MYSTERY

The Other Mrs

Park Row: Harlequin. Feb. 2020. 368p. ISBN 9780778369110. $26.99. M
COPY ISBN
Offered a much-needed new start, Dr. Sadie Foust, her husband Will, and their family leave Chicago and relocate to the dreary home on a Maine island where Will’s sister lived before taking her own life. Alice left behind her teenage daughter Imogen, who’s brimming with anger. Sadie finds it hard to adapt to the remote, insular community and antagonistic mood at home. When a neighbor, beautiful Morgan Baines, is savagely murdered, questions linger as suspicion mounts. Anxious and afraid of a murderer in their midst, Sadie is uncertain and becomes increasingly fearful as police officer Berg focuses attention on her and strange objects unexpectedly appear. The twists keep coming in this story told from multiple points of view.
VERDICT Kubica (Every Last Lie) writes a mesmerizing tale with an unreliable narrator that draws attention to a less-understood mental health condition, but the story is wrapped up a bit too neatly. What is satisfying and most effective is the oppressive sense of unease that permeates this intense psychological suspense drama. For fans of A.J. Finn and Gillian Flynn.[See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month