SFF

Vigilance

Tor.com. Jan. 2019. 208p. ISBN 9781250209443. pap. $14.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250209436. SF
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarAmerica in 2030 is ruled by guns, television networks, and most especially fear, in this frightfully realistic slice of dystopian fiction from Bennett (City of Stairs; Foundryside). The most popular TV show in the nation is Vigilance, in which gunmen, chosen and armed by the network, strike at carefully selected public spaces and must be brought down by an armed populace seeking to live out their "good guy with a gun" fantasies, all broadcast live for a spellbound audience and monster ratings. As the social media buzz for the latest episode mounts, John McDean, the show's cynical creator, exploits the dark desires that glue viewers to their screens but can't see his own vulnerabilities, exploited by others.
VERDICT In a world where mass shootings are already a near-daily occurrence, this slim novel might be too grim and genuine for some, but Jackson's fast-paced, blistering look at how a nation's seductive myths about itself can lead to its downfall is an absolute must-read. Perfect for fans of Lauren Beukes, Richard K. Morgan, or the Netflix series Black Mirror.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.