FICTION

The Trust

St. Martin's. Sept. 2017. 368p. ISBN 9781250127440. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250127464. F
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarMaking his fourth appearance (after Karolina's Twins), PI Liam Taggert has not been back to his home in Northern Ireland since the 1990s. When he gets the call that his Uncle Fergus is dead, he agrees to return and soon learns that Fergus was murdered, leaving the administration of his estate to Liam. The terms of the will prohibit its distribution until the murderer is found. Did Fergus know his killer? The police suspect Fergus's family, and Liam is sucked back into the personal and political conflicts that drove him away. Not far from the surface of daily life in Antrim, the Troubles still smoulder, and violence is sparked if too many questions are asked. As Liam does his best to follow his uncle's wishes, he steps into a firestorm that endangers his wife, his child, and the family with whom he has just reconnected.
VERDICT This top-notch thriller will keep readers riveted to the very last page. The Northern Irish setting will appeal to fans of Adrian McKinty and Stewart Neville, and the familial and political issues will attract psychological thriller addicts.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?