FICTION

The Words Between Us

Baker. Sept. 2019. 384p. ISBN 9780800734923. pap. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9781493419302. CF
COPY ISBN
This sweet love story from Bartels (We Hope for Better Things) unfolds over the span of 20 years in chapters that alternate between two time lines: the late 1990s, when Robin and Peter are getting to know each other, and the present, tracing Robin’s own story in her adult years. Robin’s experience hasn’t been easy, which in part has led to her reclusive existence as a small-town bookstore owner. Having both parents sent to prison will cause a child to grow up real fast. When she starts receiving mysterious packages of books she used to love, Robin recalls a six-month period in her teens when life was a little sweeter. Meeting Peter gave her hope and encouragement. Through their connection of the written word and love for classic novels, their friendship blossomed when everything else seemed dark. Now, 20 years later, Robin is still trying to work through the tough events that led her to River City, MI.
VERDICT Fans of Jenny B. Jones and Courtney Walsh will be drawn to this engaging, heartfelt story.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.