Related

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
From:

To:
Specific Authors

Endangered Manuscripts: Boston University Libraries Releases Digitized Collection of Mandinka Ajami & Arabic Manuscripts from Casamance, Senegal

Research Tools: “American FactFinder Retires: Data Dissemination Transitions to Data.census.gov”

Research Tools: “American FactFinder Retires: Data Dissemination Transitions to Data.census.gov”

Journal Article: “Quality Control for Media Digitization Projects”

Artificial Intelligence (AI) News & Report Week in Review

University of Buffalo to Hold Town Halls on Potential Outcomes of SUNY Libraries Consortium’s Contract Negotiations with Elsevier

PREMIUM

Board Games in 100 Moves

With full-color illustrations of artifacts, art, components, and game boards, this is a great entry point into the history of board games that should appeal to everyone from chess enthusiasts to modern hobby gamers.
PREMIUM

No Excuses: The Making of a Head Coach

This book will appeal to fans of college football as well as the University of Oklahoma but may not have wide appeal to general sports fans.
PREMIUM

It’s Garry Shandling’s Book

It’s fitting that a comic whose best-known role deconstructed the late night talk show host should have a book that obsessively deconstructs him. Shandling’s determination to pursue authenticity through his work will appeal to comedy fans and mindfulness practitioners. [See Prepub Alert, 4/8/19.]
PREMIUM

On Becoming Neighbors: The Communication Ethics of Fred Rogers

This is a scholarly narrative but well worth consideration by general readers as well as education and media professionals. Klarén’s commentary is thought provoking and illuminating.
PREMIUM

The Law (in Plain English) for Nonprofit Organizations

For anyone involved in nonprofit work and general readers curious about legal questions.
PREMIUM

Retreat from Moscow: A New History of Germany’s Winter Campaign, 1941–1942

A solid analysis of the 1941–42 winter campaign, this work should appeal to readers interested in operations on the World War II’s eastern front.
PREMIUM

The Words Between Us

Fans of Jenny B. Jones and Courtney Walsh will be drawn to this engaging, heartfelt story.
PREMIUM

A Transcontinental Affair

Marred by stereotypes, including a derogatory term for a Native American woman, as well as improbable plotlines, Daynard’s (A More Perfect Union) novel may have limited appeal for die-hard fans of historical romances set in the frontier West.

News Roundup (September 20, 2019)

Top 20 Best-Selling Music and Art Titles | Academic Best Sellers

Page to Screen, Sept. 20, 2019 | Book Pulse

PREMIUM

The Ship of Dreams: The Sinking of the Titanic and the End of the Edwardian Era

An optional purchase, as this is well-trod ground. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/19.]

PREMIUM

From Hell to Breakfast

Fans of magical realism and unreliable narrators might enjoy this sophomore effort from Tifft (The Long Fire), but the story leaves readers with more questions than answers. The narrative style alternates between first person and stream of conscience and at times is hard to follow. Recommended only for larger collections or where the author’s previous work circulated well.
PREMIUM

A Place Outside the Law: Forgotten Voices from Guantánamo

A sobering book for audiences interested in law and current affairs.

PREMIUM

Before and After: The Incredible Real-Life Stories of Orphans Who Survived the Tennessee Children’s Home Society

A touching example of the power of storytelling, this book will appeal to readers of Before We Were Yours and those interested in family histories and issues related to adoption.

PREMIUM

Isabellae. Vol. 1

Spanish creators Raule (Jazz Maynard) and Gabor (Agrippine) feature a cast of likable characters, plenty of surprising twists, and brilliantly designed and dynamic action scenes is this collection comprising three volumes previously unavailable in English. Readers will be anxious for the forthcoming second volume, which promises to conclude the story.

Snow, Glass, Apples

Doran, drawing inspiration from art nouveau and Irish illustrator Harry Clarke, eschews conventional formatting and panel grids, presenting the story in lush, fully painted, free-flowing layouts that nicely complement Gaiman’s lyrical narration. An excellent choice for adult horror collections.
PREMIUM

The Borgias

An epic historical saga of blood, sex, and corruption. Originally published in four separate volumes, collected as a single work for the first time.

New Research Tools: The Digital Humanities Guidebook

Report: “EPA Signals Retreat From Controversial ‘Secret Science’ Rule”

Report: “Public Libraries May Turn The Page For Colorado City’s News Desert”

University of Tennessee Libraries Acquires Archive of Cartoonist Paige Braddock

Special Collections: National Service Archives to Open at IUPUI

The Ethics of Artificial Intelligence (AI) is the Focus of the Latest Issue of ARL’s Research and Library Issues

New Data: U.S. Census Bureau Releases 2017 Economic Census First Look Estimates

Research Article: “Reuse of Wikimedia Commons Cultural Heritage Images on the ider Web”

Research Article: “Reuse of Wikimedia Commons Cultural Heritage Images on the Wider Web”

Roundup (August 19, 2019)

New Report: “Examples of Changes to the EPA Website that Undermine Public Access to Scientific Information”

Library Design: “New Library is Temple’s Most Compelling Work of Architecture in Decades”

Syracuse University iSchool: New IMLS Grant Moves Accessibility, Inclusiveness Training Tools Forward

Inclusive Higher Ed: Academic Libraries Serving Nontraditional Students

New Bestsellers, Sept. 19, 2019 | Book Pulse

Penn Libraries Enter a ‘New Era of Innovation’

Research Tools: World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) Officially Launches New IP Portal

New Research Tools: Statistics Canada Announces Release of the Education Statistics Portal

Digital Privacy News Roundup

Library of Congress: Announcing International Collaborations on Digital Scholarship in Cultural Institutions

Roundup (September 18, 2019)

Temple University Libraries Helps a Community Resident Self-Publish a Book

Book Awards & More Fall Reads, Sept. 18, 2019 | Book Pulse

Multnomah Partners with Portland State U. to Publish Local Ebooks in Print

Journal Article: “Library-Authored Web Content and the Need for Content Strategy”

Research Tools: Printed Elizabethan Poetry Now Included in Folger Union First Line Index Hosted by the Folger Shakespeare Library

Myth-Busting: All Open Access Journals Can Be Listed in DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

Brown University’s John Hay Library Acquires Janis Ian’s Collection of Personally Inscribed Works of Science Fiction and Fantasy, Many by Women and LGBTQ Authors

Research Article: “Peer Review vs Bibliometrics: Which Method Better Predicts the Scholarly Impact of Publications?”

Research Article: “Peer Review vs Bibliometrics: Which Method Better Predicts the Scholarly Impact of Publications?”

Roundup (September 17, 2019)

National Book Awards & Milton's Shakespeare, Sept. 17, 2019 | Book Pulse

IMLS Funds Development of Academic Maker Competencies, Rubrics

Travel Trending: In Search of Meaningful Experiences

Cooking Trending: Faraway Flavors and Healthy Homes

Gale Reports Data Breach

Funding: Library Carpentry Receives Supplemental IMLS Grant

NPD Reports “Three Out of Four U.S. Consumers Read Books or Listened to Audiobooks in the Past Six Months”

Research Article: “The Library’s Impact on University Students’ Academic Success and Learning”

University of Illinois: “University’s Historic Libraries Renovate to Ensure Accessibility”

The September 2019 Issue of Information Technology and Libraries (ITAL) is Now Available Online

National Archives (NARA) Releases Digital Preservation Framework for Public Comment

Research Tools: A New Version of the Congressional Research Service’s “The Constitution Annotated” Now Online and is Easier to Search and Browse

Research Tools: A New Version of the Congressional Research Service’s “The Constitution Annotated” is Now Online and it’s Easier to Search and Browse

News Roundup (September 16, 2019)

Barbara’s Picks (Jemisin, McMillan, Zigman, & More), Plus Friendship, Love, & Fantasy: Pop Fiction, Mar. 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Barbara’s Picks (Bittman/Katz, David Rohde, James Shapiro, David Sheff), plus Social Science, Science, Arts, & Sports: Nonfiction Previews, Mar. 2020, Pt. 4 | Prepub Alert

Return to Gilead with Margaret Atwood’s The Testaments

Living Small | Collection Development: Tiny Homes

Romance Revs Up, with Rom-Coms, Cozy Christmas Tales, and Paranormal Twists | Romance, Sept. 2019

Run Your Week: Big Books, Sure Bets, & Titles Making News, Sept. 16, 2019 | Book Pulse

Digital Collections: Earliest North Carolina African American Newspapers Added to DigitalNC

Pilot Project: “Maine Libraries to Test Out Program That Could Improve Lending Options”

Special Collections: Collection of Premier Proverb Scholar Opens at University of Vermont

Report: “St. Louis Police Library Faces Uncertain Future as Department Makes Way for High-Tech Shooting Trainer”

OA in the Open White Paper Surfaces Challenges, Opportunities, Next Steps for Open Access Collecting

Report: “Library-Themed University Phishing Attack Expands to Massive Scale”

Research Article “Research Applications of Primary Biodiversity Databases in the Digital Age”

Enhanced Research Tools: Search and Display Extracted Figures and Tables in OSTI.GOV

Yale Searches for a New University Librarian

Review: “Baltimore’s Pratt Central Library Emerges From Renovation with its Beauties Intact”

PREMIUM

Waters of the World: The Story of the Scientists Who Unraveled the Mysteries of Our Oceans, Atmosphere, and Ice Sheets and Made the Planet Whole

Characterized by strong storytelling within a scholarly framework, this book will appeal to readers interested in how science is performed and accomplished, and anyone curious about Earth’s changing climate.
PREMIUM

Beyond the Known: How Exploration Created the Modern World and Will Take Us to the Stars

This clearly written and engaging overview of human exploration since our beginnings will capture the imaginations of both YA and adult readers. Highly recommended.
PREMIUM

The Girl in the Photograph: The True Story of a Native American Child, Lost and Found in America

A passionate, heartfelt account that will heighten our awareness of an important issue.
PREMIUM

Designing Babies: How Technology Is Changing the Ways We Create Children

Well-researched and rigorous yet highly readable, this study of reproductive liberty will assist patients on their journey through the infertility maze and enlighten general readers about this ever-changing industry.

articles

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.