FICTION

The Sweeney Sisters

Morrow. Apr. 2020. 304p. ISBN 9780062909046. $27.99. F
COPY ISBN
The Sweeney sisters’ lives revolve around their father, Bill Sweeney, a much-heralded literary lion. When he passes away suddenly, they gather at the old homestead. Liza, the eldest, lives nearby with her boring husband and runs a successful art gallery that showcases some work by middle sister Maggie. Maggie is a free spirit who has had trouble with adulting. The youngest Sweeney, Tricia, is a fiercely competitive New York City lawyer. The girls gather for the reading of the will, and they learn that owing to one of those ubiquitous home DNA tests, there is another Sweeney sister, a half sister, DC journalist Serena Tucker. Bill’s publisher is threatening to sue over an overdue memoir; the sisters are tearing the house apart to find it while simultaneously trying to process their newest family member, their parents’ marriage, and all their other problems, with a lot of love and laughter.
VERDICT It’s been a while since Dolan’s last novel, Elizabeth the First Wife, but this humorous, heartfelt family story is worth the wait. Will appeal to fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Elizabeth Berg. [See Prepub Alert, 10/14/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.