REVIEWS+

The Lost Night

Crown. Feb. 2019. 336p. ISBN 9780525574712. $27; ebk. ISBN 9780525574736. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarDEBUT Lindsay is happy with her life in New York City. She's head fact-checker at a magazine, rents her own apartment, and has friends she can call on for anything. An event that happened a decade ago is long behind her, or so she thinks, until Sarah, a friend from her past, arrives and brings up that fateful night in 2009. Dredging up their drug- and alcohol-riddled past and the night that best friend Edie committed suicide is more than Lindsay bargained for. As her detail-oriented mind goes into overdrive after the conversation with Sarah, she rethinks all she thought she knew about the night Edie died, exploring the gaps in her own memory and playing detective even as others get involved. Debut author Bartz pens a captivating psychological suspense novel full of moving pieces and is expertly paced. The tension is unmatched as the pieces fall into place, but not without the protagonist second-guessing herself.
VERDICT This whip-smart and mysterious read is perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn and Paula Hawkins.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month