FICTION

The Light After the War

Atria. Feb. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781982122973. $27. F
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Based on the true story of her mother’s life, Abriel’s first novel, set during and immediately following World War II, is moving and captivating. Vera and Edith, Jewish teenagers in Budapest, narrowly escape from the cattle car headed to Auschwitz. Believing that their parents and Edith’s true love, Stephan, were killed in labor camps, the best friends hide out on an Austrian farm until the war ends. The 19-year-old girls then start new lives in Naples. Vera, who dreams of being a playwright, begins a secretarial job at the American Embassy, working for Capt. Anton Wight, son of a wealthy American hotel chain owner. Vera and Anton quickly fall in love, allowing Vera a bit of happiness after so much loss. Yearning to be a famous designer, Edith sews dresses while mourning Stephan. After Anton disappears, Vera and Edith move to Caracas, Venezuela, where Vera meets wealthy, handsome Ricardo and her life changes forever.
VERDICT Fans of Marta Hall Kelley and Kristin Hannah will delight in this powerful tale of strong female friendship and second-chance romance set in picturesque Naples, Venezuela, and Australia.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month