Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Cultural Heritage: The Bob Dylan Center to Open in Tulsa, Oklahoma on May 10, 2022

National Endowment for Arts Announces Second Round of Grants for FY 2021; More Than $88 Million in Recommended Grants

FEDLINK Announces Winners of National Awards For Federal Librarianship (FY 2020)

New Ex Libris Commissioned Report: “Managing, Accessing, and Using Course Materials: Understanding the Challenges of Faculty and Students”

Roundup (May 12, 2021)

Smith College and Kansas State Reopen Libraries and More Library Construction News | Branching Out

Hidden Valley Road, How Millennials Became the Burnout Generation, Rethinking Gender and More in Psychology | Academic Best Sellers

Painting, Photography, Pottery & T-Shirts: Visual Arts Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Studying Dostoevsky, Revisiting Highsmith & More: Literature Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Diana Gabaldon’s ‘Go Tell the Bees That I Am Gone’: Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

From Akpan to Yun: Literary Fiction Previews, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

Brackston, Bradford, Steel & More: Historical Fiction, Nov. 2021, Pt. 3 | Prepub Alert

LeVar Burton Launches Book Club | Book Pulse

California State University Northridge (CSUN) Receives NEH Grant to Digitize its Farmworker Movement Collection

UNESCO Recommendation on Open Science Finalized by Member States

News from Ireland: Innovative Interfaces Sues Over Computer System Contract for Public Libraries

Research Project: “ScholarPhi: A Novel Interface for Reading Scientific Papers”

Report: “Army of Fake Fans Boosts China’s Messaging on Twitter”

RBmedia is Acquiring McGraw-Hill’s Professional Audiobook Publishing Business

Roundup (May 11, 2021)

Roundup (May 11, 2021)

Rhody Radio Connects Rhode Island Libraries with Listeners

U.S. Book Show To Replace Book Expo, Offers Library Track | Book Pulse

Read-Alikes for ‘People We Meet on Vacation,’ by Emily Henry | LibraryReads

Helping Small and Rural Libraries Frame the Future | Backtalk

Must-Have Manga | Collection Development

Final Rules Adopted: “FCC to Launch $7.17 Billion Connectivity Fund Program; New Program Provides Funding to Schools and Libraries Critical to Closing the Homework Gap”

New Briefing Paper From Science Europe: “Open Access Monitoring Guidelines: Recommendations for Research Organisations and Funders”

New Journal Article: “A Global Database of COVID-19 Vaccinations”

International Council on Archives (ICA) Introduces the Digital Records Curation Programme

Report: What is the Biodiversity Heritage Library’s (BHL) New Persistent Identifier Working Group DOI’ng?

New Online From Fondren Library, Rice University: “‘Red Book’ Story Map Reveals History of Houston Wards’ Thriving Black Communities”

Roundup (May 10, 2021)

Cooking Best-Sellers, May 2021 | The Most In-Demand in Libraries & Bookstores

'People We Meet on Vacation' by Emily Henry Tops Holds Lists | Book Pulse

Inside Out: Extending the Library's Outdoor Space Footprint

Getting Started with Citizen Science

FCC to Launch $7.17 Billion Connectivity Fund Program Providing Funding to Schools and Libraries

Journal Article: “The Fake News Wave: Academic Libraries’ Battle Against Misinformation During COVID-19”

Legislation Introduced in U.S. House of Representatives (H.R. 3019) “Directing the Smithsonian Institution and the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress to Jointly Carry out the COVID-19 Pandemic Memorial Quilt Project”

Not Real News: An Associated Press Roundup of Untrue Stories Shared Widely on Social Media This Week

Video Recording: “Reimagining Description for Libraries, Archives, and Special Collections: an Anti-Racist Approach”

Sad News: Microsoft is Shutting Down Microsoft Academic Search and Related Services

Microsoft is Shutting Down Microsoft Academic Search and Related Services

PREMIUM

Tragedy Plus Time: National Trauma and Television Comedy

A must for media and communication studies departments, this work will also appeal to many comedy fans, traumatologists, and the generally curious.
PREMIUM

How To Kidnap the Rich

Debut author Raina’s gritty description of Ramesh’s downward spiral and the story’s over-the-top action give this novel a cinematic feel. Ramesh has a singular voice, and readers will come to understand how and why he has made the decisions he has. This tale should appeal to fans of the 2021 Netflix series The White Tiger, or possibly films such as Parasite and Slumdog Millionaire; the latter is referenced in the novel.
PREMIUM

The Mastermind

Lane’s narrative bounces around timelines, and introduces an abundance of characters and backstories quickly. The reunion of Danny and Felix happens early, so some suspense is lost. At its heart, this is a family drama that flounders a bit in the structure of the narrative.

Everybody: A Book about Freedom

There are moments in this book that may feel too theoretical; yet, when Laing explores and expresses the ways in which our bodies are full of power, she offers a form of support we could all use more of as we navigate our own bodies and relearn what it means to value them. This is worthwhile, reflective reading.
PREMIUM

The Cave Dwellers

A fascinating, gossipy glimpse into the lives of the one percent (with footnotes) that should appeal to readers who enjoyed The Assistants, by Camille Perri, or Capital Girls, by Ella Monroe.
PREMIUM

In My Own Time: An Autobiography

Burton’s autobiography is as rich and dense as his prolific career. Those with a serious interest in classical music will be delighted.
PREMIUM

Arctic Storm Rising

Filled with detailed descriptions of weapons and aircraft, as well as Brown’s trademark action and suspense, this series starter should take off like its numerous predecessors.
PREMIUM

The Photographer

Despite the heightened emotional state and slow burn throughout the novel, readers will be disappointed by Carter’s sudden, surprisingly dull conclusion.
PREMIUM

The Rules of Arrangement

The bustling city of Mumbai comes alive through Bhatia’s sparkling narrative of a young woman finding her place in the world and in her family while maintaining her identity.

Love at First

This well-written novel moves quickly, and readers will be unable to put it down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

What Fresh Hell Is This? Perimenopause, Menopause, Other Indignities, and You

This newest work by Corinna is an excellent option for readers experiencing menopause or living alongside someone who is. While it is not as scientifically rigorous as The Menopause Manifesto by Jen Gunter, this book still offers a helpful overview, with up-to-date research and friendly advice on accepting one’s new body.
PREMIUM

Notes on Grief

A worthwhile mediation on coming to terms with grief. Especially as we continue to reckon with loss, this reflective account will be valuable to the many people unexpectedly grieving from afar.
PREMIUM

Madam Speaker: Nancy Pelosi and the Lessons of Power

Page has written a comprehensive biography of Pelosi that follows her entire career in politics and describes how early family experiences influenced her policies and political leadership style.
PREMIUM

Highway Blue

The narrative is replete with brooding description and a sense of studied ennui. A detachment from a real sense of place causes a feeling of floating through amorphous existence. Recommended for fans of the indeterminate.

Anyone for Edmund?

There are many laugh-out-loud moments as the characters blunder their way through this wonderful story. Edge mixes politics, history, mysticism, and humor in this engrossing read, which will appeal to fans of political fiction with a twist.
PREMIUM

Life, Unscheduled

Rockaway’s newest standalone offers an honest and open look at the mental health and relationship struggles of a modern career woman. Nicole’s struggles are real and relatable, while her happy ending is hard-earned and sweet.
PREMIUM

Mentoring Each Other: Teachers Listening, Learning, and Sharing To Create More Successful Classrooms

This well-researched book provides an excellent guide to the literature on this topic.
PREMIUM

Tables & Spreads: A Go-To Guide for Beautiful Snacks, Intimate Gatherings, and Inviting Feasts

Ideal for party planners, this cookbook offers a score of ideas. A useful addition for libraries looking for more books on entertaining.
PREMIUM

The Mysteries of Cinema: Movies and Imagination

Academic libraries that wish to expand their film criticism section might consider this work, but general collections should avoid it.
PREMIUM

Asadora!, Vol. 2

Answers remain elusive as to how Asa’s story connects to the modern-day kaiju rampage depicted in volume one of the series, but Urasawa’s masterful storytelling and brisk pacing result in an entertaining page-turner.
PREMIUM

Widespread Panic

There’s energy in this book, as in all of Ellroy’s fiction, but here it wears the reader down as much as it excites.
PREMIUM

Young Blood

Winner of the prestigious Wole Soyinka Prize for Literature in Africa when it was first published 10 years ago, this raw coming-of-age novel will resonate with its new audiences for its all-embracing tale of young people eager to escape poverty but with too few choices.
PREMIUM

The Black Ghost

An appealingly gritty, hard-boiled tale reminiscent of classic pulp thrillers, featuring a charismatic, complex, and deeply human protagonist. This volume collects five issues originally available online through Comixology.

Fictional Father

Ollmann (The Abominable Mr. Seabrook) explores dysfunctional family dynamics and the sometimes complex motivations behind artistic expression with incredible empathy. An absorbing, enthralling work.
PREMIUM

The Last Night in London

Reminiscent in tone of the past/present romantic suspense of Lauren Willig’s “Pink Carnation” series, White’s (“Tradd Street” series) novel’s wartime intrigue and contemporary romantic clash of characters will appeal to many. Recommended for readers who enjoyed Jennifer Robson’s The Gown or Jeanne Mackin’s The Last Collection.

V for Victory

In our own troubled times, it can’t hurt to be reminded of the spirit and resilience of those who endured a world at war. With warmth and humor to spare, this book is a balm.
PREMIUM

Little Victories: Autism through a Father’s Eyes

This charming depiction of a father’s quest to understand his son’s needs arrives having already garnered multiple awards, including the Best Biography Award from the Disability Fund and Society.
PREMIUM

The Optimist: A Case for the Fly Fishing Life

A lovely, ruminative book about a venerable sport; it bears comparison to Adrian Smith’s Monsters of Rivers and Rock. Coggins’s enthusiasm for fly fishing is so infectious that the book will readily hook non-fishers as well.
PREMIUM

War on the Border: Villa, Pershing, the Texas Rangers, and an American Invasion

A thorough overview of an often-overlooked period in history that helps put present-day U.S.–Mexico relations into context.
PREMIUM

Seven Secrets, Vol. 1

Taylor (Suicide Squad: Bad Blood) provides a propulsive, action-packed plot without sacrificing character development, and builds to an unexpected cliffhanger ending that’s sure to leave readers excited for future installments.
PREMIUM

Ariadne

Readers of mythology and human relations will enjoy this book. Highly recommended.

Why We Love The Matrix

A geeky celebratory short read that is sure to be a collectible volume for serious followers of The Matrix for years to come.
PREMIUM

Ticking Clock: Behind the Scenes at 60 Minutes

News buffs will love the behind-the-scenes stories, and journalism students will find advice direct from legendary reporters.

Roundup (May 7, 2021)

The Outside Chance: Innovative Outdoor Programming

Book Time Outside: Titles For Outdoor Adventures

LAMBDA Literary Releases a List of May’s Most Anticipated LGBTQ Literature | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

Beginner’s Mind

Anyone who has been influenced by a beloved teacher will savor this work; educators will especially appreciate it.
PREMIUM

Blind Tiger

A solid start to the series, although some readers may find it too quick a read.
PREMIUM

The Secret Bridesmaid

Fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary or Four Weddings and a Funeral will love this quirky, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy with heart.
PREMIUM

Hard To Break: Why Our Brains Make Habits Stick

Readers looking for easy advice on habit change can turn to plenty of other options in the popular psychology genre. Those who are deeply interested in the brain and neuroscience research should enjoy this stimulating work.
PREMIUM

The Paris Betrayal

Hannibal (Chasing the White Lion) writes a fast-paced, quick read thriller with crossover romantic elements loosely based on the Book of Job. Ben is often told to rely on faith, but otherwise this could be a secular novel, since the faith isn’t implicitly religious. Recommended for libraries where Hannibal’s books are popular.

The Day the World Stops Shopping: How Ending Consumerism Saves the Environment and Ourselves

An insightful account offering a starting point for change that is highly recommended for all libraries.

Clear, Hold, and Destroy: Pacification in Phú Yên and the American War in Vietnam

This academic yet highly readable study will appeal to readers interested in the Vietnam War and its failures and lessons.

Report: “Fire at UMaine’s Fogler Library was Arson, University Says”

New Online From SPARC: Automatic Textbook Billing Contract Library

Meet Alexia Hudson-Ward: A Q&A With the Libraries New Associate Director for Research and Learning at MIT

U.S. House Committee on the Judiciary Hearing: “Oversight of the U.S. Copyright Office” (Video Recording and Media Report)

“Radio Research Project Manuscript Collection” Now Available Online From the Library of Congress

Historic Collection from the Klondike Gold Rush Gifted to University of British Columbia in $2.5 Million Donation, Collection Will Be Made Available Online

Report: “University of Illinois Library to Undergo Long Overdue Renovations”

Roundup (May 6, 2021)

2021 James Tait Black Prize Shortlists Announced | Book Pulse

articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?