SFF

The Fourth Island

Tor. Oct. 2020. 128p. ISBN 9781250769848. pap. $13.99. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
Tolmie (The Art of Dying) writes a strange meditation on love and death in this new novella. The people of the tiny island community of Inis Mor are baffled when the body of a strange man washes up on their shore wearing a sweater woven in a pattern no one can identify but that everyone finds familiar. The dead man and his sweater will lead a few of the townsfolk to an unknown island—one that sits just outside the bounds of time and mortality.
VERDICT This quiet, magical-realist fairy tale written with a delicate melancholy will attract readers who enjoyed G. Willow Wilson’s The Bird King or Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone’s This Is How You Lose the Time War.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month