MYSTERY

Three Hours in Paris

Soho Crime. Apr. 2020. 360p. ISBN 9781641290418. $27.95. thriller
COPY ISBN
Black’s popular protagonist Aimée Leduc is on a well-earned vacation, but Black gives readers an exciting stand-alone historical thriller set in occupied Paris during World War II. In 1940, Hitler went to Paris to celebrate Germany’s conquest of the city, but he only stayed for three hours. Why? Black provides an intriguing explanation. Kate Rees, a young American serving on a British base, is mourning the loss of her British husband and their infant daughter in a German bombing. British intelligence, knowing that she is a sharpshooter, offer her an opportunity for revenge: assassinate Hitler during his visit to Paris. When the mission fails and her escape plan is compromised, Kate finds herself alone with no one to trust. She must get out of Paris alive while Nazis are pursuing her. Readers are taken on a breathtaking tour of Paris neighborhoods as Kate evades a rather sympathetic German policeman (an homage to Philip Kerr’s Bernie Gunther) and connects with French contacts who may or may not be Resistance fighters.
VERDICT Black’s fans will not be disappointed, and readers who enjoy Alan Furst and John Le Carré will join the crowd that will devour this must-read. [See Prepub Alert, 9/30/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month