MYSTERY

The Wives

Graydon House: Harlequin. Dec. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9781525805127. $27.99; pap. ISBN 9781525809781. $16.99. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
Fisher’s latest (F*F*ck Marriage) has an intriguing premise: Thursday knows her husband, Seth, has two other wives. She is titillated by hearing about Seth’s other relationships, although names are never revealed. But what happens when her curiosity gets the better of her, and she starts searching for the other women? The first half of the book takes us inside Thursday’s mind, as she looks for her fellow wives and examines her own acceptance of her polygamous situation. She tries to understand the appeal of the other women so she can be the favorite. But it all breaks down in the second half when she’s checked into a psychiatric hospital. This unsettling effect carries over to readers as the story flounders in details and sudden revelations and suffers from a violent ending that feels abrupt and unfinished.
VERDICT This domestic suspense is recommended for fans of Louise Jensen’s The Surrogate or Carol Goodman’s The Other Mother. The language is edgy, but readers eager for a new thriller release will most likely snap this up.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.