

The Last Watch

Dewes’s debut is an exciting, fast-paced ride around the edges of the universe, where those rejected by much of humanity are the only ones who can save it. Fans of K. B. Wagers’s “Farian Wars” series and John Scalzi’s Old Man’s War will welcome this military science fiction thriller.
PREMIUM

The Curator’s Daughter

Ember’s story interwoven with Hanna’s is a search for identity unshackled from past mistakes and redeemed by love. Fans of Kristy Cambron and Rachel Hauck will devour this split-time tale with two equally strong story lines. Increased anti-Semitism in her own community of Portland, OR, inspired Dobson (Memories of Glass) to mine the past for lessons in reconciliation, forgiveness, and lasting change

Names of New York: Discovering the City’s Past, Present, and Future through Its Place-Names

While toponymy, or the study of place-names, may appear to be an overwhelming topic, Jelly-Schapiro’s writing is informative, accessible, and entertaining. He is engaging throughout, and will leave readers thinking twice about the place-names they encounter on a daily basis.
PREMIUM

Fugitive Telemetry

Back in novella form for a sixth outing, Murderbot continues to bring intelligence and acerbic commentary on humanity to the forefront.
PREMIUM

It Had To Be You

Clark creates a quilt of diverse love stories, overlapping and meandering warmly throughout New York City. In her most recent since The Bucket List, each story Clark tells packs an emotional punch, but Savannah’s and Liv’s respective relationships, as well as their own evolution to friends and colleagues, are standouts.
PREMIUM

Piecing Your Heart Back Together: The Road Map to Healing and Thriving after a Breakup or Divorce

Silvestro’s work will help many deal with the current pain of a broken relationship and give them the ability to move on.
PREMIUM

Isabelle and Alexander

Anderson’s first foray into historical romance is an atypical, yet satisfying story set in Victorian Manchester’s upper middle class. Hand this to readers looking for a book that navigates the peaks and valleys of two strangers attempting to make a life together despite the hardships life throws at them.
PREMIUM

Wild Sign

The sixth “Alpha and Omega” book continues to build a realized world of the Montana pack and its members. An intriguing ending will have fans looking forward to the next book.
PREMIUM

Three Dreamers

Fans of Carcaterra’s novels and reporting will appreciate the background on his life and inspiration, and this reflective memoir gives nuance to the dark world he portrays in his novels.
PREMIUM

New Yorkers: A City and Its People in Our Time

A varied book that will appeal to armchair travelers and others curious about New York. Highly recommended for public libraries as well as large academic libraries the world over.
PREMIUM

The Conductors

Blending historical fantasy and mystery, this fast-paced debut with predominantly Black characters will engage fans eager for a combination of each.
PREMIUM

A Piece of the Moon

Every title by Fabry (Borders of the Heart) draws readers into the story with clear, honest writing in a similar style to Charles Martin and Lynn Austin. The rural South comes to life, with themes of forgiveness and second chances as highlights. The characters are both deeply flawed and immensely relatable, making this another hit for Fabry.
PREMIUM

Philip Roth: The Biography

For an author like Roth, who put so much of his own life into his books, this biography is an essential companion to his novels, enabling readers to discover the true-life inspirations for many of his memorable characters and scenes. Recommended for readers who have read and enjoyed Philip Roth’s fiction.
PREMIUM

Visual Encyclopedia

Containing an enormous range of knowledge throughout human history, this attractive guide is highly recommended for public libraries.
PREMIUM

Layla

Fans both of the author and of paranormal romances will relish this tale.
PREMIUM

The Seat Filler

Wilson’s follow-up to Roommaid is a fun romp with only-in-the-movies-level swoons and genuine laugh-out-loud moments. With a fairly PG rating, this one may also work for teen romance readers.
PREMIUM

Grown

Rife with crucial issues, Jackson’s newest YA bestseller will require multiple formats to satisfy audience demands.
PREMIUM

The Incredible Winston Browne

Dietrich (Stars of Alabama) imbues plenty of Southern charm and colloquialisms in a read that will appeal to people of all genders, and especially to fans of small-town living. Readers who enjoy well-developed, realistic characters similar to those from Charles Martin and Lauren K. Denton will want to watch for more from this author.
PREMIUM

Band of Sisters

Listening to the audiobook version and hearing the tension, anguish, and, at times, happiness, provides a deeper connection to the characters in an already outstanding story.

Anxious People

Balancing—so remarkably well!

The House of Always

Lyons creates an immersive and complex history filled with delightful characters, bold action, and surprising twists.

The Islam Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained

Full of clearly conveyed, essential information, this title should be of interest to everyone.

This Is My America

The struggle Tracy and her family are facing is raw and real; it’s a story that needs to be read (or heard). This audiobook brings a powerful depth to the emotions and events.

We Are Satellites

Pinsker’s (A Song For A New Day) meticulous research and melodious prose bring readers to the heart of a family and the challenges of societal expectations, technology, and the desire to advance without fully understanding the consequences.

Watch Over Me

Fans of LaCour’s previous YA novels will not be disappointed by this hauntingly beautiful tale. The audiobook is a cathartic masterpiece and will evoke strong emotions in listeners.
PREMIUM

Little and Often

A thoughtful and well-written memoir, this book will appeal to readers who have difficult relationships with family and those who find craftwork healing.
PREMIUM

Second First Impressions

Following 99 Percent Mine, Thorne’s latest novel is a sweet story, merging a woman whose fears tend to overpower her dreams, and a slow-burn romance that turns her world upside down.

The Argument Hangover: Empowering Couples To Fight Smarter and Overcome Communication Pitfalls

This is an excellent resource for couples who are willing to work on their relationship.
PREMIUM

Stronger Than You Think: The 10 Blind Spots That Undermine Your Relationship…and How To See Past Them

An excellent choice for readers who are in a romantic relationship or are preparing for one.
PREMIUM

Magic Lessons: The Prequel to Practical Magic

This audiobook is a delight and a good addition to any collection.
PREMIUM

Blackberry Beach: A Hope Harbor Novel

Hannon (Starfish Pier) returns to Hope Harbor with an unsurprising romance that reads well as a stand-alone but will satisfy series fans with glimpses of characters from previous books. A couple of retirees’ romantic interest in each other livens up the plot, but this book is recommended mainly for libraries that already own the series or where Hannon is popular.
PREMIUM

Brother, Sister, Mother, Explorer

The narrative can get a little lost in the gorgeous, reflective language but remains an absorbing study of memory and grief.
PREMIUM

Why Couples Fight: A Step-by-Step Guide to Ending the Frustration, Conflict, and Resentment in Your Relationship

This will be very helpful for couples who are struggling, particularly during the COVID era, to have a mutually supportive relationship.
PREMIUM

William Shakespeare: Facts and Fictions

An ideal ready-reference guide to understanding one of the greatest—and most popular

Someone Wanton His Way Comes

Humorous, tender, and altogether fun, Caldwell’s latest will have wide appeal among romance readers.

The Galaxy, and the Ground Within

Chambers (To Be Taught if Fortunate) once again creates an epic space setting with a detailed, personal view of some of its inhabitants. Humor and heartache weave through her insightful prose and diverse characters.

Star Eater

Hall’s (The Border Keeper) solid worldbuilding and strong prose create an utterly gripping novel that blends the boundaries of horror and fantasy.
PREMIUM

New York, New York, New York: Four Decades of Success, Excess, and Transformation

This engaging book has the potential to become a classic text, thanks to the detailed work and references that have gone into its creation. Recommended for libraries in larger institutions or for others with an interest in New York or urban studies.

Sons of Valor

This book is a must-read for fans of covert-ops thrillers, and the authors are looking like the next Preston and Child.

The Hiding Place

The sequel to Blind Search is a riveting, fast-paced story of family and small-town secrets. Tension builds quickly in the emotional story involving unforgettable working dogs and the people who love them.

A Deadly Twist

Siger’s latest novel (after The Mykonos Mob) is as insightful as earlier ones concerning the problems in Greece. Followers of the series will relish a reunion with Kaldis and a group of friends in an engrossing procedural. New readers will discover the gorgeous aspects of Greek life in a mystery that uncovers the corruption of the country.
PREMIUM

Where Have You Gone Without Me?

With its short, brisk chapters, the novel reads as if it were a newspaper column, appropriate for the investigative nature of the book. While there is little suspense, readers who enjoy colorful characters might appreciate this fiction debut by a sports and entertainment journalist who writes what he knows.
PREMIUM

What You Never Knew

With an emphasis on place and characters, the debut is a slow-moving, atmospheric novel. Only readers with a great deal of patience will wade through the alternating viewpoints from the dead May and the living June to uncover a secret that isn’t very surprising.
PREMIUM

The Unkindness of Ravens

While readers may want to compare librarian Hilliard’s debut with the library-centered mysteries by Jenn McKinlay or Victoria Gilbert, this one is actually a little darker than the other cozies. Most of the atmospheric story takes place in the beloved but old village library. Readers who remember those classic girl detective mysteries, and many library staff members, will appreciate this book.
PREMIUM

The Sign of Death

The follow-up to A Study in Murder is a fun, character-driven mystery with two unconventional amateur sleuths. The emphasis on Victorian lifestyle in a humorous cozy should satisfy fans of atmospheric historical mysteries.

The Drummers

It’s been five years since the last Josie Gray book by the Hillerman Prize–winning author of The Territory. The riveting mystery is an intense, ripped-from-the-headlines story for anyone looking for a compelling tale of homegrown terrorists with grandiose schemes.
PREMIUM

On an Outgoing Tide

The multiple cases and personal story lines in this well-written police procedural will only be appreciated if someone has read the series. There’s a great deal of backstory in this follow-up to Red, Red Snow, too much for new readers.
PREMIUM

Heart on a Leash

In this heartwarming, modern-day version of Romeo and Juliet set in Alaska, Josh’s adorable huskies, Pepper, Bella, and Jay, steal the show. This first “Hearts of Alaska” book promises an entertaining new dog-centered series.

Christianity: A Historical Atlas

This cartographic chronicle of Christianity is an excellent, affordable resource for students of history, geography, and religion; both public and academic libraries will want to add it to their collections.
PREMIUM

Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream

A unique contribution to culinary literature that would be a great addition to a collection of food memoirs, but may not stand out to readers looking for recipes alone.
PREMIUM

Cook Real Hawai’i

With an emphasis on everyday meals over specialty dishes, the majority of the recipes are practical and feature ingredients that are easy to source. Great for home cooks wanting to explore Hawaiian cuisine at home, or those wanting to try new flavors and enhance their repertoire of fusion-inspired dishes.
PREMIUM

Rice: A Savor the South® Cookbook

Another excellent addition to the “Savor the South” cookbook series that will appeal to fans of Southern cooking, and anyone looking for new takes on a common ingredient.
PREMIUM

At Home in the Kitchen: Simple Recipes from a Chef’s Night Off

An approachable collection featuring plenty of suggestions for advice and inspiration. Cooks of all levels will find something to savor.
PREMIUM

The Food of Oaxaca: Recipes and Stories from Mexico’s Culinary Capital

A rich resource showcasing Oaxacan cuisine that will have readers coming back for the shared stories.
PREMIUM

Mister Jiu’s in Chinatown: Recipes and Stories from the Birthplace of Chinese American Food

Rewarding for home cooks seeking a unique technical challenge and readers looking for a deeper understanding and appreciation of Chinese American cuisine. The dessert chapter, with recipes and narrative by Mister Jiu’s pastry chef Melissa Chou, is a particular highlight.

Mr. Humble and Dr. Butcher: A Monkey’s Head, the Pope’s Neuroscientist, and the Quest To Transplant the Soul

Schillace brings her expertise as a medical historian to this carefully researched, pioneering biography of an eccentric doctor. A compelling read that will draw in variety of readers.
PREMIUM

Hooked: Food, Free Will, and How the Food Giants Exploit Our Addictions

Similar to his previous book, the latest by Moss will draw in fans of investigative journalism, and all interested in learning more about the inner workings of the companies we support.
PREMIUM

Films of Endearment: A Mother, a Son and the ’80s Films That Defined Us

A skilled film critic, Koresky guides readers through salient plot points instead of rehashing entire films, but his real talent is using cinema as a starting point for conversation. This intimate, probing work will appeal to hard-core cinephiles, lovers of memoirs, and many other readers.

Animal, Vegetable, Junk: A History of Food, from Sustainable to Suicidal

Worldwide famine and the collapse of the climate are real, and the author’s stark challenge to change the system or suffer catastrophe is a clarion call. This ardent work will appeal to devotees of Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma and Jared Diamond’s Collapse. Highly recommended for all libraries.
PREMIUM

Around the World in 80 Words: A Journey through the English Language

A fun and informative exploration for word nerds.
PREMIUM

Gabrielle Chanel: Fashion Manifesto

This volume does not focus on Chanel’s biography or her collaboration with the Nazi regime in wartime; for that, see Hal Vaughan’s Sleeping with the Enemy and other biographies of the designer. Rather, it spotlights Chanel’s creations and how she marketed her style and created a brand. This excellent volume is recommended for readers interested in fashion history and French fashion in general.

PREMIUM

The Code Breaker: Jennifer Doudna, Gene Editing, and the Future of the Human Race

Similar to his previous works, Isaacson’s latest is another absorbing story of scientific discovery. The final section on the use of CRISPR to combat COVID-19 will only widen the appeal.

A Most Remarkable Creature: The Hidden Life and Epic Journey of the World’s Smartest Birds of Prey

An ambitious, impressive debut. The book’s manifold strands will engage all sorts of readers, including bird lovers, science buffs, and eco-adventure fans.
PREMIUM

Terror to the Wicked: America’s First Trial by Jury That Ended a War and Helped To Form a Nation

Advanced readers of American history, political science, and law will enjoy this detail-rich and erudite example of crime and justice in early America.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?