FICTION

The Knockout Queen

Knopf. Apr. 2020. 288p. ISBN 9780525656784. $26.95. F
COPY ISBN
When his mother is sent to prison for stabbing his abusive father, Michael, 11, is sent to live with his Aunt DeeDee. Next-door neighbor Bunny Lampert is the rich princess of North Shore. She lost her mother in a car accident, and her father is an alcoholic and crooked real estate developer. During high school, the athletic girl who wants for nothing and closeted gay boy who lives a frugal life become best friends, finding common ground in a lack of adult supervision and painful home lives in the California suburbs. As Bunny grows taller and focuses on volleyball and a dream of Olympic greatness, Michael meets up with men from Craigslist and begins a part-time job. An act of violent loyalty to Michael, who is bullied, throws Bunny into a legal battle she and her father are unprepared to fight. The resulting violence forces Michael to change his life and focus on his future.
VERDICT Thorpe’s (Dear Fang, with Love) coming-of-age tale set against a backdrop filled with hate and violence will captivate readers with its brutal honesty and unbreakable bonds of friendship. Recommended for fans of Emma Straub and Jami Attenberg.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month