Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors
Specific Publisher

Read-Alikes for ‘The Soulmate Equation’ by Christina Lauren | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

Careless Whispers

Readers who crave a romance set amidst family drama and high-stakes business deals will find their perfect match.

Rosaline Palmer Takes the Cake

Hall does it again with this culturally relevant, wonderfully escapist foray into the baking world. This is a must-buy for any library.

Read-Alikes for ‘People We Meet on Vacation,’ by Emily Henry | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

The Mastermind

Lane’s narrative bounces around timelines, and introduces an abundance of characters and backstories quickly. The reunion of Danny and Felix happens early, so some suspense is lost. At its heart, this is a family drama that flounders a bit in the structure of the narrative.
PREMIUM

The Rules of Arrangement

The bustling city of Mumbai comes alive through Bhatia’s sparkling narrative of a young woman finding her place in the world and in her family while maintaining her identity.

Love at First

This well-written novel moves quickly, and readers will be unable to put it down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

Life, Unscheduled

Rockaway’s newest standalone offers an honest and open look at the mental health and relationship struggles of a modern career woman. Nicole’s struggles are real and relatable, while her happy ending is hard-earned and sweet.
PREMIUM

Blind Tiger

A solid start to the series, although some readers may find it too quick a read.
PREMIUM

The Secret Bridesmaid

Fans of Bridget Jones’s Diary or Four Weddings and a Funeral will love this quirky, laugh-out-loud romantic comedy with heart.
PREMIUM

Plot Twist

Turner’s (Hadley Beckett’s Next Dish) humorous latest has an enjoyable New Adult vibe. However, the convoluted ending will force readers to reread to figure out what exactly happened and how. There is a happily ever after, but not the one most readers will be expecting.
PREMIUM

Playing the Palace

Carter’s humorous inner monologue and absurd mishaps will have readers giggling, but those making the inevitable comparison to Casey McQuiston’s Red, White, and Royal Blue might close the book wishing for more emotional depth.
PREMIUM

The Bennet Women

Appiah-Kubi’s unique retelling of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice gives it a modern spin with surprising twists and empowering storylines.
PREMIUM

Maybe We Will

At times, the characters seem too good to be true, and the dialogue is a bit strained. A last-minute conflict doesn’t really add to the story. Best for fans of heartwarming easy reads with familiar characters.
PREMIUM

My Kind of Perfect

This cookie-cutter, will-they-or-won’t-they romance plods along according to formula, with love then marriage then a baby as the rule. Lilly’s narration can be quite mean at times, and the saccharine plot prompts a sugar rush. Skip it unless your romance collection is desperate for feel-good stories.

The Soulmate Equation

With the laugh-out-loud voice that Lauren’s die-hard fans adore, this sweet, charming, and humorous book is a perfect match for readers looking for a low-stakes, high swoon-factor romance, but some readers may have concerns about the ethical implications of DNA-based matchmaking.
PREMIUM

Too Good To Be Real

A setting that readers will undoubtedly wish to visit, a relatable hero and heroine, and a flock of feathered and furry sidekicks make this story memorable. It’s sure to please fans of romantic comedies, whether of the in-print or on-screen variety.
PREMIUM

The Wrong Marquess

Recommended to fans of historical romance looking for plots driven by interpersonal conflict as opposed to outside forces.
PREMIUM

Heartbreak for Hire

A first pick for libraries where contemporary romance is popular.
PREMIUM

Incense and Sensibility

Dev’s latest is a deeply emotional story of responsibility and impossible love that will appeal to fans of Austen’s classic. It also provides an incisive look at a current political landscape of division and violence, while adding an ultimately hopeful spin. The book’s subjects are often serious, but its ultimate focus on being true to oneself and one’s principles makes this a satisfying and uplifting romance.
PREMIUM

Out of Character

The romance builds gradually, since Jasper must overcome his distrust of Milo, but Milo’s growth as a character and his and Jasper’s earnest romance is worth the wait. Characters and events from Conventionally Yours, the first in the “True Colors” series, are sprinkled throughout, so readers may want to start at the beginning.
PREMIUM

The Queer Principles of Kit Webb

Despite some pacing issues (a rather slow beginning and a hurried, action-packed end), readers will still enjoy the tussles between the high-class Percy and the Robin Hood–like Kit.
PREMIUM

Seven Days in June

With funny, snappy writing and a strong eye for detail, Williams (The Perfect Find) builds a compelling, glamorous Black literary world for the protagonists to inhabit. The book balances a second-chance romance with themes of motherhood, childhood trauma, and life with chronic pain.
PREMIUM

Witch Please

There are laugh-out-loud moments, hot sex scenes, and shocking revelations, all of which will keep readers turning pages till the end. Recommended for general purchase.
PREMIUM

Hot Under His Collar

Recommended for libraries where the author circulates well.
PREMIUM

It Happened One Summer

This fish-out-of-water story features quirky characters in a charming working-class small town and a steamy, feel-good romance between opposites. Schitt’s Creek fans who just wanted to see Alexis get her happy ending will flock to this title.

Someone To Cherish

A must-read for fans of the series, this installment is a continuation of the high-quality characters and plot that readers have come to expect from Mary Balogh.
PREMIUM

While We Were Dating

Recommend to the author’s many fans, and readers who enjoyed the film Notting Hill.

PREMIUM

The Royals Next Door

Halle (A Nordic King) delivers a romance brimming with tension and fun, while putting mental health and trauma recovery at its center.
PREMIUM

The Promised Queen

Kennedy brings the “Forgotten Empires” trilogy to a gratifying close. Lia and Conrí truly come into their own, tackling hurdle after hurdle, in this nonstop novel.
PREMIUM

Twice Shy

Hogle (You Deserve Each Other) keeps this sweet story fast and light with likable main characters and a relatable subplot about anxiety. Best for fans of whimsical, escapist romance.
PREMIUM

Crying Wolf

Truelove’s dark, gritty prison drama is heavy on angst and light on steaminess. Readers who enjoy intrigue and a new twist on shifters will enjoy this story.
PREMIUM

Storm and Shelter

This anthology will likely appeal most to fans of Harlequin category romances or Regency romances that tend toward the dramatic.
PREMIUM

Summer in the City

The quick stories compliment each other, while fulfilling their own narratives. Readers looking for short summer romances would do well to pick up this latest anthology.
PREMIUM

The Wisteria Society of Lady Scoundrels

More a tongue-in-cheek swashbuckling adventure than a traditional romance, Holton’s book offers much to enjoy, plus a colorful cast of pirate women and men with multiple identities.

The Summer Job

This witty, banter-filled novel seems frothy at first, but aptly balances the humor with darker subjects. Lovely descriptions of Scotland, quirky supporting characters, and a thoroughly lovable heroine make this a sure bet for fans of Jenny Colgan.
PREMIUM

How To Find a Princess

Cole’s humorous and delightful romance is perfect for those looking for a fun read with a memorable cast of characters and neurodivergent representation, whether the reader is new to Cole’s work or an established fan.
PREMIUM

The Kindred Spirits Supper Club

A delightful read for fans of light paranormal romances or cozy romances in general.
PREMIUM

Open Your Heart

Readers who prioritize hot sex scenes and character-driven plots, as well as fans of Hodges’s previous novels, will enjoy this installment.

The Intimacy Experiment

Recommended for fans of Christina Lauren and Sally Thorne, as well as fans of the author’s debut.

Read-Alikes for ‘Life’s Too Short’ by Abby Jimenez | LibraryReads

PREMIUM

David and Ameena

Rao (coauthor, Centaur) makes her solo debut with a novel rich in imagery and emotions. It challenges the reader to look deep into the characters through their actions, as an almost omniscient narrative voice hints at their future. Love or hate them, they are memorable. Recommended.
PREMIUM

Song of the Forever Rains

Mellow’s (The Animal Under the Fur) exciting premise is rather slow to start, and the romantic heat between Larkyra and Darius is tepid until the very end. Although the teenage heroine gives the book young adult crossover potential, readers will be left uncertain why Larkyra was in the dark as to Darius’s motives.

People We Meet on Vacation

Henry’s latest will appeal to readers who are drawn to stories with emotion, poetic language, and a strong sense of place, like Kate Clayborn’s Love Lettering.

Hana Khan Carries On

Readers won’t be able to put this Own Voices Muslim romance down. Highly recommended for most public library collections.
PREMIUM

Talk Bookish to Me

The inclusion of the “book within a book” plot device, where the historical romance that Kara is writing mirrors her own relationship, took time away from the central romance. Meanwhile, a sudden third-act surprise reveal and a location change, from New York City to Italy, may leave some readers struggling to believe in Ryan and Kara’s happily-ever-after. This novel will suit readers who enjoy romances like Emily Henry’s Beach Read that focus on personal growth and change.
PREMIUM

A Wicked Bargain for the Duke

The protagonists can be annoyingly stubborn (an honest conversation would easily clear up the central conflict), but fans of Frampton and her detail-rich historicals will find themselves pleasantly transported.
PREMIUM

Happy Endings

Lam’s debut novel is an Own Voices delight filled with love, friendships, and sex positivity. Perfect for fans of Jasmine Guillory and Abby Jimenez, this sizzling tale is dynamic, funny, and relatable.
PREMIUM

Wilde Child

Longtime historical romance fans and newbies to the genre (particularly those whose interest was piqued by Bridgerton) will delight in this well-done addition to a solid series.
PREMIUM

How To Train Your Earl

The book is carefully plotted, with instant chemistry between the leads, and a heroine with some depth. Readers need not have read the other books in the “First Comes Love” series to follow the story; those who enjoy gambler rakes and angst-ridden heroines will find it enjoyable.
PREMIUM

An Earl, the Girl, and a Toddler

Move over, Bridgertons. There’s a new set of scandalous aristocrats waiting to take London society by storm.
PREMIUM

The Road Trip

This sweet second-chance romance will please fans of The Flatshare and character-driven romances.
PREMIUM

Hot Copy

An engaging debut featuring intense feelings and situations, with plenty of heat.

The Duke Undone

Impeccably researched, Lowell’s latest emphasizes justice. This love story tackles weighty issues but remains suspenseful and spellbinding.
PREMIUM

Wicked All Night

Frost’s “Night Rebel” series continues to shine as the duo face new enemies and balance an explosive love with an intolerant society. While new readers can likely jump in with no issues, appearances by old friends are sure to drive readers to Frost’s backlist.
PREMIUM

Maybe Next Time

Jones returns to the setting of her “High Stakes” series with this steamy series launch. Readers unfamiliar with the characters may be a bit lost at first, and Denver comes across as arrogant at the beginning, but Jones’s writing will pull readers in, and they’ll be asking for the backstory. Recommended for libraries owning the “High Stakes” series or able to purchase all titles together.

Someone Wanton His Way Comes

Humorous, tender, and altogether fun, Caldwell’s latest will have wide appeal among romance readers.
PREMIUM

The Seat Filler

Wilson’s follow-up to Roommaid is a fun romp with only-in-the-movies-level swoons and genuine laugh-out-loud moments. With a fairly PG rating, this one may also work for teen romance readers.
PREMIUM

Second First Impressions

Following 99 Percent Mine, Thorne’s latest novel is a sweet story, merging a woman whose fears tend to overpower her dreams, and a slow-burn romance that turns her world upside down.
PREMIUM

Heart on a Leash

In this heartwarming, modern-day version of Romeo and Juliet set in Alaska, Josh’s adorable huskies, Pepper, Bella, and Jay, steal the show. This first “Hearts of Alaska” book promises an entertaining new dog-centered series.
PREMIUM

It Had To Be You

Clark creates a quilt of diverse love stories, overlapping and meandering warmly throughout New York City. In her most recent since The Bucket List, each story Clark tells packs an emotional punch, but Savannah’s and Liv’s respective relationships, as well as their own evolution to friends and colleagues, are standouts.
PREMIUM

Isabelle and Alexander

Anderson’s first foray into historical romance is an atypical, yet satisfying story set in Victorian Manchester’s upper middle class. Hand this to readers looking for a book that navigates the peaks and valleys of two strangers attempting to make a life together despite the hardships life throws at them.
PREMIUM

Uncharted

Those who prefer a close focus on the central couple may find the romantic plot slow to develop; Cinder is not present for the first third of the book. However, readers who seek out swashbuckling adventures in fictional lands will be buoyed along.
PREMIUM

The Ex Talk

Solomon’s (Today Tonight Tomorrow) adult fiction debut is a slow burn romance that would be a great introduction to the genre for readers new to it. Witty banter and lovable characters will delight public radio nerds and contemporary fiction fans alike.
PREMIUM

Hit Me with Your Best Scot

This is an entertaining end to the “Wild, Wicked Highlanders” trilogy that can also be read independently. Fans of historical romance will enjoy, as will fans of the author.

Gray Hair Don’t Care

Readers looking for older romance heroes and heroines won’t want to miss Booth’s (“Forever” series) latest stand-alone. Themes of starting over, embracing your true self, confronting ageism, and family forgiveness make this a romance to remember.

The Heiress Hunt

This is friends-to-lovers romance at its finest, with an endearing Gilded Age couple who are clearly made for each other. Shupe (“Uptown Girls” series) fans will welcome this first installment in a new series.
PREMIUM

Right Guy, Wrong Time: A #MeToo Love Story

A painful subject that may be too raw for some readers, while others may find solace in seeing this topic addressed in a romance novel.
PREMIUM

Meet Me in Paradise

Hubscher’s debut novel is the perfect book for anyone longing for family, travel, and romance. Prepare for some tears mixed with the happy-ever-afters.
PREMIUM

The Dating Plan

Desai’s sophomore novel (after The Marriage Game) will have readers laughing, with family dynamics and personal growth rounding things out for an enjoyable read.

Act Your Age, Eve Brown

This satisfying conclusion to Hibbert’s “Brown Sisters” trilogy provides a happily ever after for the third Brown sister. Through Jacob and Eve, both characters on the autism spectrum, Hibbert explores themes of self-discovery and belonging with her trademark humor and sensitivity, providing plenty of heat as her characters begin to understand each other.
PREMIUM

Changing the Rules

The plot is more successful as a 21 Jump Street–style mystery than as a romance. Fans of Bybee’s “Richter” series may enjoy catching up with familiar characters in this spin-off, but the romance feels too underdeveloped to attract new fans.
PREMIUM

Strong, Silent Cowboy: A Moving Violations Novel

If an extremely controlling hero (think 50 Shades of Grey) is exciting, this book will hit the spot. Otherwise, readers may want to seek out other romantic thrillers with a more equal power balance between the main characters.
PREMIUM

The Duke Heist

Schemes, heists, and forgeries abound in this charming series starter by Ridley (Forever Your Duke). This unconventional and quirky Regency will have readers falling for the plucky family and rooting for Chloe and Lawrence to buck tradition.
PREMIUM

Waiting for a Scot Like You

Leigh’s third in the “Union of the Rakes” series (after Would I Lie to the Duke) charms with sly nods to 1980s pop culture, particularly the movie Ferris Bueller’s Day Off. The attraction smolders between the older, fun-loving Beatrice and her serious younger beau, with risqué love scenes keeping the heat levels high.
PREMIUM

To Love and To Loathe

Waters excels at pitting Diana and Jeremy against each other with clever dialogue and comical situations to ensure a lively and steamy rivals-to-romance story. Readers of To Have and To Hoax will enjoy the return of Violet and Audley as supporting characters. A worthy addition to the trend for historical romantic comedies and highly recommended for fans of Evie Dunmore and Elizabeth Everett.
PREMIUM

The Bachelor Cowboy

A geek girl gets her cowboy in Clare’s sixth installment of the “Wyoming Cowboys” series. Readers will have a lot of fun riding along with this adorable couple and their adopted dog.
PREMIUM

Make It Sweet

Callihan (Dear Enemy) constructs a romance full of aching emotions while taking on toxic fame and the perils of contact sports. Descriptions of Lucian making delicate treats are a delight, and the cast of secondary characters doing their best to subtly ignore the sexual tension between Emma and Lucian are the icing on the cake. This title stands alone, but those who enjoyed Dear Enemy will also enjoy glimpses of returning characters.
PREMIUM

Accidentally Engaged

Heron delivers an engaging romantic comedy that explores culture, family expectations, and personal growth in her second outing after The Chai Factor. Pair this one with a cookbook or two, as readers will want a snack after reading about all the delicious food.

Ten Things I Hate about the Duke

Chase gives Shakespeare's The Taming of the Shrew a splendid late Regency turn in this witty and gratifying follow-up to A Duke in Shining Armor.

PREMIUM

You Had Me at Hockey

Jamieson’s enjoyable second entry in the “Bears Hockey” series (Must Love Dogs) handles sensitive topics of mental health and trauma with care, making the story relatable and empowering. Fans of Sarina Bowen’s “Brooklyn Bruisers” series will adore.

Make Up Break Up

Packed with heart, humor, and multiple swoon-worthy moments, YA author Menon’s adult debut brings a welcome zing to the romance genre that is sure to have wide appeal.
PREMIUM

A Lady’s Formula for Love

Despite some shortcomings, Everett’s Victorian-set debut keeps things light and amusing, depicting a world in which class and gender dictate everyday decisions, while spotlighting several women and one transgender man who have chosen to rebel against such strictures.
PREMIUM

The Marriage Code

Two engaging leads, plenty of family drama, and the vibrant backdrop of India blend in a slow-burn romance that is as much for seasoned readers as it is for those who are new to the genre. Burroughs is an author to watch. [Previewed in Kellie Tilton’s “Choosing Love,” LJ 10/20.]
PREMIUM

Someday My Duke Will Come

Britton (“Twice Shy” series) uses the familiar fake engagement trope to further the romantic ties between Quincy and Clara, both of whom have beautifully detailed yet tragic backstories. Unfortunately, challenges to their romance and also Quincy’s dukedom are resolved a bit too conveniently to be believable. Series fans will enjoy following the characters from the first in the “Isle of Synne” series, who play prominent roles in this second installment. New readers should start with the first book, A Good Duke Is Hard To Find.
PREMIUM

The Heiress Gets a Duke

St. George (Falling for Her Viking Captive) heartrendingly depicts Victorian women bartered away for wealth and status, but the deep affection and witty dialog August and Evan share outshines a grim if realistic beginning. Fans of Courtney Milan and Scarlett Peckham will enjoy this “The Gilded Age Heiresses” series opener.
PREMIUM

Fairy Godmothers, Inc

Romantic comedy and classic fairy tales combine for a delightful love story in this first of the “Fairy Godmothers, Inc.” series from DeWylde (Big Bad Billionaire). Readers will discover what hilarious disaster—or famous character—lurks around each corner, as Lucky and Ransom navigate the quest to true love.

Wild Rain

This second in the “Women Who Dare” series presents a solid entry point for readers new to the legendary Jenkins’s oeuvre. Longtime fans will appreciate the appearance of a couple from an earlier book, Tempest. Jenkins’s excellent storytelling skills, paired with fascinating American history, makes the narrative shine.

Best Romance of 2020

PREMIUM

Shipped

For fans of Helen Hoang and Sophie Kinsella, this charming romp at sea will make readers wish to stay with the characters well after the story’s end.
PREMIUM

Don’t Look

Although prolific Ivy’s (The Intended Victim) latest is formulaic, readers will still eagerly turn the pages to see if their suspicions about the killer’s identity are correct and to insure Kir and Lynne will find their happily ever after. The physical romantic scenes are few and far between, as the focus of the plot is on the emotional connection between the two main characters and the elements of suspense.
PREMIUM

Notorious

Spencer (“Outcasts” series) kicks off the “Rebels of the Ton” books with two Regency rebels trying to navigate polite society while staying true to themselves. Packed full of fiery exchanges and passionate embraces, this is for those who prefer their Regencies on the scandalous side.
PREMIUM

How To Fail at Flirting

With a deeper emotional punch than expected, Williams’s banter-filled romance makes her an author to watch.
PREMIUM

Learned Behaviors

Ellis (Jeremiah) delivers a satisfying, sensual queer Black romance and happily ever after for two men struggling to balance career obligations and familial responsibilities. This will hit home for many readers, who will rejoice in seeing the characters build a fulfilling relationship in the midst of chaos.
PREMIUM

All the Colors of Night

Krentz’s second “Fogg Lake” entry (after The Vanishing) offers her typical romantic suspense heavily dosed with heightened mental abilities and can read as a stand-alone, although characters from the first book make appearances. Fans will enjoy the Easter eggs sprinkled throughout referencing the Jones brothers from Krentz’s popular “Arcane Society” series. Recommended for where the author is popular.
PREMIUM

Our Last Goodbye

Against the backdrop of World War II, this complex romance is the perfect example of how the right person will accept another’s flaws unconditionally. Fans of Dickson’s (The Orphan Sisters) earlier books will recognize familiar characters but need not have read those previous works in any particular order to enjoy this latest stand-alone.
PREMIUM

Tall, Duke, and Dangerous

A captivating second in the “Hazards of Dukes” series (after Never Kiss a Duke). Frampton deftly handles heavy subjects of abuse and neglect without ever losing the light of her characters’ spirits or tamping down the steamy, slow-burn romance. Ana Marie’s Cinderellaesque rise and banter with the notoriously taciturn Nash will enthrall readers of Eva Leigh’s “Union of the Rakes” series.

Gentleman Jim

Best-selling author of the “Victorian Romantics” series, Matthews ups the ante with a wildly suspenseful romance, filled with scheming and betrayals, and featuring a courageous heroine in fragile health paired with a hero bent on retribution who isn’t too good to be true.
PREMIUM

Second Chance on Cypress Lane

Ryan’s (Secret Heir Seduction) sweet and promising introduction to her new “Holly Grove Island” series is sure to warm readers up during the long winter. Dexter and Dakota’s second chance at love is absorbing and will be a welcome addition to the ever-favorite staple of big romances in small-town settings.
PREMIUM

The Flip Side

British author Bailey presents a heartwarming, laugh-out-loud hilarious debut rom-com. Complete with fabulous sidekicks, quirky neighbors, and an eccentric but lovable family, it features an authentic and refreshing hero. Fans of Beth O’Leary and Nick Hornby will relish every delightful moment.
articles
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?