MYSTERY

The Silent Wife

Morrow. (Will Trent, Bk. 10). Aug. 2020. 496p. ISBN 9780062858108. $28.99. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
In Slaughter’s 10th “Will Trent” novel (following The Last Widow), Georgia Bureau of Investigation Special Agent Will Trent and his partner Faith Mitchell are investigating a murder during a riot at one of Georgia’s prisons when an inmate claims to have new information about rapes and murders that occurred nearly a decade ago in Grant County. If the man’s allegations are true, it means the wrong person has been blamed. It also implicates Police Chief Jeffrey Tolliver, late husband of medical examiner Sara Linton, and the entire Grant County police department of wrongdoing and attributes several more murders to the same killer. Moving between the Grant County investigation years earlier and the current investigation, this thriller depicts a killer’s increasing brutality and sophistication while evading police attention. Will struggles with his role in Sara’s life as her painful past and his insecurities are revealed to each other.
VERDICT The emotionally sophisticated characters work through the brutality of their jobs in this dynamic psychological thriller and police procedural that will please readers of Slaughter’s “Grant County” series. For fans of Meg Gardiner, David Baldacci, and Carrie Smith.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?