CHRISTIAN FICTION

Where the Road Bends

Thomas Nelson. Jun. 2020. 304p. ISBN 9780785230724. $17.99. CF
COPY ISBN
Four college friends gather for a 15-year reunion they promised one another on graduation day. None of them is living the lives they thought they would be, and all have misgivings about reconnecting with their former besties. Lincoln, a highly successful stockbroker, books an Outback tour of Australia, hoping to impress top fashion designer Eliza, who wants to discover herself on the isolated tour. Bree is packing a few extra pounds and is nervous to leave her young children, but Andy is anxious for a very different reason and keeps looking over his shoulder, even on the remote bush trails. Soon, enjoying the breathtaking beauty of Australia becomes a fight for survival as the group gets separated and each friend must find their way back to camp—both literally and figuratively.
VERDICT Rawlings (The Baggage Handler) uses magical realism to take his characters on a journey into the twisted wilderness of their own pasts. Fans of Mitch Albom, Richard Paul Evans, and Angela Hunt will enjoy this morality tale of four people whose steps have wandered but who may still be able to find their way.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month